If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Newbie - Subtitles out of Sync

Hey,

I am very new to plex, i bought a NOW TV box and have managed to get plex on it.

I am running the plex server from my Mac.

The issue I am having is subtitles getting out of sync when pausing, forwarding, resuming. If i don't do any of these the subtitles are perfectly in sync. I am hard of hearing so use subtitles to help understand what is happening.

I have seen a few topics with similar issues but I am a complete novice when it comes to plex etc so need someone to help me get the correct settings.

I am adding a .srt file with the same name as the movie to get the subtitles to show.

Can anyone help with this issue?

Thanks

Comments

• theuser86theuser86 Posts: 575Members ✭✭✭
    1. What are the specs of your Mac?
    2. If it is powerful enough you can transcode the video to burn in the subtitles. After selecting the subtitles, change the playback to "Transcode" rather than "Automatic". That should keep them in sync.
  • ElliotReeveyElliotReevey Posts: 7Members

1. Its a MBP, Dual core, 2.8Ghz with 8GB RAM.

2. This is done in the playback options? or on the server?

That is fast enough to transcode video.

Yes it is in the Plex channel on the Roku under Playback options. It is not on the server.
  • arnoldburianarnoldburian Posts: 8Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass