Our forum migration to Discourse is underway and scheduled to last through June 21. During the migration, the forums will be read-only, except for a single temporary forum (contents of which will not be getting transferred). Read our announcement post for more information about the forum migration.
Hey folks, there is a new Podcast category for forums https://forums.plex.tv/categories/podcasts
If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Best 5.1 sound settings when creating MP4 w/Handbrake

jjwunderjjwunder Members Posts: 1

I am just getting started with encoding content for streaming.   I'm using MakeMKV to RIP to harddrive and Handbrake to encode file for streaming.   Is this the correct process?   My interest is mainly in DVD and BD concerts that are in DTS and/or Dolby 5.1.

I tried several Handbrake Audio Codec settings during encode, and listened to the streamed content on either new Vizio TV or new Sony BD player,  trying either DLNA server or Plex server.   Audio playback is usually 2 channel, sometimes 5.1 or even sometimes absent, depending on settings during encode.   It frequently sounds a little "watery" like cell phone audio.   I presume this is due to compression.  

There are so many different combinations of audio settings which makes this pretty confusing to a newbie :)   The audio from the Vizio TV is fed to the surround system via digital optical cable.   The disks sound excellent and are 5.1 when played directly on BD player instead of streamed.