Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Remote Access with DD-WRT OpenVPN Client

russkajg1russkajg1 Posts: 14Members ✭✭

Hello. I've had Plex up and running for a couple of years now, with remote access working like a charm. Recently, I bought a Netgear Nighthawk and installed DD-WRT, then configured OpenVPN client using PIA service. All devices connected to the router are now fully VPN'd.

Everything is working fine, with the exception of remote access to Plex. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to command lines in the DD-WRT software, and I can't seem to get this working. Here is a summary of what I've tried so far.

- Enabled UPnP in DD-WRT

- Manually mapped remote port in Plex Server, also entered command line as per this post

Still doesn't seem to work... Can anyone help me get this fixed up? We are heading to the cottage on the weekend, and kinda need to access my Plex library up there.

Thanks.

Comments

• OttoKernerOttoKerner Posts: 24,446Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja

I have nothing directly to say about VPN, but Plex now requires a setting in the DNS server anyway. With or without VPN:

dd-wrt uses dnsmasq for DNS (or at least it can use it, so activate it if you haven't already)

ensure that you use a recent build of dd-wrt, open up its config, go to:
    Services - Services - DNSMasq - Additional DNSMasq Options
    and put in this into the field (on its own line):

rebind-domain-ok=/plex.direct/

https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/articles/206225077-How-to-Use-Secure-Server-Connections

(If you lose DNS after you add this line, your dd-wrt build is too old!)

Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?