Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex with Samsung 4K UHD Blu-ray Player (UBD-K8500)

RcRogersRcRogers Members, Plex Pass Posts: 80 Plex Pass

This is my first attempt to use Plex with a blu-ray player, and thus far, Plex v2.003 works very well on the Samsung K8500. I'm using a wired connection and my untouched blu-ray rips (MKV) have never looked this good. I had a dedicated HTPC and Nvidia Shield, but the K8500 provides an even better picture! The only drawback is audio quality as it's transcoded from HD audio to lossy formats (Dolby/DTS). Is there any possibility of an audio passthrough option being added to the Samsung Plex app, specifically for setups like mine where the blu-ray player is connected directly to an A/V receiver via HDMI? I would pay/donate to have this feature! Also, I am stuck on v2.003 it seems. When I go to update the app, it shows v2.003 as the most current available. Will v2.005 be pushed to my K8500 at some point? Sorry for any dumb/annoying questions.

p.s. I am VERY grateful to the developer who made this app happen. Having an all-in-one device is critical to synergy in my media room. The K8500 provides all of the streaming apps (w/ 4K support) that I desire, along with gobs of optical disk format support (UHD blu-ray, 1080 blu-ray, 3D blu-ray, DVD, CD, and DVR+/-R). My wireless Logitech keyboard w/ trackpad works wonderfully on the K8500 as well.

Best Answer

Answers

• RcRogersRcRogers Members, Plex Pass Posts: 80 Plex Pass

@Orca said:
    HD audio pass-trough would have to come from Samsung, because it's a hardware restriction, not a software one. In short , we can feed it HD audio, but it will not send it through to the amplifier.