If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Optimize and Subtitles

bstapyltonbstapylton Posts: 24Members Plex Pass

Hi guys,

Please accept my apologies - I am new to all of the below - before 2 weeks ago I knew what MKV and MP4 were but that was it... and I had never used Plex. I am here to learn :)

I'm running Plex Server 0.9.16.3.1840 on my DS1515+ (DSM 6.0-7321)

Because my NAS is just too slow to transcode my Blu Ray rips (I use Make MKV), I've decided to re-encode them to be Direct Play-ed to my Google Chromecast or PS4.

I've found that picking the "Original Quality" preset works a treat. The resultant quality is perfect, and it Direct Plays to both devices with the tests I've done. As a sidenote, since I have no need for the original (and larger file size) MKV files after the conversion is done, currently I am moving the converted MP4 files elsewhere - deleting the original MKV files and re-synchronising the MP4 files back into my Library as if they are the new Originals.

Now, time for my questions.

1) How are subtitles chosen when using this Optimize process? I seemingly have no option to select which subtitle to use.
2) Is there a way I can force the Optimizer to always use Forced English subtitles when doing this "Pre-Transcoding"?
3) Is there a way I can tell the difference between the Forced English-only subtitles, and the regular English subtitles when using the Web App or my iOS app? They are all just called "English (PGS)".