Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex DVR for premium channels?

I'm confused whether the Plex DVR can record only free over-the-air channels, or any channel coming through my cable box. I have a cable subscription, so I'd be getting the HDHomeRun Prime box. Can Plex DVR record any show I get through that box? Or only free shows via the digital antenna? Do I even need the digital antenna if I'm not utilizing the free shows?

Thanks!

«13

Answers

  • hthighwayhthighway Posts: 6,534Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja

    If you do have cable service, you can still make use of a DVR with the HDHomeRun Prime.
    This will allow you to record any unencrypted content.
    You will need to check with your provider to see which channels come to you unencrypted.

    REF: https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/articles/225877427

    • Paul
  • mbze430mbze430 Posts: 122Members ✭✭

    So if you are a TWC subscriber, than you are SOL. They encrypt all channels except basic.

    Why isn't there a DRM solution from Plex OR HDHomeRun's DVR/LiveTV. I was about to pay for the Premium Pass (as this is the only feature I find the most useful), but without able to DVR encrypted contents its not worth it.

  • JBinFlaJBinFla Posts: 72Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    The HDHomeRun has a CableCard slot. Talk to TWC, get a cable card, ditch the STB's and sign up for the Premium Pass.

    Then, let me know how it works. I'm working out the details now on my own switch and I really love the Plex product, the interface, etc. I would be thrilled to use it as the one point of access for all media (well, still have Netflix). Just trying to sort out how to do everything "wife proof" so that she doesn't need a Ph.D, 4 remotes and a VNC terminal to watch TV.

    • JB
  • Josh.KannenbergJosh.Kannenberg Posts: 10Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited September 2016

    @JBinFla said:
    The HDHomeRun has a CableCard slot. Talk to TWC, get a cable card, ditch the STB's and sign up for the Premium Pass.

    Then, let me know how it works. I'm working out the details now on my own switch and I really love the Plex product, the interface, etc. I would be thrilled to use it as the one point of access for all media (well, still have Netflix). Just trying to sort out how to do everything "wife proof" so that she doesn't need a Ph.D, 4 remotes and a VNC terminal to watch TV.

    • JB

    With time warner cable, it doesn't matter if you pickup their cable card, and their tv tuner. DRM channels (which ae 90%), will have DRM and wont record.
    This is so upsetting since I am legitimately paying for service that I cant get the way I want it.
    The FCC requires cable companies to allow the user to use their own device via cable card, but the loophole is that they DRM the channels, and only a system like Tivo (with a subscription), and Windows 7 Media Center Master (which doesn't work on Windows 10), are able to decode. Definitely a sleazy move.

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 5,977Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    @Josh.Kannenberg said:
    With time warner cable, it doesn't matter if you pickup their cable card, and their tv tuner. DRM channels (which ae 90%), will have DRM and wont record.
    This is so upsetting since I am legitimately paying for service that I cant get the way I want it.
    The FCC requires cable companies to allow the user to use their own device via cable card, but the loophole is that they DRM the channels, and only a system like Tivo (with a subscription), and Windows 7 Media Center Master (which doesn't work on Windows 10), are able to decode. Definitely a sleazy move.

    From the 'For What It's Worth Department'... here's how to install WMC on Win10:
    http://www.windowscentral.com/install-media-center-windows-10

    with that and this:
    https://mcebuddy2x.codeplex.com/ - MCEBuddy
    Along with some setup time you can incorporate your recordings seamlessly (and fully automated) into your Plexiverse. I've been doing it for YEARS without issue. It's not as slick as a Plex 'all in one stop and shop' could be... but it does work and will work with any tuner WMC can find (it even sees my ancient AverMedia HD).

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://streamfree.tv/roku-channels/private/all/rarflix-108-thread.html )

  • drinehartdrinehart Posts: 1,141Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    If the cable company is setting DRM on everything, you won't be able to watch it on a non-windows source due to driver/licensing issues. Windows uses PlayReady to enforce it, and that is why WMC works. However, Plex DVR, Myth, etc., cannot play DRM protected content. Yes, it is a crap move.

  • JBinFlaJBinFla Posts: 72Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Wow Josh I learned something new. I thought the whole point of the cable card was to get the encrypted channels on third party hardware (TiVo, etc).

  • MovieFan.PlexMovieFan.Plex Posts: 15,682Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @JBinFla said:
    Wow Josh I learned something new. I thought the whole point of the cable card was to get the encrypted channels on third party hardware (TiVo, etc).

    Nope. The DRM info is placed on the source before it gets transmitted to you. That signal (with or without DRM) is then scrambled, which is why you can't just connect your TV to the outlet and start watching stuff. Some channels may be sent unscrambled, but this is rare. The cable card or your cable box unscrambles the signal so you can then watch the signal, but the DRM info, if present, is still there.

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 5,977Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    Hummmm....

    I guess that's what this MCEBuddy 'feature' is for...

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://streamfree.tv/roku-channels/private/all/rarflix-108-thread.html )

  • MovieFan.PlexMovieFan.Plex Posts: 15,682Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    No, that option does not remove DRM. It only tells the program to ignore the flag incase it was set wrong. If the file is DRM'd, the output will be garbage.

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 5,977Members ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2016

    Indeed, you are correct:

    IgnoreCopyProtection=false (v2.1.12+)

    By default, this value is false. If this is set to true, then MCEBuddy will ignore the Copy Protection flag on the recording if it encounters it during conversion. It will only record an error in the conversion log and continue the conversion. If the recording is really copy protected then the final video will be look garbled. This flag can help because sometimes videos are incorrectly flagged by recording software/tuners. When this is set to false, if MCEBuddy encounters an Copy Protection flag it will stop the conversion after logging an error.

    I've never had it checked because ALL my recorded material arrives via antenna - in a realm where the broadcasters want me to see, record, use whatever they broadcast in whatever manner I choose.

    So I guess, in the end, Plex-DVR can only be used with a reasonable success rate by employing an antenna where most, if not all, of your material will arrive without restrictions baked into the cake. It's not surprising then that the documentation available on Plex-DVR is vague, but to your credit you are recommending wildly overpriced antennae that are little more than a 150 dollar coat hanger.

    In reality those living in an urban area would do well with this 'Mohu' ($150.00) - or with a well tuned coat hanger ($0.14), but there will be no 'Premium' cable channels arriving over the airwaves. That will require a wire and what is sure to be a fair amount of disappointment from Plex-DVR.

    And to be fair - this isn't Plex's fault. They're just playing the hand with the cards they're dealt. I'm sure Plex-DVR from antennae is going to be very nice if what you want comes from NBC, CBS, ABC, PBS or other OTA Broadcasters. There's plenty of stuff to receive freely in eyeball blistering High Definition the likes of which you will NEVER see via cable.... albeit not what many are expecting.

    Those in Urban areas, or more remote locations within the United States (maybe Canada) can visit: http://www.tvfool.com/ , plug in their address and see what's available and extrapolate a game plan (antennae shop) to find out what would be necessary to receive these digital broadcasts so they can enjoy Plex-DVR to it's fullest.

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://streamfree.tv/roku-channels/private/all/rarflix-108-thread.html )

  • brucethevideobugbrucethevideobug Posts: 178Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Thanks all for the discussion. I have to say, plex is a not as clear as they could be that the shiny new DVR likely won't record much or all of the programming available via cable or satellite. The only sure bet is off air material. Maybe still worth it.

    It also requires the Plex Premium Pass. Those of us who have a legacy lifetime plex pass aren't welcome on this train I take it.

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 5,977Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    @brucethevideobug said:

    It also requires the Plex Premium Pass. Those of us who have a legacy lifetime plex pass aren't welcome on this train I take it.

    That would be a major kick to the coin purse (not the one holding your coins) and I couldn't imagine this being the case... I've been surprised by Plex before though...

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://streamfree.tv/roku-channels/private/all/rarflix-108-thread.html )

  • WilhelmStrokerWilhelmStroker Posts: 1,600Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Is there a difference between Premium and legacy lifetime? I'm on lifetime and DVR is working for me so not sure what the deal is.

  • chesapeaketechiechesapeaketechie Posts: 3Members ✭✭

    Does anyone know if Comcast and/or Verizon FIOS cable cards in the HDHR Prime will allow one to watch premium channels via Plex DVR?

    Can I use both an HDHR Prime and an HDHR Connect as dual inputs for the Plex DVR?

  • hthighwayhthighway Posts: 6,534Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja

    @brucethevideobug said:
    It also requires the Plex Premium Pass. Those of us who have a legacy lifetime plex pass aren't welcome on this train I take it.

    What causes you to believe that a PlexPass holder, like yourself, needs something other than that to install and run the Plex DVR beta?

    There is nothing called a Plex Premium Pass.
    There is a PlexPass that you can subscribed to or pay a one time fee for.

    • Paul
  • JBinFlaJBinFla Posts: 72Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I don't fault Plex for the DRM, it's "big media" and the cable companies. This is why congress is once again bringing up the issue because people like me pay out the rear by the time you factor in a few premium channels and a half dozen DVR boxes/remotes (Like $5+$2 each per month). It get ridiculous and I like the governments take that we should be able to buy our own hardware and not be locked into some monthly gambit. It's so bad, I'm willing to give up everything but OTA - but being in a metro area I have more than the big 3 on OTA.

  • kinoCharlinokinoCharlino CaliforniaPosts: 880Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @brucethevideobug said:
    It also requires the Plex Premium Pass. Those of us who have a legacy lifetime plex pass aren't welcome on this train I take it.

    Plex DVR is available to anyone with a Plex Pass – be it the monthly, annual, or lifetime pass. It is an optional PMS download while it is in beta. See this thread for instructions on how to obtain it and get in on the discussion and provide feedback in this thread.

    Search our Knowledge Base for more help

  • brucethevideobugbrucethevideobug Posts: 178Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @JBinFla said:
    The HDHomeRun has a CableCard slot. Talk to TWC, get a cable card, ditch the STB's and sign up for the Premium Pass.

    Then, let me know how it works. I'm working out the details now on my own switch and I really love the Plex product, the interface, etc. I would be thrilled to use it as the one point of access for all media (well, still have Netflix). Just trying to sort out how to do everything "wife proof" so that she doesn't need a Ph.D, 4 remotes and a VNC terminal to watch TV.

    • JB

    Thats where I saw the term above. I'm mistaken, so my apologies.

  • cookiemenacecookiemenace Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    hey peeps, i just read this, after having purchased recently an hd homerun prime and having ordered from twc a cablecard (and that tuning thing).

    so i pretty much can do only dvr on "basic" channels? (i could've done all this with an hdhomerun + antenna? well except i live in NYC and there's no way my condo would allow me to install an outdoor antenna.

    happens too with other cable providers like comcast?

«13
Sign In or Register to comment.