Our forum migration to Discourse is underway and scheduled to last through June 21. During the migration, the forums will be read-only, except for a single temporary forum (contents of which will not be getting transferred). Read our announcement post for more information about the forum migration.
Hey folks, there is a new Podcast category for forums https://forums.plex.tv/categories/podcasts
If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

OpenPHT freezing with new headphone amp

AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

I'm having a problem with OpenPHT / PHT, I run a triple monitor setup and I recently got a new headphone amp a JDS Labs Element, now whenever I alt-tab / click back into Plex it freezes / stops responding for up to a minute or just crashes this happens both on the menu and while watching something. I originally had a JDS Labs Objective 2 amp which worked fine with Plex (both amps use the UAC 1 drivers) but for some reason the Element is playing up on my main PC, it works on my tablet and other PC's just fine (all Windows 10).

I've gone through and uninstalled both Plex and the drivers, cleared all remaining Plex folders and deleted all registry entry's but it's still doing it when I reinstalled everything. I also run Voicemeeter to split my audio for recording gaming, even with that completely uninstalled so it's just the amp it still does it.

My main PC is running Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit LTSB, 3570k @ 4.5GHz, Asus Gene V, 16GB Corsair 1600MHz RAM, couple of Samsung SSD's, AMD 290 GPU, monitors are 2 Dell U2414H's & an Asus VG248QE.

Any ideas why this could be happening?

Best Answer

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass
    edited December 2016 Accepted Answer

    Well, on Windows 10 we know that OpenPHT is choking on the hardware driver for the Element DAC. So it falls threw the hardware driver code to the WASAPI audio stack, which was introduced in Windows 8. But that fails... So it falls threw to Directsound which has not been updated since Windows 7.

    Which is why it still happens on Windows 7, because it's the same Directsound software API as Windows 10. It just gets there quicker.

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

«1

Answers

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    @Aussiejuggalo said:
    I'm having a problem with OpenPHT / PHT, I run a triple monitor setup and I recently got a new headphone amp a JDS Labs Element, now whenever I alt-tab / click back into Plex it freezes / stops responding for up to a minute or just crashes this happens both on the menu and while watching something. I originally had a JDS Labs Objective 2 amp which worked fine with Plex (both amps use the UAC 1 drivers) but for some reason the Element is playing up on my main PC, it works on my tablet and other PC's just fine (all Windows 10).

    I've gone through and uninstalled both Plex and the drivers, cleared all remaining Plex folders and deleted all registry entry's but it's still doing it when I reinstalled everything. I also run Voicemeeter to split my audio for recording gaming, even with that completely uninstalled so it's just the amp it still does it.

    My main PC is running Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit LTSB, 3570k @ 4.5GHz, Asus Gene V, 16GB Corsair 1600MHz RAM, couple of Samsung SSD's, AMD 290 GPU, monitors are 2 Dell U2414H's & an Asus VG248QE.

    Any ideas why this could be happening?

    Looks like it's has a USB connection that is acting like a Windows sound device? Is that correct? The Objective looks like it was just a analogue man-in-middle amplifier. I assume, that if you just use it as an analogue amplifier on a normal line out (with USB disconnected), it works just fine?

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    @benjaminwolf said:
    Looks like it's has a USB connection that is acting like a Windows sound device? Is that correct? The Objective looks like it was just a analogue man-in-middle amplifier. I assume, that if you just use it as an analogue amplifier on a normal line out (with USB disconnected), it works just fine?

    The Element and Objective 2 are both amp / dac combos and use the "Generic USB Audio" driver from Windows. If I unplug the Element Plex is perfectly fine but with it plugged in it freezes.

    I can only think of 2 things as being a problem, either my multi-monitor setup or the USB's on my motherboard are causing some kind of conflict seeing the Element works on my other PCs all of which are single monitor setups.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass
    edited November 2016

    I suspect it's more along the lines of OpenPHT has a specified sound output device and there is a conflict when you're switching windows. I suspect you don't switch in and out of OpenPHT much when you have a single monitor setup?

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭
    edited November 2016

    Well I didn't have this problem with the Objective 2 which as I've said use the same drivers and I used it on the exact same setup with Voicemeeter etc, I will play with OpenPHT's audio outputs to see if it is that.

    On the single monitor setups I alt-tabbed heaps to force it to freeze and it didn't, might try and do a dual setup with one of them to see how it handles it.

    Edit, just tried all the audio outputs in Plex, all froze when alt-tabbing back.

    Edit 2, tried my tablet in dual screen with one of my monitors, just the Element and it froze again, it wasn't to bad with the WiFi turned off but once the WiFi was turned on and it had access to my NAS it froze like my main PC does.

    So... audio conflict somewhere?

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    Can you post some debug logs here? Maybe they'll show some clues.

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭
    edited November 2016

    2 logs, one with the Element connected, one without, thought that might make it easier to see the problem.

    Looks like there is an extra 29 lines in the log with the Element connected, I just don't know what to look for :-O.

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    Still haven't been able to work out why it's doing it. Comparing the logs in Notepad++ it looks like the one with the Element is having a lot of errors for whatever reason.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    Looking at both logs, I see that OpenPHT is using your VoiceMeeter as the sound device instead of the Element DAC. The Element DAC is a possible sound device but the VoiceMeeter is selected. Nothing else really jumps out at me.

    0:03:53 T:2076 INFO: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - initialize sink
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - trying to open device DIRECTSOUND:default
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: Using Window handle: 00010010
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: secondary buffer created
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: Initializing DirectSound with the following parameters:
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Audio Device : VoiceMeeter Input (VB-Audio VoiceMeeter VAIO)
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 44100
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_FLOAT
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Bits Per Sample : 32
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Valid Bits/Samp : 32
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Channel Count : 2
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Block Align : 8
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Avg. Bytes Sec : 352800
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Samples/Block : 32
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Format cBSize : 22
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Channel Layout : FL,FR
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Channel Mask : 3
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frames : 661
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frame Samples : 1322
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frame Size : 8
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - DIRECTSOUND Initialized:
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Output Device : default
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 44100
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_FLOAT
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Channel Count : 2
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Channel Layout: FL,FR
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frames : 661
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frame Samples : 1322
    20:03:53 T:2076 DEBUG: Frame Size : 8

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭
    edited December 2016

    Crap sorry, forgot I left it on default sound. Here's 2 logs one with the Element as direct sound device (which give me no audio in Plex) and the Element as WASAPI (which does give me sound). Both still causes freezing.

    I also changed my sound settings to 24bit / 96Hz because I forgot to when I reinstalled the Element.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    Hmmm... interesting that it works as WASAPI because the log says it failed and fell back to Direct Sound Mode.

    17:40:42 T:3768 INFO: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - initialize sink
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - trying to open device WASAPI:{70FF3BFA-71AF-4E42-BC86-C348D465C58E}
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CAESinkWASAPI::InitializeExclusive: detected USB device, increating buffer size
    17:40:42 T:3768 ERROR: CAESinkWASAPI::InitializeExclusive: Failed to initialize WASAPI in exclusive mode -2004287478 - (AUDCLNT_E_DEVICE_IN_USE).
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 44100
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_S24NE3
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Bits Per Sample : 24
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Valid Bits/Samp : 24
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Count : 2
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Block Align : 6
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Avg. Bytes Sec : 264600
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Samples/Block : 24
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Format cBSize : 22
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Layout : FL,FR
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Enc. Channels : 2
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Enc. Samples/Sec: 0
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Mask : 3
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Periodicty : 999996
    17:40:42 T:3768 INFO: CAESinkWASAPI::Initialize: Could not Initialize Exclusive with that format
    17:40:42 T:3768 ERROR: CAESinkWASAPI::Initialize: WASAPI initialization failed.
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - trying to open device DIRECTSOUND:{2EF72358-9B48-497F-8186-FCD7B8C46121}

    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: Using Window handle: 00010010
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: secondary buffer created
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CAESinkDirectSound::Initialize: Initializing DirectSound with the following parameters:
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Audio Device : CABLE Input (VB-Audio Virtual Cable)
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 44100
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_FLOAT
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Bits Per Sample : 32
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Valid Bits/Samp : 32
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Count : 2
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Block Align : 8
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Avg. Bytes Sec : 352800
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Samples/Block : 32
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Format cBSize : 22
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Layout : FL,FR
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Mask : 3
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frames : 661
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frame Samples : 1322
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frame Size : 8
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - DIRECTSOUND Initialized:
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Output Device : Speakers - CABLE Input (VB-Audio Virtual Cable)
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 44100
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_FLOAT
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Count : 2
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Channel Layout: FL,FR
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frames : 661
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frame Samples : 1322
    17:40:42 T:3768 DEBUG: Frame Size : 8

    Can you provide a log from a system where it's not freezing?

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    Yeah that is interesting, than again it fell back to the cable input which is the main audio through Voicemeeter, direct sound failed when I tried to do it straight through the speakers but that could be due to the way Voicemeeter splits audio.

    I did post a log earlier without the Element connected, the only time it doesn't freeze is when the Element isn't plugged into the PC or I think when no audio goes through it like its an idle device.

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    I've emailed JDS Labs about this to see if they have any ideas as to why it's happening and maybe if they can recreate it.

    I'm also hopefully going to test this using another PC running Windows 7 to see if it's something to do with Windows 10, I don't think it could be but who knows at this point.

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    JDS Labs is stumped, they don't know what could be causing it, I tested it on a Windows 7 PC, same thing happened with Plex freezing, I tried it on the Windows 7 PC without a HDMI cable in case it was that, still froze.

    I have no clue why it's doing it, I've added every log I've gotten so far, all of them are labelled. Looks like I could be up a creek with this thing ~X(.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass
    edited December 2016 Accepted Answer

    Well, on Windows 10 we know that OpenPHT is choking on the hardware driver for the Element DAC. So it falls threw the hardware driver code to the WASAPI audio stack, which was introduced in Windows 8. But that fails... So it falls threw to Directsound which has not been updated since Windows 7.

    Which is why it still happens on Windows 7, because it's the same Directsound software API as Windows 10. It just gets there quicker.

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    So there's basically nothing that can be done to fix this with OpenPHT?

    I just installed Plex Media Player and it's fine so far, I didn't really want to switch to it but if it solves the freezing I can live with it.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    @Aussiejuggalo said:
    So there's basically nothing that can be done to fix this with OpenPHT?

    I just installed Plex Media Player and it's fine so far, I didn't really want to switch to it but if it solves the freezing I can live with it.

    Can you get me a debug log from it working in PMP? I'd like to see how it's functioning there. I wouldn't say 'nothing can be done' but a fix would come in a future release. I think it's safe to say it cannot be resolved in version 1.7.1. Fixes have to be compiled on new versions unless the cause is external to OpenPHT.

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    Here's the PMP log.

    I also talked to JDS Labs and they said there's an ongoing bug with the USB Audio Class 1 drivers from Microsoft, apparently it's been a problem for a while and can cause programs to start slower than they should if they use direct sound, it's mostly a problem with games they said.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    Thanks. Interesting, looks like it's being processed by the WASAPI audio stack.

    2016-12-04 09:38:19 [ DEBUG ] PlayerComponent.cpp @ 838 - Audio devices removed: QSet()
    2016-12-04 09:38:19 [ DEBUG ] PlayerComponent.cpp @ 839 - Audio devices added: QSet("auto", "wasapi/{3d185750-53d8-4d51-995f-51d62e4fcf1b}", "wasapi/{2ef72358-9b48-497f-8186-fcd7b8c46121}", "wasapi/{70ff3bfa-71af-4e42-bc86-c348d465c58e}")
    2016-12-04 09:38:19 [ DEBUG ] PlayerComponent.cpp @ 840 - Audio device selected: "auto"
    2016-12-04 09:38:19 [ INFO ] PlayerComponent.cpp @ 964 - Audio Config - device: auto, channel layout: 5.1,2.0, passthrough codecs: none, ac3 transcoding: no

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

  • AussiejuggaloAussiejuggalo Members Posts: 14 ✭✭

    Yeah I noticed that when I was checking the info in a video. I left everything on default for PMP, did the same on the fresh install of OpenPHT but it was doing that stupid freezing thing.

  • benjaminwolfbenjaminwolf Members, Plex Pass Posts: 993 Plex Pass

    @Aussiejuggalo said:
    Yeah I noticed that when I was checking the info in a video. I left everything on default for PMP, did the same on the fresh install of OpenPHT but it was doing that stupid freezing thing.

    I'm looking into seeing if it's fixable for a future version.

    Enjoy Rasplex/OpenPHT? Consider dropping some bones into our development war chest! $25, $10, $5, or even $1 helps. All donations go toward development expenses so our volunteers spend less out of pocket. rasplex.com

«1
Sign In or Register to comment.