If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Remote Access Nvidia Shield

Dear friends, I'm having a REALLY herd time getting the remote access for my Plex Media Server running. Most drustrating thing is, that it used to work, but no longer (maybe since update to android 7?). I tried several things mentioned here in the forum. I'm not an IT expert, so maybe I didn't do it right.

My config:
Plex Media Server: Nvidia Shield TV, connected via LAN to gigabit-Switch connected to router my router
Router: Fritz!Box 7490
Media Library: WD Mycloud NAS

Situation:
Plex server accessible in home network, works fine. When I try to turn remote access on in the Plex Web app, it shows red most of the time. Sometimes green, but within seconds back to red. IP address of my shield is not shown ("unknown")

What I tried:

Router:
Told the router to always give the shield the same IP address (which is working); configured Port forwarding to Port 34200 internal and external; later I also tried other external ports like 34201 etc.).
Enabled/disabled automatic port forwarding for the shield (no effect)

Shield TV:
Allowed unsecure connections

Plex Web App:
Tried to turn on remote access automatic / with manual port forwarding: No effect

Any ideas on that? Would be much appreciated!

Kind regards.

Answers

• MarvinlistMarvinlist Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Same Issue and I don't have a clue to fix it!

• KnightNZKnightNZ Posts: 52Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass