Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex MythTV LiveTV Channel/Plugin

unsoberunsober Members, Plex Pass Posts: 9 Plex Pass

I just purchased plexpass and was hoping to be able to do the livetv from myth, but there really weren't any good options out there. I wrote a channel to do it. As of now, it just does the LiveTV. It doesn't list the recordings. With some tweaking, I set up a plex libraries to look at the mythtv recordings folder - so i didnt have a need for recordings yet. I'm not a fantastic developer, It's a little dirty and could probably be all done completely within the bundle, instead of the myth side php i used. My setup is ubuntu and separate VMs for plex and myth. HDHomeRun Prime. I have not done any load testing so don't know what the CPU/mem requirements are, but i've been able to do 2 streams on multiple vcpu VMs without any issue.

I have a basic Channel/Plugin built, which does the initial communicating with Myth to get the channels/icons and then calls the php file on the mythserver to initiate the livetv and start streaming through plex. Keep in mind, this is not using the myth streaming/transcoding like I've seen a few people try to do - The Plexserver is accessing the raw video stream just like any standard client does (ie: mythfrontend/kodi) and then based on the plexclient, the plexserver does the transcoding. I didnt think it made sense to transcode once with myth and then another time with plex.