Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Bug: Plex has stopped working on my 2016 Samsung TV

AnekeiAnekei Members Posts: 13 ✭✭

Hello all. I've been using the Plex app throughout my household for years and on a 2016 Samsung TV model 60KS8000 since getting it without issue. As of a couple days ago, my Samsung won't connect to the Plex server. I use several Rokus throughout the house, and they connect fine, as do our phones/tablets. Just this TV seems to be the problem. I've seen a few other threads around these forums, but nothing for more recent models, and none of the fixes within those threads have worked for me.

When I load the Plex app, it just gives me a "Unable to connect to ServerName" message. I've signed out and signed back in on both the TV and the server itself, made sure both the TV firmware and the Plex app are up to date, as well as the Plex app on my iMac. I've restarted my computer, as well as unplugging my TV for a while to give it a good power cycle. None of these fixes have yielded any results.

The first time I try to the app on the TV after signing out and signing back in, it suggest I allow insecure fallback connections. When I try this, it still doesn't work, but the message changes to the more generic check your server IP, try manual connections, etc.

Any thoughts on other potential fixes would be great. I really don't know what would have caused this issue. I've been using the Plex app on the TV for months without issue. Last week it just stopped, with no changes to the TV, iMac, or network that I'm aware of. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Answers

• onlyonthursdaysonlyonthursdays Members Posts: 6 Plex Pass

Yep, I am having the same problem.