Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

More things transcoding (video & audio) with AppleTV 4 lately

cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Up until about a week ago almost all of my videos played via direct play or direct stream, but now a significant percentage of videos are requiring full transcoding. Has anything changed with the Plex client or server? I think this started with Plex client 1.8 (I'm on the beta) or around around the time of the previous PMS beta release (not 1.5.1.3520, the one before that)

The Plex status page show that it's transcoding from h264->h264 and audio is whatever to AC3 (or EAC3 with 1.5.1).

What has changed? Can I reverse it? My NAS isn't powerful enough to transcode these videos and I don't see any clues in the tvOS.xml profile file.

Here's one video that is giving me problems:

<br />Video Resolution 1080p
Duration 1:31:37
Bitrate 5286 kbps
Width 1908
Height 1072
Aspect Ratio 1.78
Container MKV
Video Frame Rate 24p
Audio Profile lc
Video Profile high
Part

Duration 1:31:37
File file.mkv
Size 3.38 GB
Audio Profile lc
Container MKV
Has Thumbnail 1
Indexes sd
Video Profile high
Codec H264
Bitrate 5286 kbps
Language English
Bit Depth 8
Chroma Subsampling 4:2:0
Color Range tv
Color Space bt709
Frame Rate 23.976 fps
Height 1072
Level 4.0
Profile high
Ref Frames 4
Scan Type progressive
Title some title
Width 1908
Codec AAC
Channels Stereo
Language English
Audio Channel Layout stereo
Profile lc
Sampling Rate 48000 Hz
Title some title
Codec SRT
Language English

Here's another one:

Media

Video Resolution 720p
Duration 21:13
Bitrate 4434 kbps
Width 1280
Height 720
Aspect Ratio 1.78
Container MKV
Video Frame Rate 60p
Audio Profile lc
Video Profile high
Part

Duration 21:13
File somefile.mkv
Size 673.12 MB
Audio Profile lc
Container MKV
Indexes sd
Video Profile high
Codec H264
Bitrate 4434 kbps
Bit Depth 8
Chroma Subsampling 4:2:0
Frame Rate 59.94 fps
Height 720
Level 4.1
Profile high
Ref Frames 4
Scan Type progressive
Width 1280
Codec AAC
Channels Stereo
Audio Channel Layout stereo
Profile lc
Sampling Rate 48000 Hz
Codec SRT
Language English

Here's the status window:

Tagged:

Best Answer

«13456

Answers

  • gdiongdion Posts: 61Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Check if your local quality settings at plex client for apple tv is set to original, I found out that my ios devices have changed themselves to 8mbps. Currently there is a problem with pms 1.5.1 and files with DTS multichannel audio on apple tv.

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yeah, it's still on Original Quality, and I've reproduced this issue with a higher quality movie with DTS audio and a 720p tv show with AAC audio.

  • chrisallenchrisallen New ZealandPosts: 638Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @cyc66 and @gdion Could you please provide both a sample file and your full logs that cover your playback attempts? Thanks! :)

    https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/articles/201035968-Generating-Sample-Files-from-Media

    (no private messages for support unless requested, please)

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Hi @chrisallen, I've pm'ed you with the log/sample file.

  • chrisallenchrisallen New ZealandPosts: 638Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @cyc66 looking at your Log, I am seeing that the Apple TV is being forced to transcode due to you having a an Internet upload speed set under Settings > Server > Remote Access

    [0xed5a1b90] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Changing decision parameters to fit bandwidth limit of 200000kbps
    .....
    .....
    .....
    [0xed5a1b90] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Reducing playback quality for 190476kbps stream bitrate: video resolution to 1920x804, audio channels to 8, quality to 99
    

    Is it on a different network from your Server?

    (no private messages for support unless requested, please)

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 28

    Nope, same network. Plenty of bandwidth. Nothing has changed either.

    Edit: More info now that I'm sitting at a keyboard: The PMS is on a Qnap server connected via gigabit ethernet to my router. The Apple TV is connected to the router via 802.11AC with very high signal strength. I can stream full blu ray quality videos, my network speed test maxes out at 100mbps (over the internet) so there should be no speed issues here.

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Also, I have Internet Upload Speed unset. It had been set to 10 when the issue first cropped up but I blanked it out with no change.

  • gdiongdion Posts: 61Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @chrisallen, send you a message with sample/server logs.

    My setup is nearly identical to @cyc66, even the remote settings as the above screenshot, only difference is the server which is a synology ds216j.

    The key here is that the file has dts 5.1 sound and srt subtitles embedded. If subtitles are enabled, the file does not start playback (appletv stays at the back screen with the spinner forever). If subtitles are turned off, the file starts playing after 5 secs.

  • damienguinetdamienguinet Posts: 10Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @gdion said:

    The key here is that the file has dts 5.1 sound and srt subtitles embedded. If subtitles are enabled, the file does not start playback (appletv stays at the back screen with the spinner forever). If subtitles are turned off, the file starts playing after 5 secs.

    Thanks God, I’m mot alone! I have the same issue. DTS and subtitles = endless spin. If I try 3 or 4 times, it will start. I chose no-subtitles, then it just works.

    Here what it looks like in my logs (logs are from the same movie and it worked well with no subtitles) :

    Mar 27, 2017 20:50:39.607 [0xec1e9b70] INFO - CodecManager: obtaining EAE Mar 27, 2017 20:50:40.595 [0xec1e9b70] INFO - CodecManager: starting EAE at /volume2/Cache/Plex/tmp_transcoding/EasyAudioEncoder Mar 27, 2017 20:51:02.813 [0xefe23b70] ERROR - JobManager: child process killed by signal: 9 (Killed) Mar 27, 2017 20:51:02.899 [0xebc0db70] WARN - Transcode runner appears to have died. Mar 27, 2017 20:51:02.908 [0xec4d7b70] WARN - Got a request to stop a transcode session without a session GUID (or with an invalid one). Mar 27, 2017 20:51:02.910 [0xea335b70] WARN - Transcode runner appears to have died. Mar 27, 2017 20:51:13.542 [0xefe23b70] ERROR - JobManager: child process killed by signal: 9 (Killed) Mar 27, 2017 20:51:13.552 [0xec1e9b70] WARN - Transcode runner appears to have died. Mar 27, 2017 20:51:13.558 [0xee511b70] WARN - Got a request to stop a transcode session without a session GUID (or with an invalid one). Mar 27, 2017 20:51:24.674 [0xefe23b70] ERROR - JobManager: child process killed by signal: 9 (Killed) Mar 27, 2017 20:51:24.689 [0xebefbb70] WARN - Transcode runner appears to have died. Mar 27, 2017 20:51:24.747 [0xee511b70] WARN - Got a request to stop a transcode session without a session GUID (or with an invalid one). Mar 27, 2017 20:51:39.066 [0xefe23b70] ERROR - JobManager: child process killed by signal: 9 (Killed) Mar 27, 2017 20:51:39.074 [0xee511b70] WARN - Got a request to stop a transcode session without a session GUID (or with an invalid one). Mar 27, 2017 20:52:04.322 [0xf1223b70] ERROR - Error issuing curl_easy_perform(handle): 52

    These issues are really new to me. I guess that 1.8 related.

  • chrisallenchrisallen New ZealandPosts: 638Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @gdion @cyc66 and @damienguinetdamienguinet We have a new PMS 1.5.2 due out to Plex Pass very soon with both a transcoder and a network fix that may resolve your issues. May I ask that you hold tight for a day or so till that is released, and then test again?

    (no private messages for support unless requested, please)

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yah, will do :)

  • x64Manx64Man Posts: 67Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @chrisallen said:
    @gdion @cyc66 and @damienguinetdamienguinet We have a new PMS 1.5.2 due out to Plex Pass very soon with both a transcoder and a network fix that may resolve your issues. May I ask that you hold tight for a day or so till that is released, and then test again?

    Well QA needs to rip the lid off and let it out, lol.

  • gdiongdion Posts: 61Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited April 4

    @damienguinet said:

    @gdion said:

    The key here is that the file has dts 5.1 sound and srt subtitles embedded. If subtitles are enabled, the file does not start playback (appletv stays at the back screen with the spinner forever). If subtitles are turned off, the file starts playing after 5 secs.

    Thanks God, I’m mot alone! I have the same issue. DTS and subtitles = endless spin. If I try 3 or 4 times, it will start. I chose no-subtitles, then it just works.

    @chrisallen do we have any info on this issue, it's present (at least for me) on PMS 1.5.3 using Appletv 1.9 beta client and ios plex client, but on ios client, during endless spin, if I skip forward 30sec the file playbacks normally. Then I can go to appletv client and resume playback for that file normally.

    Also another weird thing is that other files with the same characteristics that I have already watched before updating to 1.5.x, start normally! I tried re-analyzing all the new files but no change.

    Again, this applies only for files with DTS/DTS-HD audio. Files with AC3/EAC3/TrueHD audio do not have this issue.

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yah I have the same issue, I had to switch to the non plexpass release 1.4.4.3495.

  • gdiongdion Posts: 61Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited April 4

    @cyc66 said:
    Yah I have the same issue, I had to switch to the non plexpass release 1.4.4.3495.

    Good to know, thanks. The thing is that pms 1.5.3 was made available to everyone today, so more people will start experiencing the same issue.

  • cyc66cyc66 Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yeah, it's too bad but at least it seems to be a big enough of a problem that it should get resolved in due time.

  • chrisallenchrisallen New ZealandPosts: 638Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @gdion that you for more info about the issue. Would you be able to send me new debug logs that cover a playback attempt that has a spinner. Sadly, I have not manage to reproduce this yet with my own media.

    (no private messages for support unless requested, please)

  • gdiongdion Posts: 61Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited April 4

    @chrisallen sent you a message with new pms 1.5.3 logs showing various playback attempts.

  • Plex MainPlex Main Posts: 210Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Having this issue on the latest release too. I'm getting AC3 transcode to EAC3 no more directsrream.

  • chrisallenchrisallen New ZealandPosts: 638Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    @plex main can you please PM me logs of your playback that results in AC3 transcoding to EAC3? I would love to know which client you were using as well.

    (no private messages for support unless requested, please)

«13456
Sign In or Register to comment.