Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Both video and audio is being transcoded on one of my Android devices, but I don't understand why.

pellz0rpellz0r Members Posts: 12 ✭✭

Alright, I'm new to the Plex world and this is my first post, so be gentle :)
I have done my best searching this forum for an answer, but failed to find anything that explains my issue.

My smartphone, a Huawei P10, always transcodes both the video and the audio when watching media which has AC3 or DTS sound (which ~95% of my archive is using). I understand that the audio needs to be transcoded as my device doesn't support AC3 or DTS, but I cannot understand why the video gets transcoded as well, putting a lot of strain on my PMS which I'd like to avoid.

On my Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1 the behaviour is correct however. Audio is transcoded, but the video is "direct". I have checked and compared the settings in the PMP app between the devices and cannot find any differences except my phone has H264 maximum level 5.1, while the Samsung tablet has 4.2, both having their values set to what the app recommends.

If I activate Direct Play on the phone, it does actually play it without transcoding, but without sound as expected as DTS isn't supported.

Subtitles is disabled as well as it will need to transcode the video as it burns the subtitles (if I understand it correct).

Attaching part of the logs (the start which has the MDE parts) for both devices, and also the XML for the media used in the logs.

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Best Answer

Answers

• BigWheelBigWheel Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 9,747 Plex Employee

it is getting what it is getting from the phone itself as what it can play