Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Video and Audio going out of sync far to often

MattTwinkleToesMattTwinkleToes Members, Plex Pass Posts: 37 Plex Pass

Hello Plexers, I have been using plex for about 2 years and while this is not the first time this issue has occurred, it has got the point where almost every media clip is having audio / video sync problems.

It seems to be happening the most of the Samsung TV app (the older one) and while it will happen on itś own, I can trigger it by simply skipping forward of back.

I am sure that the media sources are ok, I have checked.

The way to clear it seems to vary between stopping and starting the media clip several times until the audio and video get in sync or restarting the TV player app. This is happening with both Direct plays and Transcodes

It is happening almost every time I use the TV and is now a high profile issue that I have to fix as its pissing everyone off and we might have to start looking for something else (I want to stick with plex). It has got a lot worse since the last server update.

I have tried to adjust some settings on the app

Initial Buffer 25Mb
Pending 50Mb
Total Buffer 75Mb

My server is running on Linux Mint 18.1
PMS - Version 1.5.5.3634
plex app version 2.005
TV Samsung UE40F6200

Everything is using cat6 ethernet, no wireless involved.

Any got any ideas on how to solve this?

Answers

• OrcaOrca Plex for Samsung Developer Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 7,154 Plex Ninja

Please provide us with more details:

• Mediainfo on the movie in question
    • Transcoding , Direct streaming or direct playing the movie?
    • Remote server, local server?

I do have an idea what could be the issue, but you don't want to hear that I guess.