If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Error: not enough bandwidth for any playback

1235

Answers

  • shopgirl284shopgirl284 Posts: 2,835Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Forum Moderator Plex Ninja

    See the pinned document at the top of the forum called Read First: Posting Media Playback Issues

    Many issues and questions can be resolved by reviewing the Plex Support Documentation
    Providing details about your issue, Plex setup, and including log files are important when when asking for help on the forums.
    See Log Files
    Before posting channel plugin questions or issues, please review the pinned threads at the top of the Channel Plugin forum:
    READ FIRST: Guidelines for Posting Channel Plugin Issues/Questions and Things to Check First
    FAQ for Channel Plugin FAQ

  • NLDerNLDer Posts: 5Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Update...

    I am running version 1.8.1.4139 of Plex Media Server. I came across this error myself trying to get a channel to work remotely on my laptop using the web app to access my local Plex Server at home.
    I went to Settings > Web > Debug. Here I unchecked "Direct Play" and "Direct Stream"

    Everything works fine now as far as I am aware.

    Hope this helps anyone left on 1.5.X and earlier. It was particularly an issue with version 1.6.X and 1.7.X

  • husterkhusterk Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Thanks NLDer! I have been pulling my hair out all night trying to figure out why my new Synology NAS serving Plex would work on all out PCs but not our Roku 3. Hopefully, they will fix whatever is going on so that we can eventually turn those features back on.

  • jeff.lujeff.lu Posts: 2Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited October 2017

    I just started to encounter this issue...I recently build a new plex server, running plex version 1.9.5.4339 running on ubuntu server 16.04 (headless) and started seeing this issue. I only get this error on Roku 3; it plays properly on the web client and Android client (all in local network). I did notice I only get this error when playing media with 5.1 surround sound. Video with stereo plays correctly. I tried all the suggestions in this post and didn't seem to work. Help!

  • le0thelionle0thelion Posts: 1Members

    Just upped my new server. Still getting the same error identified above. Plex has gone to the toilet. It was working fine all last year on all my rokus.

  • randallmediarandallmedia Posts: 3Members ✭✭

    I'm transitioning from a friend's jail to an Ubuntu VM. Ive installed PMS Version 1.9.6.4429 and I'm getting the bandwidth error on a Roku 3. Has this been officially acknowledged? Is it a thing or just a really big coincidence all of these users are having issues. My freenas jail is running PMS Version 1.5.6.3790 with no issues. Luckily, my freenas jail is still running so I won't get shanked while testing this new server VM.

  • randallmediarandallmedia Posts: 3Members ✭✭

    @randallmedia said:
    I'm transitioning from a friend's jail to an Ubuntu VM. Ive installed PMS Version 1.9.6.4429 and I'm getting the bandwidth error on a Roku 3. Has this been officially acknowledged? Is it a thing or just a really big coincidence all of these users are having issues. My freenas jail is running PMS Version 1.5.6.3790 with no issues. Luckily, my freenas jail is still running so I won't get shanked while testing this new server VM.

    Freenas* not friend's

  • patrick-irlpatrick-irl Posts: 135Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited November 2017

    Does anyone know when the issue will fix? I have same problem "error: not enough bandwidth for any playback" on my all web brosers Plex Web client 3.29.5 , when all my apple devices all working fine :neutral: I check all single metode for set my quality and stream for iptv none working, any help?
    This stream coming from my friend server PMS 1.9.7.4460 , but like i said on all apple devices work perfect (iPhone, iPad, apple TV) only non browser not working. My friend can watch on broser IPTV with no problem, I can't.
    Anyone fixed the issue?

    My Server: Dell power edge t310
    na sprzedaż: forums.plex.tv/discussion/278140/server-dell-t310-na-sprzedaz#latest
    procek: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X3440 @ 2.53GHz
    płyta: Dell 02P9X9
    ram: 8GB (max 32Gb)
    system linux Ubuntu Server 14.04.3 LTS
    Net 360/36Mb
    Plex zawsze uaktualniony do najnowszej wersji :)
    ehomeserver.net

  • luigixpluigixp Posts: 7Members ✭✭

    Same problem. VMware, 7th gen i3, tried ubuntu 14/16, 32bit and 64bit. centos 7. Different pms versions. Whats funny is, my pi3 doesnt have this problem, but i went through upgrades to get to the latest rather than a fresh install. Playback wont work on roku stick. Playback works fine on roku premiere+ and roku 4, but those transcode on the box itself rather than relying on pms server.

  • luigixpluigixp Posts: 7Members ✭✭

    One thing I did notice between my new install and pi3. Is the tuner service works on pi3. On this new fresh install, and all the installs Ive done have the tuner service failing to start.

  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 30,912Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    Plex Media Server Beta Release 1.10.1.4561 has been released and it includes a fix for bandwidth errors when streaming remotely from channels such as iptv

    See Release Notice http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1569828/#Comment_1569828

    • (Streaming Brain) Playback involving transcodes of some channel content failed with bandwidth error (#7911)

    Help given free on forums.            Fee-Based Personal Support & Help.        

    _______________________________________________________________________________________

    Plex Support Information              Troubleshooting               FAQs

    Plex Media Server:   Reporting Issues        Plex Web App: Debug Log    Plex Apps: Support pages and Logs    Logs: All Logs

    Please do not send logs by Private Message unless specifically requested to
     
  • rjsearsrjsears Posts: 120Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited December 2017

    Hey Everyone -

    I too was having the exact same problem on a new install of Plex (my 4th Plex server) and none of the suggestions here worked for me. However, I thought I would share what DID work for me in case it helps someone else.

    I went to my server settings and disabled remote access and then reenabled it and my problem went away. Not sure why and not sure if it will help anyone else, but it did the trick for me. I am running 1.10.1.4561.

    My 'Plex' Server: Asus X-99A, 32GB DDR4, Intel i7-5960X 3Ghz (15,970 Passmarks), Chelsio T520-SO-CR Dual Port 10Gbe NIC (Primary & Backup NAS connections), 1 x Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 Drive (Primary PMS Drive), APC SMART RT3000, Ubuntu 16.04.1, PMS

    My 'AirPLEX' Portable Server: MSi Cubi2, 32GB RAM, i7-7500U CPU, 5TB Hard Drive

    My 'PlexNAS' NAS: SuperMicro 5028R, Xeon E5-2640, 64GB DDR4 ECC RAM, Chelsio Dual Port 10Gbe NIC (Plex & media servers via NFS), Chelsio Dual Port 40Gbe NIC (Backup NAS server), Dual PS, APC SMART RT3000, FreeNAS 11 - 109TB RAW - 73TB Usable

    My 'PlexNAS-ii' (Backup) NAS:Isilon, Dual Port 10Gbe NIC (Plex & media server), Dual Port 40Gbe NIC (Primary NAS server), Dual PS, APC SMART RT3000, FreeNAS 11 - 98TB RAW - 76TB Usable

    My 'Media Management' Server: SM X8DTN+, 2 x Xeon E5645, 24GB RAM, 64GB SSD, Dual Port 10Gbe NIC (Primary & Backup NAS), Dual PS, APC SMART RT3000, Ubuntu 16.04.1, CP, Sonarr, Headphones, NZBGet, PlexPy, Ombi

  • mrdiegomrdiego Posts: 54Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    the same problem. last update 1.10.0.4523 not fixed, get 103kbps error on all channels

  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 30,912Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    @mrdiego said:
    the same problem. last update 1.10.0.4523 not fixed, get 103kbps error on all channels

    The channels issue eg iptv is fixed in 1.10.1.4561 - not 1.10.0.4523. See my post above

    Help given free on forums.            Fee-Based Personal Support & Help.        

    _______________________________________________________________________________________

    Plex Support Information              Troubleshooting               FAQs

    Plex Media Server:   Reporting Issues        Plex Web App: Debug Log    Plex Apps: Support pages and Logs    Logs: All Logs

    Please do not send logs by Private Message unless specifically requested to
     
  • panopticonpanopticon Posts: 4Members ✭✭

    For those getting a 103kpbs error on the Plex App on Roku, the following workaround may work:

    Running PMS on ubuntu server 16.04 --> streaming to Roku 2
    (103kbps error. Direct play working possibly. Transcodes not working. limited playback quality)

    1. Exit Plex Client App on Roku
    2. Start Roku Media Player
    3. Navigate to a movie in your Plex Media Server Library that gave 103kbps error.
    4. Play it in Roku Media Player
    5. If playback was successful, you can exit Roku Media Player.
    6. Go back to the Plex Client App, and hopefully now all playback and transcoding will be functioning.

    see: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1574061/#Comment_1574061
    another user verified this worked for them, and they posted their logs.

  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 30,912Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    @panopticon said:
    For those getting a 103kpbs error on the Plex App on Roku, the following workaround may work:

    Running PMS on ubuntu server 16.04 --> streaming to Roku 2
    (103kbps error. Direct play working possibly. Transcodes not working. limited playback quality)

    1. Exit Plex Client App on Roku
    2. Start Roku Media Player
    3. Navigate to a movie in your Plex Media Server Library that gave 103kbps error.
    4. Play it in Roku Media Player
    5. If playback was successful, you can exit Roku Media Player.
    6. Go back to the Plex Client App, and hopefully now all playback and transcoding will be functioning.

    see: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1574061/#Comment_1574061
    another user verified this worked for them, and they posted their logs.

    Are you actually saying that you still would get this error with the version of Plex Media Server (or later) that i mentioned earlier in this and the other thread ? 1.10.1.4561

    http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1572384/#Comment_1572384

    Help given free on forums.            Fee-Based Personal Support & Help.        

    _______________________________________________________________________________________

    Plex Support Information              Troubleshooting               FAQs

    Plex Media Server:   Reporting Issues        Plex Web App: Debug Log    Plex Apps: Support pages and Logs    Logs: All Logs

    Please do not send logs by Private Message unless specifically requested to
     
  • panopticonpanopticon Posts: 4Members ✭✭

    Forgot to add: I only had to do the above workaround once. Afterwards, playback issues were as normal, even after logging out, or restarting the server. I

  • panopticonpanopticon Posts: 4Members ✭✭

    Version 1.10.0.4523 here> @sa2000 said:

    @panopticon said:
    For those getting a 103kpbs error on the Plex App on Roku, the following workaround may work:

    Running PMS on ubuntu server 16.04 --> streaming to Roku 2
    (103kbps error. Direct play working possibly. Transcodes not working. limited playback quality)

    1. Exit Plex Client App on Roku
    2. Start Roku Media Player
    3. Navigate to a movie in your Plex Media Server Library that gave 103kbps error.
    4. Play it in Roku Media Player
    5. If playback was successful, you can exit Roku Media Player.
    6. Go back to the Plex Client App, and hopefully now all playback and transcoding will be functioning.

    see: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1574061/#Comment_1574061
    another user verified this worked for them, and they posted their logs.

    Are you actually saying that you still would get this error with the version of Plex Media Server (or later) that i mentioned earlier in this and the other thread ? 1.10.1.4561

    http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1572384/#Comment_1572384

    I am still running Version 1.10.0.4523, so I can't really say. I thought the 'channels' and 'IPTV' you mentioned were referring to a separate problem.

  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 30,912Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    There is evidence of it still happening in the logs here
    http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1574489/#Comment_1574489

    Help given free on forums.            Fee-Based Personal Support & Help.        

    _______________________________________________________________________________________

    Plex Support Information              Troubleshooting               FAQs

    Plex Media Server:   Reporting Issues        Plex Web App: Debug Log    Plex Apps: Support pages and Logs    Logs: All Logs

    Please do not send logs by Private Message unless specifically requested to
     
  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 30,912Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    I would like a sample file that is failing to transcode when streaming to roku on version 1.10.1.4602

    Help given free on forums.            Fee-Based Personal Support & Help.        

    _______________________________________________________________________________________

    Plex Support Information              Troubleshooting               FAQs

    Plex Media Server:   Reporting Issues        Plex Web App: Debug Log    Plex Apps: Support pages and Logs    Logs: All Logs

    Please do not send logs by Private Message unless specifically requested to
     
Sign In or Register to comment.