Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Master Edit Lock

gespensengespensen Members, Plex Pass Posts: 10 Plex Pass

First I really like Plex Server and I'm still learning the in's and outs. I have noticed the Sort Tag lock does not always work on some files. After saving the edited changes and reopening the edit GUI the lock is in place, but when I perform an for example just a Movie Update Libraries some of files just loose all their edited updates I just added. My video files all have enbedded metadata that I do myself, some times I do change the poster from the original and mostly change the sort tags. Yet some edits will not remember there settings or there just becoming unlocked somehow. This is why I think a Master Edit lock added to the edit GUI would be useful to lockout any changes the Plex Server would make trying to updated tags. Maybe I'm missing something, since I don't really know how the edited tags are house kept. Please consider this process improvement for your next release.

Tagged:

Best Answers

• OttoKernerOttoKerner Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 23,527 Plex Ninja
    Accepted Answer

@gespensen said:
    On your Statement of the NAS not being fast enough confuses me. How fast is enough?

That's not what I meant. When a NAS is spinning down its drives to save power, it may take too long to spin them back up when an access is made by Plex.

What would be the prefered Plex > Server > Network settings?

I'd disable support for IPv6 but leave everything else on defaults - unless a concrete issue requires a change there.

Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?
    Use the SEARCH function before starting a new thread!