If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

This Server is not powerful enough to convert video

BosuilBosuil Posts: 5Members Plex Pass

This Server is not powerful enough to convert video

I get this sinds I bought a Plex Pass, on the free mode it played all my video's.

Answers

  • spikemixturespikemixture Posts: 1,562Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    WhAt Drobo?
    What PMS version on Drobo??
    Are you talking exactly the same media b4 and after?
    What client?

    Plex related : NAS Qnap TVS-1282, (Plex server & main storage) Synology 1817+ (backup Plex server & backup storage), 2x NUC (Skull i7 , i5), Drobo 5N and 2 Nvidia Shield Pros (backup Plex servers)(2017 and 2015)
    Client hardware used or using - Shield 2015 pro and 2017 pro, ATV4, Xbox 360 and one, Fire stick and TV, windows PMP, Raspberry PI, Roku Stick, 3 and 4 plus several Android Phones and Tablets.

    I give MY opinion from MY experience!

    So much importance is put on the processing power of your PMS box.
    I say equal or more should be put on correctly formatting and optimizing your media !

  • BosuilBosuil Posts: 5Members Plex Pass

    Drobo 5N2 - version 1.5.6.3790

  • BosuilBosuil Posts: 5Members Plex Pass

    I play exactly the same media file as before!, on the free mode it played and on my Plex pass it played no more. (Weird)

  • spikemixturespikemixture Posts: 1,562Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @Bosuil said:
    I play exactly the same media file as before!, on the free mode it played and on my Plex pass it played no more. (Weird)

    Just one file won't play??
    I do hope that is not the issue?

    Also the latest version of PMS for drobo is 1.72!
    Any reason u have not tried that?

    Plex related : NAS Qnap TVS-1282, (Plex server & main storage) Synology 1817+ (backup Plex server & backup storage), 2x NUC (Skull i7 , i5), Drobo 5N and 2 Nvidia Shield Pros (backup Plex servers)(2017 and 2015)
    Client hardware used or using - Shield 2015 pro and 2017 pro, ATV4, Xbox 360 and one, Fire stick and TV, windows PMP, Raspberry PI, Roku Stick, 3 and 4 plus several Android Phones and Tablets.

    I give MY opinion from MY experience!

    So much importance is put on the processing power of your PMS box.
    I say equal or more should be put on correctly formatting and optimizing your media !

  • dontasciimedontasciime Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited June 2017

    del...............

  • moody_bluemoody_blue Posts: 3,221Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited June 2017

    Drobo 5N2 uses ARM processor therefore it should be expected that files requiring transcoding will not play, or play with interruptions. To analyze why PMS decided to transcode I need the following:

    1) Are you using a Plex or a DLNA client ? If Plex, name of the client, if DLNA, name of the equipment
    2) Mediainfo (better xml info) of the file that gives the message

    Transcoding is triggered by the client app and/or comparing mediainfo with profiles. It's true that profiles sometimes change with new PMS versions, new client versions may also change, so this explains why transcoding decisions may vary from one PMS (or client) version to another. The transcoding decision does not depend on having plex pass or not.

    QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.3.4.0569 + PMS 1.13.1.5063 + QPython2 2.7.12.0 + PlexConnect 0.6

    TV Sony KDL-32V2500 (720p) + aTV3 Rev. A firmware 7.2.2 + Denon AVR-1604 A/V Receiver 5.1 + Harmony Touch

    Portables 1x iPad4, 2x Android phone, 1x Android tablet, 2x PMP on Win10

    No support via PM unless requested by me

  • BosuilBosuil Posts: 5Members Plex Pass
    edited June 2017

    The Drobo 5N2 has a Quad Core 1.6Ghz CPU
    And 2 GB DDR3 memory

  • moody_bluemoody_blue Posts: 3,221Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited June 2017

    @Bosuil said:
    The Drobo 5N2 has a Quad Core 1.6Ghz CPU

    What matters for plex transcoding is the CPU architecture, which is ARM for the 5N2 (you should see this in the PMS logs, 1st and 3rd lines of the log). Transcoding in ARM is too slow when compared with Intel or AMD processors.

    QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.3.4.0569 + PMS 1.13.1.5063 + QPython2 2.7.12.0 + PlexConnect 0.6

    TV Sony KDL-32V2500 (720p) + aTV3 Rev. A firmware 7.2.2 + Denon AVR-1604 A/V Receiver 5.1 + Harmony Touch

    Portables 1x iPad4, 2x Android phone, 1x Android tablet, 2x PMP on Win10

    No support via PM unless requested by me

Sign In or Register to comment.