Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

F2-220

ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass
edited July 11 in TerraMaster

So I manage to get the enable button to go.. but when i click the link to the browser, it just goes dead. I have tried two computers and 2 different browsers but still not loading... Its the first time setup thats not loading properly..

Answers

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member

    I do not have access to one but have you gone through the steps here?

    https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/articles/115006771007-Install-Plex-Media-Server-on-a-TerraMaster-NAS

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass
    edited July 11

    Yup, first thing i did after I set up the nas. I get that part all done then when i click the link to the setup manager it doesn't load.

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member

    I'm sorry for taking basic steps here. The folks I need to talk to are several time zones away and asleep at the moment.

    1. uninstall PMS
    2. sign your browser out of plex.tv
    3. install PMS again. If it gives the option to start, let it start up.
    4. Go to the IP address of your NAS http://ip.addr.of.nas:32400/web
    5. You might hear the NAS still initializing
    6. It will greet you with the 'Got It' or the "Sign in" page. (I haven't seen the first-run wizard on it yet)
    7. You can skip through creating any libraries.
    8. The only imortant step here is to sign it and your browser back into your plex.tv account
    9. When you arrive at the Dashboard, then you can start creating libraries.

    If you can't get to the dashboard, somewhere in the file system you should find the Plex share or installation directories under where it keeps installed apps (QNAP keeps PMS under /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/qpkg/PlexMediaServer) so look for something like that.

    When you do find it, click into it until you find the Logs directory.

    Hopefully you can create a ZIP of the Logs directory in their file tool. If you can, please post it here and I'll do my best to figure out what PMS is complaining about and preventing you from advancing.

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    Well, i did that but can't seem to find the log files for it and I have googled but can't find any answer on that... It still says its running, but still wont load setup page. Might call it for tonight and start fresh in the morning..

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member

    I've been doing some digging as well.

    The ' start-stop-restart' controls are in /etc/init.d/plex . It responds to start, stop, restart, and status

    If you can get in on the command line, You can 'kick it' and see if there are any actual errors being printed out. This would help.

    Also, if no error come out.. then stop it

    Most likely in the root directory you'll find something Plex (PlexMediaServer for example)

    If you want to cat /etc/passwd and look for the plex line, you'll see the exact home directory where you'll find everything. PMS starts there, in its home directory and builds Plex Media Server and everything below it.

    This is also where it keeps all your metadata.

    To force a 'Fresh start'. in that directory you'll find Preferences.xml. Delete it (when PMS isn't running) then start PMS.
    This forces PMS re-run the setup wizard

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    Going to try that now, i found something related to plex using the cat command. Going to check it out now.

  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass
    edited July 12

    So i am in the plex directory through telnet... all i am seeing is tmp_transcoding.. Nothing else I have a feeling there should be more then that! I had to google commands for telnet. But once i figured out how to use the dang thing i managed to find the plex directory as stated above its just showing the file directories. I have managed to access the tmp_transcoding thing but there's more jibberish in this file then anything...

  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    OK so i have managed to find the directory in telnet where plex is installed.... It took a lot of digging around but I found it!

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member

    cat is the concatenate command . type was already used to show the contents of a file so cat filename "concatenate contents of file to screen" (strange)

    can you cd /etc/init.d then type ls?
    in it you'll find plex

    typing ./plex status will tell you its status. ./plex restart will restart it. This is where it will start printing out errors (after restart) directly to your telnet window.

    Anything that does get printed, please copy & paste into a reply here. (or a file you can attach if really long)

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:45.998 [0x7f6a99d25700] INFO - Plex Media Server v1.5.5.3634-995f1dead - TerraMaster x86_64 TOS-3.0.31 - build: linux-ubuntu-x86_64 terramaster - GMT -03:00
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:45.999 [0x7f6a99d25700] INFO - Linux version: 4.0.0 (#318 SMP Tue Apr 25 15:28:24 CST 2017), language: en-US
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:45.999 [0x7f6a99d25700] INFO - Processor Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU J1800 @ 2.41GHz
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:45.999 [0x7f6a99d25700] INFO - /usr/lib/plexmediaserver/Plex Media Server
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:45.997 [0x7f6aa6213800] DEBUG - BPQ: [Idle] -> [Starting]
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:46.011 [0x7f6aa6213800] DEBUG - Opening 20 database sessions to library (com.plexapp.plugins.library), SQLite 3.13.0, threadsafe=1
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:46.051 [0x7f6aa6213800] DEBUG - Running migrations.
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:46.051 [0x7f6aa6213800] ERROR - SQLITE3:0x10, 1, no such table: schema_migrations
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:46.052 [0x7f6aa6213800] ERROR - Database corruption: sqlite3_statement_backend::prepare: no such table: schema_migrations for SQL: select version from schema_migrations order by version
    Jul 12, 2017 11:30:46.052 [0x7f6aa6213800] ERROR - Error: Unable to set up server: sqlite3_statement_backend::prepare: no such table: schema_migrations for SQL: select version from schema_migrations order by version (N4soci10soci_errorE)


    I have managed to find my log files.. this is in Plex Media Server.log There is 1-5 on my server as well..

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member
    edited July 12

    I had not refreshed my screen. Please disregard my previous post here if you saw anything.

    That database is corrupted. (abrupt power off or failure)

    1. Uninstall PMS
    2. Restart the NAS
    3. Install PMS fresh
    4. open http://ip.of.terra.master:32400/web in your browser tab

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass
    edited July 12

    Did all that, tried clicking enabled on the app and it wont enable... DO you want me to copy the logs for this one?
    Side note I have got it enabled in the program but the client will still not load. I go to http://ip.of.nas:32400/web and it comes up Unable to connect
    Basically if you look at the plex tutorial page i am at the last step before i have to set it up for first time use...

  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:47.985 [0x7f29da013700] INFO - Plex Media Server v1.5.5.3634-995f1dead - TerraMaster x86_64 TOS-3.0.31 - build: linux-ubuntu-x86_64 terramaster - GMT -03:00
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:47.985 [0x7f29da013700] INFO - Linux version: 4.0.0 (#318 SMP Tue Apr 25 15:28:24 CST 2017), language: en-US
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:47.986 [0x7f29da013700] INFO - Processor Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU J1800 @ 2.41GHz
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:47.986 [0x7f29da013700] INFO - /usr/lib/plexmediaserver/Plex Media Server
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:47.946 [0x7f29e639e800] DEBUG - BPQ: [Idle] -> [Starting]
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:48.211 [0x7f29e639e800] DEBUG - Opening 20 database sessions to library (com.plexapp.plugins.library), SQLite 3.13.0, threadsafe=1
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:48.324 [0x7f29e639e800] DEBUG - Running migrations.
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:48.324 [0x7f29e639e800] ERROR - SQLITE3:0x10, 1, no such table: schema_migrations
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:48.426 [0x7f29e639e800] ERROR - Database corruption: sqlite3_statement_backend::prepare: no such table: schema_migrations for SQL: select version from schema_migrations order by version
    Jul 12, 2017 12:33:48.426 [0x7f29e639e800] ERROR - Error: Unable to set up server: sqlite3_statement_backend::prepare: no such table: schema_migrations for SQL: select version from schema_migrations order by version (N4soci10soci_errorE)

    Seems to be same error, Unsure as to why it won't start. I got this nas for the fact it can run plex, can transcode up to 720p.. which is all i require but starting to regret this purchase!

  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    I am starting to wonder if it has permission to write to the root folder... Cause when i try to delete the db files its permission denied and I am in the admin account.

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Posts: 14,424 Plex Team Member

    You would get error 13 "Permission denied" if Plex can't write to its own directory.

    Root installs it and it runs as its own user (or admin) in its own account name.

    I've since chatted with the Dev who works on TerraMaster. He's going to push an update to them. You should not be on such an old version.

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support forums: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility List

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements | Linux Tips

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass
    edited July 12

    awesome! thank you, going to stop for now until the update goes live and Play some subnautica... lol

  • ElluriaElluria Members, Plex Pass Posts: 12 Plex Pass

    So unsure as to what the heck i did... but its working now... i deleted 3 files and reloaded it and for some reason it started working.. lol

Sign In or Register to comment.