If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

.SSA/.ASS Subtitles

NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Hello,

I know Plex will play plain text .SRT subtitles without transcoding.
Do .SSA/.ASS subtitles with embedded fonts need transcoding?

Thanks.

Tagged:

Comments

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 6,975Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    On most devices - yes.
    As do most image based subs - whatever they are.

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://mkvxstream.blogspot.com/2014/09/roku-plex-setup-guide.html ) Link May Work - May Not

  • NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Okay, thanks.
    So will ssa sub's without embedded fonts need transcode aswell?

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 6,975Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    If it's an image based sub - yes.

    Apparently it's easy to overlay a text sub on the video.
    An image has to be burned in.

    Some devices/clients may be able to handle those without transcoding - Shield/PMP may, don't know really - but most devices will require a transcode for image based subs.

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://mkvxstream.blogspot.com/2014/09/roku-plex-setup-guide.html ) Link May Work - May Not

  • NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Awesome. Mine are not image based. Just plain text with a little formatting- font size and a big increase border around the words but no special placing on the screen.

  • OttoKernerOttoKerner Posts: 26,334Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja

    SSA subs are text-based.
    But the format is very powerful. It supports colorization of every letter, color gradients, drop shadows, animation with transitional effects and more.
    So parser needs to be very powerful. The little JavaScript library which is used by most clients for subtitle rendering is not able to render that.
    The one in the web app supports ass subs with all formatting stripped away - which yields often bizarre results when playing Anime, which often use the special abilities of the ASS format very heavily.
    Real ASS support is only available in PMP and OpenPHT/Kodi - and the Plex transcoder.

    Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?
    Use the SEARCH function before starting a new thread!
    No PMs unless requested, please! Do not use 'verbose' logging
  • NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yeah.. To bad. It seems that the video DOES get transcoded from little as font size and adding a thicker border. That sucks.

  • OttoKernerOttoKerner Posts: 26,334Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited August 28

    [edit] the following post has been posted to the Tips & Tricks forum in an extended version: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/284922/customizing-subtitle-appearance-in-plex-media-player-pmp

    If you use PMP, you can tune the subtitles to your liking.
    The AV engine in PMP (MPV) supports a lot of parameters.

    Create a text file named mpv.conf beside the plexmediaplayer.conf file.

    Now we add the line
    --sub-border-size=6
    to it, which defines the border around subtitles to be 6 pixels thick

    Normally, this option doesn't apply to ASS subtitles, because they define their own border style. If you want to treat ASS subs with the same black border, you need additionally the line --sub-ass-force-margins

    now, whe're adding the line
    --sub-bold=yes

    and now --sub-spacing=1

    Don't mind the black borders on top and bottom of the picture, my screen is 1200 pixels high, instead of 1080.

    Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?
    Use the SEARCH function before starting a new thread!
    No PMs unless requested, please! Do not use 'verbose' logging
  • NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Thanks, but I don't use PMP. I have a Roku. But yeah, the last pic above is very close to what I see. Mine is a bit bigger and thicker. HA!! I crack myself up!!

  • JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 6,975Members ✭✭✭✭✭

    Roku will also let you 'customize' subs - to some degree.
    In the 'Captions' area off of Settings from the Main Roku Menu.

    Tony

    FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

    Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot

    Plex Friendly Handbrake Guide - DVDs/BluRays: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/comment/1335697/#Comment_1335697

    Plex Clients: AFTVs, Androids, PMP, Rokus (running RARflix: http://mkvxstream.blogspot.com/2014/09/roku-plex-setup-guide.html ) Link May Work - May Not

  • NewPlazaNewPlaza Posts: 930Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited August 26

    @JuiceWSA said:
    Roku will also let you 'customize' subs - to some degree.
    In the 'Captions' area off of Settings from the Main Roku Menu.

    Yeah, I was hoping that all could be done without any manual setting changes and such. Afterall, I do way to much manual crap outside of Plex I really don't want to start doing the same within Plex. But that's nice to know if I really have a need.

  • OttoKernerOttoKerner Posts: 26,334Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited August 26

    @NewPlaza said:
    Yeah, I was hoping that all could be done without any manual setting changes and such. Afterall, I do way to much manual crap outside of Plex I really don't want to start doing the same within Plex. But that's nice to know if I really have a need.

    I understand Roku wants to centralize these settings. So even if Plex wanted to incorporate these settings into the Plex channel, it isn't allowed to do so by Roku.

    Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?
    Use the SEARCH function before starting a new thread!
    No PMs unless requested, please! Do not use 'verbose' logging
Sign In or Register to comment.