Hey folks, there is a new Podcast category for forums https://forums.plex.tv/categories/podcasts
If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Roku Ultra - Any disadvantages?

brawnybrawny Posts: 3Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

I've been using Plex now for a few years primarily with an Amazon Fire TV. Plex server is running Ubuntu with ~ 9TB of media (12 TB including audio). I have a Netflix account, and Amazon Prime but as I'm in Canada, Prime doesn't work on my Fire TV. :-/ (Long, horrible story...)

I'm looking at getting a second player for a second TV, and can get a new Roku Ultra at a discounted price. ($89 CAD, or ~$70 USD).

Wondering if there are any reasons not to buy this device as a player? I see lots of comments that Roku is stable and robust, but slightly behind the curve sometimes on new functionality. Not looking for anything bleeding edge - just want to make sure I'm not spending money on something that's inferior, or on the fast track to being obsolete...

Thanks for your opinions!
Brawny

Tagged:

Comments

• JuiceWSAJuiceWSA Posts: 7,995Members ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2017

Apart from these 235 pages?
    https://forums.roku.com/search.php?keywords=roku+ultra&sid=d824033f97bebfe59e65051e4d5fa330
    Naw, looks good.... (LOL)

All of those posts aren't problems, but a whole LOT of them are.

Tony

FileBot For Easy Plex File Naming: http://www.filebot.net/

Automated Plex Naming With Filebot: https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/191687/plex-naming-schemes-for-filebot