If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex corrupting movie files.

jayb3369jayb3369 Posts: 7Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

I'm new to this whole Plex thing. I have been using iTunes and AppleTV, and a friend asked me about Plex so since I was needing a upgraded router anyway, I bought the Nighthawk X10. Getting Plex up and running was a piece of cake. But after a couple days, I believe the Plex scanning process is corrupting some of the movie files. Certain files, some ripped from DVD, others from blu ray, are suddenly corrupted so that the bit rate, resolution and codec are unknown. Plex and iTunes both can't play the file. One particular file, ripped from blu ray, I reripped. and 12 hours later, after one or more Plex scans, it was corrupted again. Also when bringing up the file info in iTunes, the title, director, genre and some other fields are greyed out and cannot be edited. This is not the case with uncorrupted files.