If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex for Samsung Tizen (3.2.2) not displaying videos Aspect Ratio correctly

Oh dear, version 3.1.0 was great but the latest 3.2.2 released this week is not displaying widescreen videos correctly.

I am no expert but I am guessing the aspect ratio is not being interpreted properly.

Certain videos (I can give you details of the MP4 file) that should be 16:9 or 2.35:1 are now appearing 'squashed in' from the sides.

I'll leave that one with you developers!

Ubuntu Server 16.04.3 LTS
Quad Core 4.3Ghz CPU with 16Gb RAM
Plex Media Server
Plex for Android 6.12.0
Samsung UE49KU6400 with Plex 3.2.2 (was 3.0.10)

• morkboy_wondermorkboy_wonder Posts: 12Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

I have the exact same problem. Getting round it by disabling direct play and direct stream. Far from ideal

• SapphireIanSapphireIan Posts: 2Members

Same for me here, it's happening on every .mkv file I've tried, everything looks 4:3. Works fine on Android.

• thebouncingballthebouncingball Posts: 2Validating, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Yep i found out last night when getting ready to chill and watch a film all files shown in 4:3 and on a 65" curved TV it was just terrible :(. Any updates on a fix?

• _Alasdair__Alasdair_ Posts: 3Members

I spotted this issue the day after an update to 3.2.2

Tizen : 2.4.0
    Plex for Samsung : 3.2.2
    Updated : 2018-02-08