Hey folks, there is a new Podcast category for forums https://forums.plex.tv/categories/podcasts
If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

DS918+ with 4 gig ram, at 97% cpu transcoding one MKV?????

nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
edited March 16 in Synology

Hi,

I have a serious problem. I setup an account wityh Plex. When I play the films in the web player and through the Plex Media Server app on the sonology, It's all fluent. But watching it on my Sony XE90 TV either through the android plex app or chromecasting from web to TV, It buffers every 4 seconds and is unusable.

1Gbit internal LAN, everything wired.

And it is: H264 converting to H264 and audio??

If it is H264 why convert it?

When I play through plex web browser: everything is good:

I don't get it!!! The DS981+ is suppoed to be good for plex... Do the files need to be optimized, everything single one of them???

Best Answer

  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 16 Accepted Answer

    I think I** fixed** it:

    I've been using powerline adapters all the time and, at the time of purchase, couldn't find a free wall outlet for them, so i plugged them** into power strips**. Now into wall outlets, which seems to have solved the issue. Star Wars IV buffered two times within 7 minutes, however, I believe it is now a mattert of matching H264 stranscoding qaulity and speed to best fit my DS918+ (4 GB ram). :)

«1

Answers

  • trumpy81trumpy81 Posts: 11,041Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja

    First of all, you do not have a Plex Pass so you cannot take advantage of Hardware Acceleration. Secondly, without Hardware Acceleration your CPU usage is going to be very high.

    In fact I am surprised you can transcode the file at all without Hardware Acceleration, although parameter correction does not require as much CPU power as a full on transcode would.

    H.264 to H.264 is usually performed because the file parameters are outside of the clients capabilities and must be corrected in order for playback.

    You have two options, re-encode the file using acceptable parameters or purchase a Plex Pass and enable Hardware Acceleration in Plex settings > server > transcoder. You will also need to install the 64bit version of Plex on your NAS.

    See Q3 on the Synology FAQ's page, link in my signature.

    For re-encoding the file, I recommend using HandBrake (free for PC/Mac) or any similar software. The preferred format is MP4 H.264/AAC or AVC/AAC as this is the most compatible format across the most devices.

    If using HandBrake, start with the Fast 1080p 30 preset and enable Web Optimised. On the Video tab, enable Fast Decode. The rest of the settings should be fine so do not play with them. Do check that the Audio, Subtitle and Chapter tabs are to your liking though.

    Regards,
    Andy M.

    My Equipment: Synology DS1813+ | Panasonic TH-L42ET60A & TH-55DX600U | Windows 10 Professional 64Bit PC's | Raspberry Pi 2's & Odroid C2 with OpenPHT


    Device Profiles | File Naming in Plex | NAS - Plex Compatibility Guide | What CPU does my NAS have | Synology FAQ's page | Tips & Tricks
  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I installed Plex from package center and then did the manual update- shouldn't it be 64 bit then?

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member
    edited March 5
    1. Plex, downloaded from Synology in Package Center is 32 bits only. They do not provide the 64 bit version. Performing manual install from Plex, if you selected it, is the 64 bit version.
    2. Hardware transcoding requires an active Plex Pass subscription to enable.

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • mervincmmervincm Posts: 80Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Synology, unfortunately, is VERY slow at updating the plex package they host. I always grab mine straight from plex themselves. More recent versions have a feature that helps you keep it up to date. When you open your plex server in a web client as yourself, it adds a banner to the top if there is a newer version available. The banner includes a link to the exact file you want. Then you just do a manual package install on top of the current version, very quick and simple to do.

    Xpenology NAS on Lenovo TS140 Quad Xeon, 32GB 4x6TB WD RED 10 Gigabit Ethernet
  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    May I have your log files please? Settings - Server - Help - Download Logs

    Please attach the ZIP file.

    I suspect you're seeing two smaller issues compounding each other

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Ahh, then I installed the 32 bit and upgraded with the 64 bit directly from Plex. I can imagine that this would cause problems.

    Regarding the transcoding, before I signed I used DS Video Station WITH hardware transcoding enabled but this didn’t seem to help.

    I’ll try and fix the log files for you, and I’ll install the 64 bit vers. as well.

  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @ChuckPA said:
    May I have your log files please? Settings - Server - Help - Download Logs

    Please attach the ZIP file.

    I suspect you're seeing two smaller issues compounding each other

  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I used MAKEMKV to rip the files. Didn't change anything except selecting the sound tracks and subtitles that I wanted. Otherwise left it untouched. What is it that Plex doesn't like here? I used MAKEMKV to keep the digital copies lossless.

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    Please, for future reference Do not enable VERBOSE logging until requested it makes my job much more difficult and information is often lost. VERBOSE outputs information on every single mouse click and streamed packet. WAY too much information at this level of diagnosis

    May I have the XML for the file? (Hover over it - > Get Info -> View XML)

    If this is the file you're attempting to play, here's why

    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.577 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Selected protocol dash; container: mp4
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.577 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: analyzing media item 943
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Casino Royale (2006): Direct Play is disabled
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Casino Royale (2006): media must be transcoded in order to use the dash protocol
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Casino Royale (2006): no direct play video profile exists for http/mkv/h264
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Casino Royale (2006): no direct play video profile exists for http/mkv/h264/dca
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Cannot direct stream audio stream due to codec dca when profile only allows aac
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.578 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - MDE: Casino Royale (2006): selected media 0 / 943
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.579 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Added session %p:ea3xmpwsbe7iliw82kjlkkv9
    Mar 06, 2018 09:29:31.579 [0x7f6bb5959700] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Reached Decision id=697 codes=(General=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK. Direct Play=3000,App cannot direct play this item. Direct play is disabled. Transcode=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK.) media=(id=943 part=(id=963 decision=transcode container=mp4 protocol=dash streams=(Video=(id=1871 decision=copy width=1920 height=1080) Audio=(id=1872 decision=transcode bitrate=256 encoder=aac channels=2 rate=48000))))
    

    The player app is stereo and not multi-channel.
    MDE: Cannot direct stream audio stream due to codec dca when profile only allows aac

    1. It must convert the audio
    2. It must convert the MKV -> MP4
    3. If there are subtitles (which I cannot see here yet), they must be processed (why I need the XML)

    You do not have an active Plex Pass and can't use hardware transcoding. This looks like more work than the CPU is capable of. (BIG problem on all Synology systems, including mine)

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • vkovalvkoval Posts: 4Members ✭✭

    Hi, what does 'profile' mean in the sentence you showed?
    Can that profile be found on Plex server?
    Can I modify it to update relations between what TV can receive and Plex can provide to decrease amount of cases where "item is not playable because server is not powerful enough".

    If I improve rules for Plex Transcode I guess it will give some positive result.

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    What that shows me is there are no defined conditions (video + audio = DirectPlay on your device) as part of the first level decision.
    Plex apps can, and do, add additional capabilities when they detect them .

    An good example of this is an AppleTV 4K connected to a 2K (1080P) television and another connected to a 4K (2160P) television and you wanting to play 4K on both

    Both apps start up. One sees 1080p and the other sees 2160p capability.

    When you go to play, PMS looks at the ATV profile and says "No 4K capability found" but, since there's a 4K TV connected, the app comes back with "4K capable". PMS takes this profile augmentation information and comes to the final decision. When there is profile augmentation such as this, it will show in the log. I didn't find it in your logs.

    Regarding modifying profiles:

    You can take the existing Plex template profiles (under Resources/Profiles, which you'll have to go into the @appstore on the command line level to get to and copy somewhere for editing), find the one which fits best, and start editing. When done, it will be placed in Plex/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/Profiles with the name for your TV (Sony.xml and in the device identifier ). Be advised, figuring out the name is hit or miss and usually takes a bit of experimentation. Each time you change the profile, you must restart PMS (Profiles are loaded into memory upon first use).

    Cautions:

    1. The Sony can't handle DirectPlay. There are several models which can't (Audio codec)
    2. Running PMS w/ transcoding in 4GB on a Syno is getting tight on memory especially if running other things. It works a lot better with 8GB. If you had a Plex Pass, your CPU load would drop to ~25-30% instantly for all but HEVC UHD (some hover around 50% for that). Many users have found 8GB to be the sweet spot for Hardware Transcoding on Synology.

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Still no luck with the Blu-rays I ripped to MKV using MakeMKV. Not even with a press pass and hw transcoding (I signed up for a free month of plex Pass. Playing a 19 GB MKV file of Despecialized Star Wars A New Hope with flawlessly, though.

    I’m scraping my hair as to why MakeMKV would, by default, generate MKV files incompatible with streaming services / programs. What on Earth is that makes an MKV H264 incompatible with Synology Video Station and Plex when a Handbraked lossy vers. Works???

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    Synology's Video Station is now an EOL product. It never could do what Plex can.

    If you signed up for Plex Pass, I do not see it as active.
    After signing up, did you sign the server out and back in to activate it?

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    This is the media info I get from VLC wehern both videos are played: Looks I dentical to me:



  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @ChuckPA said:
    Synology's Video Station is now an EOL product. It never could do what Plex can.

    If you signed up for Plex Pass, I do not see it as active.
    After signing up, did you sign the server out and back in to activate it?

    Yes, as seen in the screen shot...

  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    excellent. thank you. at some point, you will want to sign out of the forum and back in there too. It will give you access to the Plex Pass section of the forum.

    In Settings - Server - Transcoder, you enabled Use hardware acceleration when available

    There is one established issue with Synology. It is trivial to fix

    If DSM is updated after Plex is installed, it erases the hardware settings I establish for hardware transcoding.
    The correction for this is simple. It does not harm your library (metadata) in any way.
    Uninstall Plex in Package Center
    Reinstall Plex (using Manual Install) again.

    This works because I write the rules each time I install. I assume nothing and write them regardless. If they exist, I update them

    Now you can try hardware transcoding again for H.264 video.

    If you still have difficulty, Stop playback, Settings - Server - Help - Download Logs and attach the ZIP file it gives you here with your next post

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    How do I disable the Verbose?

  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    This is a screen shot from my resource manager when trying to, unsucessfully, play the Blu-Ray MKV of a New Hope:

    Hardly taxing, I'd say....

  • nicolaidenmarknicolaidenmark Posts: 23Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
  • ChuckPAChuckPA Posts: 22,836Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja, Plex Team Member Plex Team Member

    I'm looking at your logs. They're spotless.

    Would you please consider trying this on any other playback device, including a web browser?

    We need something to compare against.

    Please DISABLE Verbose logging until requested

    Please search before posting

    Primary support: Linux, Synology, and QNAP

    Please remember to report back. This benefits others.

    Useful links

     Installation and Basic Setup |  Media Preparation (How to name your media files)  |  Linux Permissions 

     Handling TV Specials | Handling Movie extras  |  Nas Compatibility

     Reporting Plex Server issues | Plex Media Server FAQ | Linux Tips

     

    Other useful guides: Local Subtitles | The Plex "dance" | Synology FAQ | PMS Release Announcements

    Hosts: Fedora, QNAP, Synology, most Linux distros in VM

    No technical support via PM unless offered

    Please remember to mark the appropriate answer(s) which solved your issue.

     
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.