If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

New user question - does plexkodiconnect support external media players from within KODI

I am very new to PLEX and Plexkodiconnect - PKC and I have a few questions.

I have used KODI for many years and have everything setup the way I like it -- but before I try PKC and PLEX media server I would like to clarify a few things. My usage will be for remote access to my KODI library when away from home (which can be for a number of weeks at a time).

1. When connected to the PLEX Media Server from a remote location does PKC use SSL - and does this mean the SSL connection prevents anyone from monitoring the the stream I am playing in KODI application on my remote machine via PKC?

2. I understand that for remote access to work that a port is opened at home on my PLEX server machine (Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit) but a new or extra port does not need to be opened on my internet router - the existing internet router ports are OK

3. Is PLEX remote access via PKC to KODI on a remote machine (Lap Top also running Win 7 32 bit) comparable with Windows firewall at both ends -- that is the firewall running on the PLEX server machine at home and the firewall running on the PKC remote lap top?