Hey folks, there is a new Podcast category for forums https://forums.plex.tv/categories/podcasts
If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Finding the video source URL

ChrisTarczonChrisTarczon Posts: 160Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
I've had limited XPath / Python experience but I thought I'd jump into some existing code and see if I could get a hand on things. I was going to try a plugin for South Park Studios but I can't find the SWF that Plex would need. I just want to get a hard coded one playing before I dig in to parsing episodes and seasons.

The closest URL I could find to an actual episode is this. I'm not sure that would be the right thing anyway since you need to click Play for it to start. Given that URL, Plex logs "Compressed SWF format not supported." It seems like that file may just be a pointer to the actual video. Are some sites just not going to work with this or am I missing something? (I'm assuming the latter!)

Comments

• jamjam Plex Dev Team Posts: 4,303Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    You may want to choose a site other than South Park Studios, it could end up being wasted effort in a few days time... ;)
  • elanelan CTO and Co-founder MauiPosts: 6,981Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    I know what it looks like, we're big plug-in hogs...We can't help it, they're easy, fun, and addictive to write :)

instagram @elan // the wife's photography site.
    the Medium page // the dog's twitter feed.

• FinxFinx Posts: 38Members
    elan wrote on Feb 26 2009, 10:35 AM: