Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex for WP8 - Third party client

foxingworthfoxingworth Posts: 26Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Like many of you, I am sad to see that the WP7 Plex client is in such a neglected state. I am a developer however, and after looking over the Plex API, I have decided to create my own third party client.

I just finished my proof-of-concept which signs into MyPlex, retrieves library information, and plays a transcoded video from the server. Now I will begin the long process of refining the interface and adding features (PlexSync is first on the list, if I can figure out how the API works for it  :) ).

What I'm looking for from you guys is what you are looking for in a Plex client. What do you like / not like about the WP7 client? I'll admit that I'm not the best with UI, so please provide some ideas on how you'd like the app to look. For those with the artistic touch, I'd love to see your mockups.

Note: This is not my full time job. I am serious about the project, but will only be able to work on it in my free time. When it is time to beta test, I will gladly recruit people from these forums, but please be patient if it takes me awhile to get to that stage.

Tagged:

Comments

• Jaap_van_EkrisJaap_van_Ekris Posts: 371Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

I personally like the look of the Windows 8 client. Especially the views with movie posters is pretty cool. What I really am missing is subtitles. I think that calling the right transcoder would suffice, but for many people it is needed.

There is another developer considering to work on a client: http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/64415-is-there-any-development-here/?p=450000. Sharing the load might be an option...

Jaap