Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex Media Server for Windows 7 won't connect to online control panel

bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
Hey everyone-

I've installed Plex media server on my windows 7 64bit pc, but whenever I right-click on the icon and select "configure plex media server" my computer won't connect to the online control panel. I just get a page in my browser saying "Google Chrome could not find localhost:32400", and this happens no matter which web browser I try. I know my ports are properly forwarded because I've got playon for android working perfectly. If anyone could offer me some help I'd appreciate it. Btw, I've already tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it a couple of times.

-bobofosho123 <_<
«1

Comments

  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    Can't a geek get some love up in here?
  • brent112brent112 Posts: 775Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited February 2011
    Have you tried connecting to the Media Manager from another PC on the same network, http://x.x.x.x:32400/manage? Of course replacing the x's with the IP address of the PC that Plex Media Server is running on?
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    brent112 wrote:

    Have you tried connecting to the Media Manager from another PC on the same network, http://x.x.x.x:32400/manage? Of course replacing the x's with the IP address of the PC that Plex Media Server is running on?


    Yeah, I already tried that, no luck at all. I can't figure this out for the life of me, I've be messing around with my router setting all morning trying to figure it out, but no dice.
  • mfeingolmfeingol Director of Engineering Posts: 5,034Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass Plex Employee
    Honestly, I'm not sure what to suggest. This feels like a networking problem.

    Does a simple HTTP GET on http://localhost:32400/ work? (Remember to view source to see the XML.) Can you telnet to that port from the same machine? Does localhost resolve via DNS on your computer? Does 127.0.0.1 or your actual LAN address work, instead of localhost? Have you tried with other browsers?
  • sander1sander1 Channel Developer/Admin Posts: 3,279Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    mfeingol wrote:

    Honestly, I'm not sure what to suggest. This feels like a networking problem.

    Does a simple HTTP GET on http://localhost:32400/ work? (Remember to view source to see the XML.) Can you telnet to that port from the same machine? Does localhost resolve via DNS on your computer? Does 127.0.0.1 or your actual LAN address work, instead of localhost? Have you tried with other browsers?

    Hi! I've got the exact same problem, running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. When PMS is running on Windows, I can see it in Bonjour Browser on a Mac, but I can't access localhost:32400 (/manage doesn't work, and I do not see XML output (checked the page source too)).
    It also doesn't work when I use 127.0.0.1 or the internal IP address of the machine. "localhost" isn't the problem, as other stuff that uses localhost for hostname works. I came accross a couple of errors in the system log file of Plex, it's attached to this post.
  • elanelan Sheriff of Plexville MauiPosts: 8,855Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    sander1 wrote:

    Hi! I've got the exact same problem, running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. When PMS is running on Windows, I can see it in Bonjour Browser on a Mac, but I can't access localhost:32400 (/manage doesn't work, and I do not see XML output (checked the page source too)).


    Sander, hit me up on IM, and let's figure this out :)
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    elan wrote:

    Sander, hit me up on IM, and let's figure this out :)


    Sweet....i'm hoping this get's fixed.
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    Anyone figure this out yet???
  • mwittmwitt Posts: 68Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Have you checked windows firewall settings on the machine running PMS?
  • elanelan Sheriff of Plexville MauiPosts: 8,855Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    I spent some time with Sander today, no luck. It would be great if everyone could chime in and help us collect data, e.g.:

    1) OS version (e.g. Windows 7 64 bit)
    2) Try hitting http://127.0.0.1:32400/ and see if that fails.
    3) Post other details (e.g. firewall off, wireless connection), etc.

    Thanks!
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    elan wrote:

    I spent some time with Sander today, no luck. It would be great if everyone could chime in and help us collect data, e.g.:

    1) OS version (e.g. Windows 7 64 bit)
    2) Try hitting http://127.0.0.1:32400/ and see if that fails.
    3) Post other details (e.g. firewall off, wireless connection), etc.

    Thanks!


    I'll be a little more specific about my connection:

    -Wireless
    -Firewall w/exception created for PMS
    -ports forwarded for PMS
    -windows 7 x64
    -tries to connect to http://localhost:32400/manage/ and browser gives "page not found" error
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    elan wrote:

    I spent some time with Sander today, no luck. It would be great if everyone could chime in and help us collect data, e.g.:

    1) OS version (e.g. Windows 7 64 bit)
    2) Try hitting http://127.0.0.1:32400/ and see if that fails.
    3) Post other details (e.g. firewall off, wireless connection), etc.

    Thanks!


    Just a suggestion, but you might wanna sticky this. just a thought though.
  • sander1sander1 Channel Developer/Admin Posts: 3,279Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    @bobofosho123: What firewall software do you use? Agnitum Outpost by any chance?
  • bobofosho123bobofosho123 Posts: 8Members
    sander1 wrote:

    @bobofosho123: What firewall software do you use? Agnitum Outpost by any chance?


    Nope not agnitum outpost, I just use the built-in on in windows, but I also have VIPRE antivirus, which has a firewall in it. I've added exceptions for plex media server in vipre so it shouldn't be a problem. Like I said earlier, playon for android works fine on my device, so I believe it's an issue with plex rather than my pc.
  • isylvioisylvio Posts: 1Members
    edited April 2011
    is there a solution for this problem?? Cause I also get this error!
  • samyboy89samyboy89 Posts: 1Members
    Replace localhost (http://localhost:32400/manage/) with your local IP address (cmd:ipconfig). And if you use Hamachi, you can use that IP as well, allowing you to use Plex anywhere you want. Hope this helps. It worked for me after having a similar problem.
  • SleepreaperSleepreaper Posts: 4Members
    edited May 2011
    Hi guys, Same here with the issue, I have a BT home hub, and used the DynDNS account. heres what i tried..

    I unblocked the ports 32400 and also on a wim unblocked my ports 80 for a web server. on mcaffee and my router.

    i then tried to access my account on the plex ios and found "Could not connect" so i tried the port 80 instead of the 32400 and guess what??? it connected straight away.. SO i know that my account and my passwords are correct.

    i then decided to delve a little deeper and used the Tools on the DynDNS account homepage and found my port 80 was open but my port 32400 wasnt although i set it up exactly the same as my 80 port.

    http://www.dyndns.com/support/tools/openport.html

    An attempted connection to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:32400 timed out. This typically indicates that traffic to that port is being actively blocked by either a firewall or your ISP.

    I did however have to create the 32400 port forwarding in my router and i used the option Any rather than UCP or TCP i will try just TCP and get back to you.

    Sleepreaper.

    Edit:
    :32400 is open and accepting connections. This indicates the port is not being blocked by either a firewall or your ISP and is currently operational.

    did this by adding a range 32400-32401 in both my router and my firewall.. however.. "cannot connect to the Server" still showing on the IOS... pulling hair out been at this for 4 hours...

    second edit 7 hours now and i have to go to work this SUCKS
  • dcmodderdcmodder Posts: 1Members
    edited May 2011
    ok so had this issue today and I think I may have found a fix.

    this step may not be necessary
    Started by uninstalling everything related to plex (plex, python, bonjourx64)
    fresh install with the latest version 0.9.2.7-2cffb6d

    :still no go:

    Then I noticed that users with winxp with ipv6 installed were having some issues connecting to the media manager as well so i disabled ipv6 in my local area connection properties (removed the check mark) and voilà able to connect and manage.

    hope this helps
  • SleepreaperSleepreaper Posts: 4Members
    Still no go for me i disabled ipv6 and still stuck,

    it works to perfection on other peoples computers but it wont work on the IOS whats the deal here?
  • jamesvdmjamesvdm Posts: 8Members
    I had this exact issue about a month ago and got it working with these steps -

    1. Uninstall PMS
    2. Search your drives for anything with the word 'plex'
    3. Delete everything it finds related to PMS
    4. Install PMS

    Crude I know, but it worked.
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.