Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

How Do You Remove TV Shows?

wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
0.9.2.7
I have Plex on Mac and on a PC. In the Mac I understand about the yellow arrows and all that to remove data. But for my Win7 machine I can't figure out how to remove media from the Media Manager. I've emptied the trash, set it it to auto-empty trash, double checked the source folder, but nothing works. Can anyone help please? Thanks.

Comments

  • tobeswsutobeswsu Posts: 2,878Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    wallix wrote:

    I have Plex on Mac and on a PC. In the Mac I understand about the yellow arrows and all that to remove data. But for my Win7 machine I can't figure out how to remove media from the Media Manager. I've emptied the trash, set it it to auto-empty trash, double checked the source folder, but nothing works. Can anyone help please? Thanks.

    Could you try a deep scan (alt+refresh) and see if that helps? I assume you've done regular refreshes already, but be aware that the windows version can't automatically detect folder changes yet so if you make any changes you have to manually refresh PMS. http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/25818-auto-detect-folder-change/

    Is this only with TV Shows or does this happen with movies too?
  • wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited April 2011
    JoToFoSho wrote:

    Could you try a deep scan (alt+refresh) and see if that helps? I assume you've done regular refreshes already, but be aware that the windows version can't automatically detect folder changes yet so if you make any changes you have to manually refresh PMS. http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/25818-auto-detect-folder-change/

    Is this only with TV Shows or does this happen with movies too?


    I haven't tried a movie yet. As far as I know it's just TV shows.

    I tried the deep refresh and the TV show is still there. I also tried those links in the other post you mentioned and it didn't remove it either.
  • tobeswsutobeswsu Posts: 2,878Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    wallix wrote:

    I haven't tried a movie yet. As far as I know it's just TV shows.

    I tried the deep refresh and the TV show is still there. I also tried those links in the other post you mentioned and it didn't remove it either.


    If you right-click and select "Reveal in Finder" (or "Reveal in Explorer", not sure if either one is in the windows version) what does it show?
  • wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    JoToFoSho wrote:

    If you right-click and select "Reveal in Finder" (or "Reveal in Explorer", not sure if either one is in the windows version) what does it show?


    There is no way to "Reveal in Finder" with the Windows version that I can see.
  • tobeswsutobeswsu Posts: 2,878Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    I was afraid of that. I couldn't find any posts stating that feature was missing in windows so I figured it was worth a shot.

    Maybe a screenshot of the media manager window and one of your folder structure would be helpful. Also if you could restart the PMS and do a deep scan of the tv section and post the resulting logs zipped up? ( %LOCALAPPDATA%\Plex Media Server\Logs )

    It seems several other people are having this problem with the mac version as well so there might be a bug. It might be easier to just do a complete reinstall in case something got corrupted.
  • wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    JoToFoSho wrote:

    I was afraid of that. I couldn't find any posts stating that feature was missing in windows so I figured it was worth a shot.

    Maybe a screenshot of the media manager window and one of your folder structure would be helpful. Also if you could restart the PMS and do a deep scan of the tv section and post the resulting logs zipped up? ( %LOCALAPPDATA%\Plex Media Server\Logs )

    It seems several other people are having this problem with the mac version as well so there might be a bug. It might be easier to just do a complete reinstall in case something got corrupted.


    pic1 is the offending TV show
    pic2 is what the actual directory looks like

    Here is the log after a deep scan:
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] INFO - Windows version 6.1 (Build 7601)
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] INFO - 4 3800 MHz processor(s): Architecture=0, Level=16, Revision=1027
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] INFO - PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=AMD64 Family 16 Model 4 Stepping 3, AuthenticAMD
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Opening database session to library, SQLite 3.6.23.1, threadsafe=1
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Printing PythonPath:
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Program Files (x86)/Plex/Plex Media Server/DLLs
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/Scanners.bundle/Contents/Resources/Music
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/Scanners.bundle/Contents/Resources/Movies
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/Scanners.bundle/Contents/Resources/Series
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/Scanners.bundle/Contents/Resources/Common
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Scanners/Music
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Scanners/Movies
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Scanners/Series
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:/Users/Wallycorn/AppData/Local/Plex Media Server/Scanners/Common
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server\python26.zip
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server\DLLs
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server\lib
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server\lib\plat-win
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server\lib\lib-tk
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - 	C:\Program Files (x86)\Plex\Plex Media Server
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Scanning TV with 2 current items in the database...
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Scanning X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Marking media not available in X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 2 items out of the map (which has 2 items) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 1 directories out of the map (which has 1 dirs) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -     * Taking directory '' (2) out of map.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Whacking 0 media items that were left.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Whacking 0 directories that were left.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG - Refreshing section 2 of type: 2
    
  • tobeswsutobeswsu Posts: 2,878Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Hmm, it looks like it's getting confused by the directory being empty and thus treats it like an unconnected drive. My understanding is that plex doesn't soft delete stuff if a network/external drive is disconnected.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Scanning X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Marking media not available in X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 2 items out of the map (which has 2 items) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 1 directories out of the map (which has 1 dirs) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -     * Taking directory '' (2) out of map.
    


    I wonder if will pick up that show as missing if you add a different series to that folder? Or even just an empty folder named anything other than the given show title? Seems like this is an edge case that probably wasn't tested. Make a section, scan it, and then delete all the shows in that section and then rescanning isn't a common occurrence and even if it was, simply deleting the section and making a new one would make more sense as you don't need to retain any metadata. So it might be a bug, but it doesn't sound like a very major one.
  • wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    JoToFoSho wrote:

    Hmm, it looks like it's getting confused by the directory being empty and thus treats it like an unconnected drive. My understanding is that plex doesn't soft delete stuff if a network/external drive is disconnected.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Scanning X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Marking media not available in X:/TV
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 2 items out of the map (which has 2 items) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -   * Taking 1 directories out of the map (which has 1 dirs) for being unavailable.
    Apr 27, 2011 20:41:28 [0000034C] DEBUG -     * Taking directory '' (2) out of map.
    


    I wonder if will pick up that show as missing if you add a different series to that folder? Or even just an empty folder named anything other than the given show title? Seems like this is an edge case that probably wasn't tested. Make a section, scan it, and then delete all the shows in that section and then rescanning isn't a common occurrence and even if it was, simply deleting the section and making a new one would make more sense as you don't need to retain any metadata. So it might be a bug, but it doesn't sound like a very major one.


    The TV show isn't really bothering me. It just bothers my OCD. Should I just wait for an update to the Windows PMS?
  • wallixwallix Posts: 76Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited April 2011
    OK, I removed a movie today from the source directory and it removed itself after I refreshed PMS. So to answer one of your original questions: yes, it appears to be only an issue with TV shows.

    Update: I made new dir on the external drive called "tv temp". Pointed PMS to that instead and it finally removed United States of Tara. I then pointed it back to the old dir and all is well now. Hope that helps the devs with the Windows/TV show bug.
  • tobeswsutobeswsu Posts: 2,878Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    wallix wrote:

    OK, I removed a movie today from the source directory and it removed itself after I refreshed PMS. So to answer one of your original questions: yes, it appears to be only an issue with TV shows.

    Update: I made new dir on the external drive called "tv temp". Pointed PMS to that instead and it finally removed United States of Tara. I then pointed it back to the old dir and all is well now. Hope that helps the devs with the Windows/TV show bug.

    If you could add a single show to that directory, have plex scan and find that show, and then delete that show and see if PMS doesn't remove it when rescanning to confirm that this is a bug with windows PMS that'd be helpful. If you do confirm a bug exists, create a ticket at https://plexapp.lighthouseapp.com. That would be really helpful to the devs. :) I attempted to do this last night on the mac version of PMS and it worked correctly but didn't have time to test on windows. Glad your library isn't 'polluted' anymore! :)
Sign In or Register to comment.