If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

'General' Channel Development Questions From A New Developer

digitalhighdigitalhigh Posts: 375Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Hi All!

As per @dane22 's suggestion, I'm taking a few questions I had for him in PM and posting them here, as I'm new to Channel development, but fairly versed in other projects.

Without further ado...

So, the plugin in question(s) are here:

https://github.com/d8ahazard/FlexTV.bundle/commit/8d3ed3c00a85a0dc6aeaeb66118e604b9bae59ed

1. I'd like it to use the PyChromeCast Library, which has it's own set of dependencies, etc. In my latest commit, I have taken and created the directory /Contents/Libraries/Shared under my project, placed in all the files pulled down by doing a pip install as directed in the PCC readme:

https://github.com/balloob/pychromecast

Yet when I try to access the plugin via URL, I see an error in the log about being unable to find pychromecast.

What am I doing wrong?

1. Is there a specific trick to forcing Plex to reload my code changes, or is it automagic every time I reload the endpoint?

2. One of the commands I'll need to do is to the /Devices endpoint. I see I can basically return a MediaContainer from the call, which is cool, because I'm already scraping Plex.tv for device listings.

Question being - is there some documentation on the containers I can return? Is it possible for me to return (more or less) the same structure as I'd find at Plex.tv/devices - so I can just add data from that URL to my existing parser for Plex.tv/devices?