Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Automatic router configuration?

pipenpipen Posts: 89Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
Hi,

So there is an option in the new PMS for OSX where I can choose 'Publish Server to myPlex'. When I enable it i get two error messages:

* Failed to map ports: 'IGD is not connected'
* There was an error publishing the server

Of course I could just set up the port forwarding manually, but I'm interested in the feature.

What routers have support for this automatic set up?

Thanks in advance.
«1

Comments

  • capemcmcapemcm Posts: 15Members
    pipen wrote:

    Hi,

    So there is an option in the new PMS for OSX where I can choose 'Publish Server to myPlex'. When I enable it i get two error messages:

    * Failed to map ports: 'IGD is not connected'
    * There was an error publishing the server

    Of course I could just set up the port forwarding manually, but I'm interested in the feature.

    What routers have support for this automatic set up?

    Thanks in advance.



    Hi

    I cannot seem to get it working and am not sure how to open the ports manually. Are there any good sites that teach you how to set this up?

    Thanks
  • mloureirojrmloureirojr Posts: 3Members
    I'm stucked too..When I choose to manually map ports it's says mapped to port 32400 but then it says cannot connect to myplex server
  • HookzHookz Posts: 23Members ✭✭
    same problem here
  • boots2xboots2x IP Challenged Ninja Posts: 1,184Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    It would be helpful if you post your Router brand and model. Also, there's some information up on the Wiki that may shed a little light on which Router protocols are required... basically NAT-PMP or uPnP. My router supports uPnP but it's old and crusty and basically doesn't work for any port-forwards. Yours may be similar.

    James
  • diamondswdiamondsw "Vitriolic yet well-intentioned" Posts: 847Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Time Capsule supports NAT-PMP but not UPnP - and myPlex did not configure it automatically (Mac OS X version). Manually specifying port 32400 worked fine. Oh, and I did delete the manual port mapping I previously had in place, so that shouldn't have affected it.

    Since myPlex only mentions UPnP, are we sure it supports NAT-PMP?
  • boots2xboots2x IP Challenged Ninja Posts: 1,184Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    I confirmed that both NAT-PMP and uPnP are supported. If these one of these don't work for you, please post your P:lex Media Server.log file.
    James
  • diamondswdiamondsw "Vitriolic yet well-intentioned" Posts: 847Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited October 2011
    boots2x wrote:

    I confirmed that both NAT-PMP and uPnP are supported. If these one of these don't work for you, please post your P:lex Media Server.log file.
    James


    I can get the entire file if needed, but here are the lines added when I attempt to let it automatically map the port:

    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xacb512c0] DEBUG - MyPlex: Toggling server publish state.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xacb512c0] DEBUG - NAT: Starting Mapping Thread.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xacb512c0] DEBUG - NAT: Randomized Mapping Port: 10563
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Switching to NAT-PMP strategy.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Initializing NAT-PMP, success=1
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Finding public address from NAT-PMP.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Finished NAT-PMP request, result was: Not Supported by gateway
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Found public address (success=0): 0.0.0.0
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Finding public address failed the first way, switching.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:11 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Switching to UPnP strategy.
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:23 [0xb0289000] DEBUG - NAT: Initialized UPnP, result: UPnP Discovery failed!
    Oct 31, 2011 05:29:23 [0xb0289000] ERROR - NAT: Mapping failed (UPnP Discovery failed!)
    


    I know that the Time Capsule (2006) supports NAT-PMP and it's enabled (see attachment).
  • GianoGiano Posts: 2Members
    Same for me.
    My router (a Belkin) supports UPNP and I can't manage to connect to myPlex.
    I previously managed to enablea remote access using dyndns and a port mapping but now it seems to have problems connecting to it either.
    It doesn't accept my credentials.
    I disabled them, and now it prompts for them the same, and no access.
    Locked out.

    I can send logs if you want.
  • boots2xboots2x IP Challenged Ninja Posts: 1,184Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    Diamondsw and Giano,

    Are the routers you mention here the only NAT routers on your network? This may also fail if there are 2 routers acting as NAT devices.

    James
  • diamondswdiamondsw "Vitriolic yet well-intentioned" Posts: 847Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    boots2x wrote:

    Diamondsw and Giano,

    Are the routers you mention here the only NAT routers on your network? This may also fail if there are 2 routers acting as NAT devices.

    James


    Yup, clean network here - no ugliness like double-NAT. I run a flat 10.* space with DHCP reservations for static addressing that's easy on laptops. :)
  • OlivHKOlivHK Posts: 2Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Hi,

    I have the exact same problem, the weird thing is that I had no problem with the previous version of Plex. I had setup the port mapping on my router and could access my server from outside my network (e.g. via Plex for IOS). After upgrading to the new version of Plex this port mapping does not work any more. Here are my logs, I deleted the IP address and user name in the log, but I noticed that the IP address is actually incorrect, I don't know if this as anything to do with my problem.

    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:09 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - MyPlex: Setting manual port mode to 1.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:09 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - NAT: Setting manual port mode: 1
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - MyPlex: Toggling server publish state.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - NAT: Starting Mapping Thread.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xb0207000] INFO - NAT: Mapping changed :0 -> :0
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - HTTP request to: http://my.plexapp.com/pms/:/ip
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Got public IP from http://my.plexapp.com/pms/:/ip => "deleted"
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - It took 0.001127 sec to serialize a list with 4 elements.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Sending Server Info to myPlex (user="deleted", ip="deleted", port=32400)
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - HTTP request to: https://my.plexapp.com/servers.xml?auth_token=ZxDWJyGHi1x0xEcx69Tz
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Published Mapping State <--- 422
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] WARN - MyPlex: Invalid response when mapping state (code=422):<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <MediaContainer size="4">
    <Server name="MacServer" host="" address="deleted" port="32400" machineIdentifier="60a4a8ad20fc2d89acd6851c2e936e23b69a347d" version="0.9.5.0-dc1de23" />
    <Directory key="4" type="show" title="Cartoons" art="/:/resources/show-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.thetvdb" scanner="Plex Series Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015384">
    <Location path="/Volumes/_Cartoons" />
    </Directory>
    <Directory key="1" type="movie" title="Movies" art="/:/resources/movie-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.imdb" scanner="Plex Movie Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015415">
    <Location path="/Volumes/Macintosh HD2/_Movies" />
    <Location path="/Volumes/_Movies" />
    </Directory>
    <Directory key="2" type="show" title="TV Shows" art="/:/resources/show-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.thetvdb" scanner="Plex Series Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015420">
    <Location path="/Users/Administrator/Movies/_TV_Shows" />
    </Directory>
    </MediaContainer>
    
    
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <errors>
      <error>Address could not be reached on port 32400</error>
    </errors>
    
  • sdrieghe@gmail.comsdrieghe@gmail.com Posts: 7Members ✭✭
    OlivHK wrote:

    Hi,

    I have the exact same problem, the weird thing is that I had no problem with the previous version of Plex. I had setup the port mapping on my router and could access my server from outside my network (e.g. via Plex for IOS). After upgrading to the new version of Plex this port mapping does not work any more. Here are my logs, I deleted the IP address and user name in the log, but I noticed that the IP address is actually incorrect, I don't know if this as anything to do with my problem.

    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:09 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - MyPlex: Setting manual port mode to 1.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:09 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - NAT: Setting manual port mode: 1
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - MyPlex: Toggling server publish state.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xad19a2c0] DEBUG - NAT: Starting Mapping Thread.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:12 [0xb0207000] INFO - NAT: Mapping changed :0 -> :0
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - HTTP request to: http://my.plexapp.com/pms/:/ip
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Got public IP from http://my.plexapp.com/pms/:/ip => "deleted"
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - It took 0.001127 sec to serialize a list with 4 elements.
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:13 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Sending Server Info to myPlex (user="deleted", ip="deleted", port=32400)
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - HTTP request to: https://my.plexapp.com/servers.xml?auth_token=ZxDWJyGHi1x0xEcx69Tz
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] DEBUG - MyPlex: Published Mapping State <--- 422
    Nov 01, 2011 07:31:17 [0xb0207000] WARN - MyPlex: Invalid response when mapping state (code=422):<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <MediaContainer size="4">
    <Server name="MacServer" host="" address="deleted" port="32400" machineIdentifier="60a4a8ad20fc2d89acd6851c2e936e23b69a347d" version="0.9.5.0-dc1de23" />
    <Directory key="4" type="show" title="Cartoons" art="/:/resources/show-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.thetvdb" scanner="Plex Series Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015384">
    <Location path="/Volumes/_Cartoons" />
    </Directory>
    <Directory key="1" type="movie" title="Movies" art="/:/resources/movie-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.imdb" scanner="Plex Movie Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015415">
    <Location path="/Volumes/Macintosh HD2/_Movies" />
    <Location path="/Volumes/_Movies" />
    </Directory>
    <Directory key="2" type="show" title="TV Shows" art="/:/resources/show-fanart.jpg" agent="com.plexapp.agents.thetvdb" scanner="Plex Series Scanner" language="en" updatedAt="1320015420">
    <Location path="/Users/Administrator/Movies/_TV_Shows" />
    </Directory>
    </MediaContainer>
    
    
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <errors>
      <error>Address could not be reached on port 32400</error>
    </errors>
    



    Same problem here. I can't connect from outside the network.

    I've forwarded the port but still get : myplex was unable to connect to your server
  • lxbplxbp Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass
    I am having the same issues, at first got connected to port 32400 but then tells me that it cant publish server. Now it says its not an IGD device.... i have a brand new router with extensions around the house. Also <i have 2 accounts registered. Can someone recommend me the best way to configure my routers so it wont affect myplex sharing... ç

    thanks.
  • david.roethlindavid.roethlin Posts: 3Members, Plex Pass
    edited November 2011
    lxbp wrote:

    I am having the same issues, at first got connected to port 32400 but then tells me that it cant publish server. Now it says its not an IGD device.... i have a brand new router with extensions around the house. Also <i have 2 accounts registered. Can someone recommend me the best way to configure my routers so it wont affect myplex sharing... ç

    thanks.


    Same Issue - i asked myself if there is a problem with the IP --> "Server is mapped to port 22324 (IP)" - in my case the IP is not one of the dhcp-Scope defined by the router? Is it possible to set this IP manually?
  • Chris CChris C Plex Employee Posts: 11,646Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    Same Issue - i asked myself if there is a problem with the IP --> "Server is mapped to port 22324 (IP)" - in my case the IP is not one of the dhcp-Scope defined by the router? Is it possible to set this IP manually?

    To be clear, the IP address listed there should be your external IP address, not your local/internal IP from your LAN. Basically, it would be the IP you see if you visit whatismyip.org.
  • jecklundjecklund Posts: 6Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Chris C wrote:

    To be clear, the IP address listed there should be your external IP address, not your local/internal IP from your LAN. Basically, it would be the IP you see if you visit whatismyip.org.

    Thanks! This helped to get me on the right track. I have a voip box between my modem and router that is most likely the issue. My router sees the voip box internal ip and thinks that is the external IP - which is what myPlex is mapping to. Any idea as to where I should open a port? the voip box or router or both?
    Thanks again.
  • dziggdzigg Posts: 2Members ✭✭
    I can't publish server using Mac's internet sharing mode (my only current method of network at the moment), no surprise there.

    I'm trying to share PMS from an old White Macbook ( my 'router' + media server ) to my Macbook Air. I can find the media from SEARCH, but there's no Shared Library or other menu on Homescreen, which makes it hard to browse for media. The old plex nine have no trouble 'finding' the server and letting me browse. I guess this is due to implementation of myPlex, so all goes through it? I dunno, I wish there's an option to turn on shared library on local network without using myPlex, and the fact that I can search media, but not being able to browse frustrates me..lol..

    I know myPlex is the future and am impressed with its feature set, but for now I'm back to XBMC..
  • david.roethlindavid.roethlin Posts: 3Members, Plex Pass
    obviously i have exactly the same issue - my router sits behind a cablecom modem which i cannot access. Plex-Server now sees the internal IP of the modem while UPNP-Config works fine on the router. Any idea how to solve this problem?
  • diamondswdiamondsw &quot;Vitriolic yet well-intentioned&quot; Posts: 847Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    A quick little bit of routing background may help.

    What a router does is move traffic between two different networks or subnets. In most home cases, one subnet is your ISP and their "public" internet addresses, and the other subnet is your home network, which uses "private" internet addresses. The difference between a public and private address is how the router treats them - private addresses cannot cross a router. So while traffic can move across any number of different ISP's and networks between a server on the internet and your home router (at its public address), it can't reach directly to the computers on your home network (private address).

    To get into your home network, the router has to manually "forward" the traffic. Since you have one public IP assigned by your ISP, but may have many private IP's (one for every computer and other device on your home network), there has to be a way to tell which private IP to send traffic to. While you only have one public IP address, traffic is sent to both the IP, and a specific port. The port identifies what the traffic is being sent to. Some ports are "well known" and standard. For instance, all web servers run on port 80, and all secure SSL web servers on port 443. Earlier versions of Plex standardized on port 32400. There's one catch - if you use a single well known port, then you can only forward that single port to a single computer. That can be a problem if you have two computers on your home network that need to serve the same service - two Plex servers, two XBoxes, etc. Also, you need to know exactly which IP address you're sending traffic to - and that can be hard since most home networks hand out dynamic or changing IP's.

    One of the ways we get around this is by dynamically mapping a random port. In a nutshell, the server (Plex, XBox, etc) chooses a completely random port and sends a message to the router to forward traffic on that port to the server. This is great as it works around the "one port per service" issue above, and since the server is setting it up on the fly, it can also tell the router what its IP currently is. The new problem is that since the port is not well known - it's random - then clients on the internet don't know what port to send traffic to! For things like BitTorrent, MyPlex, XBox, the way you work around it is by having a central server that coordinates. The server opens a port, and then tells the coordinating server "hey, this is where I can be found if someone needs me". The client likewise contacts the server first saying "hey, where's that server I need to talk to located?". Once the client gets the location, it can then contact the server directly.

    Okay, all well and good, but what does this have to do with the "double router" problem some folks are seeing with their VOIP or cable modem? Well, the problem is that for auto configuration, that message sent to the router (known as UPnP or NAT-PMP) only reaches the first (inner) router and opens a port. The second (outer) router is blissfully unaware of what's going on, and does not forward traffic. This is why having two routers tends to muck stuff up for lots of programs and devices - it's really hard to get a connection through both from the outside.

    There are two ways to solve this. One way is to forego automatic configuration, and manually forward the port on both routers. This way you forward port 32400 on router A to router B, then forward the same port on router B to the server. For a variety of reasons this can be difficult, what with dynamic IP's and extra configuration. You also may not have access to the cable modem or VOIP router to make changes.

    The other way is to eliminate the problem by eliminating one of the routers. If you recall from the beginning, routing is between two different networks, and it's when we have multiple devices routing that things get messy. Well, you can also connect two networks without routing - they then act as two pieces (or segments) of the same network. This is called bridging. A bridge just sends traffic back and forth across it and doesn't interfere it, making it very much a dumb piece of equipment. No IP assignment, no extra private IP's, no port forwarding - it just sends whatever comes in one side out the other side. Most cable modems, DSL modems, and the like are set up this way, leaving you to provide your own router if you want WiFi or multiple computers. (By the way, that's the main reason we have routers of some kind - otherwise with nothing creating that private network for home, you would only have one IP address - the public one from your ISP - and most homes grew beyond a single internet-connected computer a decade ago.) So you need one router on your network - and only one. If you have to have both (for instance, your cable modem is routing and you can't turn it off, but you need a wireless router for WiFi) then one of them needs to be changed from routing to bridging. You may be able to call your ISP and ask for a standard no-frills modem that doesn't have a built-in router, and then use your router as the One Router to Rule the Network. If that's not an option, then the only thing remaining is to turn your own router into a bridge - and lose most of the functionality of the device.

    I sympathize with folks who are stuck in the double-router situation by their ISP - as you can see, it's a hairy problem.
  • david.roethlindavid.roethlin Posts: 3Members, Plex Pass
    Thx very much for these interesting informations - they brought me on the right track....

    I hacked the modem/router sent to me by the ISP and what i found behind the walls was the second router which i could not access....until today. All the configuration items for LAN/WAN-Configuration etc. were available on this device too, and so I was able to eliminate one of the two devices. I only had to change the internal IP and the DHCP-Scope and all my devices worked fine after 3 or 4 reboots. Wow, it works great, thx very much! Great in two ways.... - complexity of my home-Network decreased and expenditures in energy decreases as well - GREEN IT!
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.