Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Ceton InfiniTV4

ken12010ken12010 Posts: 2Members, Plex Pass
Hello,

First of all love the direction plex is heading looking better and better each release...

Now was wondering if anyone has looked at the Ceton InfiniTV card and usb device saw it, and said wow this would be sweet, as ether on the back end of the plex server where you could stream to 4 different plex clients or the usb connected to a client. There wasn't any info on this cable card as far as support for mac but i did see that they have drivers for linux, maybe this could be better answer to streaming live tv with full dvr functions outside of evetv. would love to hear what ppl think about this..

Thanks in advance

Comments

  • iankenianken Posts: 140Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    ken12010 wrote:

    Hello,

    First of all love the direction plex is heading looking better and better each release...

    Now was wondering if anyone has looked at the Ceton InfiniTV card and usb device saw it, and said wow this would be sweet, as ether on the back end of the plex server where you could stream to 4 different plex clients or the usb connected to a client. There wasn't any info on this cable card as far as support for mac but i did see that they have drivers for linux, maybe this could be better answer to streaming live tv with full dvr functions outside of evetv. would love to hear what ppl think about this..

    Thanks in advance


    To do the CableCard tuner Plex would need to be a DRM licensee from MSFT. This is required by CableLabs. That's just the tip of the iceberg. No DRM, no CablCard. Full Stop. I would LOVE to see it.

    They could conceivably do in the clear TV without it. But that's of limited appeal, they might as well just go with generic BDA ATSC/Clear QAM support.

    THAT SAID: TV is a BITCH. Trust me. Plex is used by folks all over the world. Shipping a TV client that works with the hodge podge of global TV standards and regulatory requirements is a ticket on the pain train. Shipping in the UK? Better support MHEG. Japan? More DRM fun and BML support. It's a rat-hole of requirements and a tower specification documents tall enough to kill someone if it fell on them.

    Fun!
  • ken12010ken12010 Posts: 2Members, Plex Pass
    ianken wrote:

    To do the CableCard tuner Plex would need to be a DRM licensee from MSFT. This is required by CableLabs. That's just the tip of the iceberg. No DRM, no CablCard. Full Stop. I would LOVE to see it.

    They could conceivably do in the clear TV without it. But that's of limited appeal, they might as well just go with generic BDA ATSC/Clear QAM support.

    THAT SAID: TV is a BITCH. Trust me. Plex is used by folks all over the world. Shipping a TV client that works with the hodge podge of global TV standards and regulatory requirements is a ticket on the pain train. Shipping in the UK? Better support MHEG. Japan? More DRM fun and BML support. It's a rat-hole of requirements and a tower specification documents tall enough to kill someone if it fell on them.

    Fun!



    OHH MAN. See i Was thinking/hoping that with the cisco or Motorola tuning adaptors would have handled the DRM & SDV encryption issues and with that would have given us the possiblitiy to use plex..

    Thanks for the fast reply
  • iankenianken Posts: 140Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    ken12010 wrote:

    OHH MAN. See i Was thinking/hoping that with the cisco or Motorola tuning adaptors would have handled the DRM & SDV encryption issues and with that would have given us the possiblitiy to use plex..

    Thanks for the fast reply


    Ohhh. Tuning Adapters. That makes it EVEN WORSE. They don't do the crypto. They just tell the head end to put a service on a particular frequency and then notify the STB or Media Center PC where it can be found.

    Tuning Adapters are the spawn of Satan.

    If the Plex guys want to do CableCard they should speak directly with Ceton Corp. Ceton is small, and they are generally super cool.
  • ByteKnightByteKnight Posts: 84Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    ianken wrote:

    If the Plex guys want to do CableCard they should speak directly with Ceton Corp. Ceton is small, and they are generally super cool.


    Hay All - Well I am building my HTPC using Plex Windows Server and a Ceton InfiniTV 4 Digital Cable Quad-tuner Card PCIe (Now $200 was $400) I have rented the CableCard from ComCast here in Atlanta and should have it installed fully in a few days.

    This is running on a 64bit Windows 7 Ultimate OS (Quad Core 3.5MHz AMD/8GB RAM Radeon 512MB GPU running Plex Server and Windows Media Center (WMC). I am using Roku XS Angry Birds Edition (1080P Mode) as my end points (2 working great so far) to run Plex (Beta) as well as putting Plex Player on 7 Computers 7 Android tablets and 1 iPad (I have 8 kids!).

    I am now looking to get both Recorded shows and Live Streams of real-time Cable news and shows through Plex on the Roku or a Channel on the Roku to all those endpoints - and I do not care if it is a HACK, at this point I am paying for cable and should have that feature and would like to know of any CHANNEL that would give me access or if you know if the Plex or Roku would support DLNA so I can feed it out via WMC or a WMC Channel?

    Once I have this done I can return 6 Cable Boxes and it will pay for itself quickly!
  • dewddewd Posts: 476Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 2012
    ByteKnight wrote:

    Hay All - Well I am building my HTPC using Plex Windows Server and a Ceton InfiniTV 4 Digital Cable Quad-tuner Card PCIe (Now $200 was $400) I have rented the CableCard from ComCast here in Atlanta and should have it installed fully in a few days.

    This is running on a 64bit Windows 7 Ultimate OS (Quad Core 3.5MHz AMD/8GB RAM Radeon 512MB GPU running Plex Server and Windows Media Center (WMC). I am using Roku XS Angry Birds Edition (1080P Mode) as my end points (2 working great so far) to run Plex (Beta) as well as putting Plex Player on 7 Computers 7 Android tablets and 1 iPad (I have 8 kids!).

    I am now looking to get both Recorded shows and Live Streams of real-time Cable news and shows through Plex on the Roku or a Channel on the Roku to all those endpoints - and I do not care if it is a HACK, at this point I am paying for cable and should have that feature and would like to know of any CHANNEL that would give me access or if you know if the Plex or Roku would support DLNA so I can feed it out via WMC or a WMC Channel?

    Once I have this done I can return 6 Cable Boxes and it will pay for itself quickly!


    I'm looking to do something similar. I'm thinking about getting two Ceton Infinity cards and a couple Ceton Echos (when they are released). That will cover my TV needs in my house. The icing on the cake would be integration with PLEX so I could watch my shows when I travel.
  • ByteKnightByteKnight Posts: 84Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Hello,

    Any news on this solution - are we posting in the right section?

    HTPC Setup
    Plex Server (PMS) 0.9.5.3
    Ceton InfiniTV 4 Quad CableCARD (ComCast Atlanta MultiStream) Tuner (All 900 Stations Show Up!)
    Windows Ultimate 64bit SP1 (MS Media Center is my interface to the InfiniTV and works great!)
    MSI 870U-G55 Motherboard (MS-7599)^
    AMD Athlon II Quad Core 645 Processor (OC to 3.51GHz)
    8GB RAM Corsair XMS3 (2x4) 1600 MHZ
    ATI Radeon HD 5450 (512MB Video Memory)
    Storage 500GB 7200 Boot - x3 2TB 5400 Baracuda in Raid 0 Storage
    Netgear WNDR 3700 Wireless Router (Updated with WRT)
    x4 Roku XS (AB Version) - x1 iPad APP - x2 Android App - x5 Plex Windows Clients
  • mmoore5553mmoore5553 Posts: 3Members
    Has anyone got this to work. I really want to get rid of the dvr in two rooms and would love to have this working with the infinitv card. I have a roku i wish to stream it to.
  • Bob57702Bob57702 Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    ByteKnight wrote:

    Hello,

    Any news on this solution - are we posting in the right section?

    HTPC Setup
    Plex Server (PMS) 0.9.5.3
    Ceton InfiniTV 4 Quad CableCARD (ComCast Atlanta MultiStream) Tuner (All 900 Stations Show Up!)
    Windows Ultimate 64bit SP1 (MS Media Center is my interface to the InfiniTV and works great!)
    MSI 870U-G55 Motherboard (MS-7599)^
    AMD Athlon II Quad Core 645 Processor (OC to 3.51GHz)
    8GB RAM Corsair XMS3 (2x4) 1600 MHZ
    ATI Radeon HD 5450 (512MB Video Memory)
    Storage 500GB 7200 Boot - x3 2TB 5400 Baracuda in Raid 0 Storage
    Netgear WNDR 3700 Wireless Router (Updated with WRT)
    x4 Roku XS (AB Version) - x1 iPad APP - x2 Android App - x5 Plex Windows Clients

    Were you able to get this configuration working? I'm wanting to do the same type of thing just without all of the mobile devices (and kids ;).
  • tallnerd1985tallnerd1985 Posts: 46Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Hi guys/girls, I just wanted to chime in on this subject. A lot of misconceptions have recently occurred since the launch of XBMC Frodo which the newest Plex Home Theater is based off in a way. It did bring Live TV/PVR functionality as a frontend but there is no official backend for XBMC for TV tuning capabilities. So far, MythTV, TVHeadend and NextPVR are the leading backends for XBMC but they still have a lot of work to be done to be fully stable. If the Dev team behind Plex decides to add Live TV functionality then it would be a huge undertaking so they probably would be better off with the permission of the other projects to incorporate their work into the Plex Media Server.
  • zukdjzukdj Posts: 9Members ✭✭

    So, my question is slightly different, I was thinking about getting rid of my DVR on FIOS. I would purchase a Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH which is a 6 channel QAM tuner to replace it's job in my home. The question I have is can I record channels on my computer and add them to PLEX and actually watch them via my ROKu's and the PLEX app in ROKU? I am not concerned with live TV as will keep my basic service but I would like to use the DVR through my computer for more control and sharing.

  • mavrrickmavrrick Posts: 504Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Yes you can. You may have to move the files though into a valid file structure for Plex. Batch files can do it

  • bernardkrugerbernardkruger Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I have been using a Ceton InfiniTV 4 with a Comcast card for two years now, watching live TV in Windows 7 Media Center and recording up to 4 channels simultaneously. A perfect, hassle-free setup. But I hear that Media Center is being killed in Windows 10. So I'm wondering, does anyone know whether Plex would be a suitable SUBSTITUTE for Windows Media Center in Windows 10? (I don't really care what format the recordings are in; presently .dvr-ms of course). If Plex can record the Comcast feed then presumably it can also stream it to TV.

  • random.serverrandom.server Posts: 918Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited December 2015

    @bernardkruger No, you want KODI and a PVR backend

Sign In or Register to comment.