If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex is transcoding what seems to be a compatibile file, What do I need to change?

auroraparadoxauroraparadox Posts: 7Members ✭✭

I'm in the process of converting my DVD library to digital. I used MakeMkv to rip them and Handbrake to encode them in H264 format. After that I convert the audio to AAC Stereo and normalize the audio to 89 DB. This is done using Xmedia Recode

I went with an MP4 container with the m4v extension for backwards compatibility.

As far as I know that should be compatible with Roku Plex.

However, Plex is still transcoding it for some reason. It says the file is not able to be direct played.

Is there something I'm missing?

I can provide more information if need.

Best Answer

Answers

  • JamminRJamminR Posts: 3,492Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Provide an example paste of the 'get info' Media Info screen within an forum attached text file, or within "code" format tags.

    Server - HW: I7-4790K(Haswell), 16GB - SW: Win10 Pro + PMS v1.13.0.5003
    Misc. HW: HDHR Extend + 2TB RAID1(Intel Z87) + 4x4TB RAID5(QNAP TS-653Pro)
    Shares - From: 2  - To: 18(5) - Potential lifetime PlexPass data generating product customer!
    ISP: ~20mbps up/1TB monthly "cap" - (Monthly avg. xfer ~450gb)
    Search the Plex WIKI before asking silly questions.
    Plex stuff I favor - Tautulli - UASv3 - PlexEmail - FMoviesPlus
  • auroraparadoxauroraparadox Posts: 7Members ✭✭

    @JamminR said:
    Provide an example paste of the 'get info' Media Info screen within an forum attached text file, or within "code" format tags.

    Here is an example

    Media

    Video Resolution 480p
    Duration 41:51
    Bitrate 2685 kbps
    Width 710
    Height 480
    Aspect Ratio 1.78
    Container MP4
    Video Frame Rate 24p
    Web Optimized No
    Audio Profile lc
    Video Profile high
    

    Part

    Duration 41:51
    File NCIS Los Angeles - S01E02 - The Only Easy Day.m4v
    Size 803.69 MB
    Audio Profile lc
    Container MP4
    Indexes sd
    Web Optimized No
    Video Profile high
    
    Codec H264
    Bitrate 2251 kbps
    Anamorphic true
    Bit Depth 8
    Chroma Location left
    Chroma Subsampling 4:2:0
    Color Primaries smpte170m
    Color Range tv
    Color Space smpte170m
    Color Trc bt709
    Frame Rate 23.976 fps
    Height 480
    Level 3.1
    Pixel Aspect Ratio 32:27
    Profile high
    Ref Frames 5
    Stream Identifier 1
    Width 710
    
    Codec AAC
    Channels Stereo
    Bitrate 425 kbps
    Language English
    Audio Channel Layout stereo
    Profile lc
    Sampling Rate 48000 Hz
    Stream Identifier 2
    
    Codec VOBSUB
    Bitrate 8 kbps
    Language English
    Stream Identifier 3
    

    Let me know if there is anything else that would be helpful in diagnosing this.

  • JamminRJamminR Posts: 3,492Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited May 12

    Well, I'm not sure I can be of any help.
    Are you using subtitles? Plex will often place text into the stream which requires transcoding.
    Unless you have your Roku set to <2mbps playback, it looks very similar to my encodes.
    Exceptions;

    • My Media-Video Frame Rate = NTSC (unsure what that means, other than next line)
    • My Part - Frame Rate - 29.97 (yours is 23.976)
    • My Web Optimized - Yes (this moves a info header called an 'atom' to the beginning of the file)
    • My Width - 720 (yours is 710, as though you're losing 10 pixels somewhere - I'd expect this of height due to widescreen, but not width.

    Edit - Your audio bitrate for AAC is too high. Roku SDK for compatibility limits to 256k

    I use MakeMKV, then Handbrake using rokoding.com settings for Roku (which overall, are compatible with most devices in the past 5 years - though I do add an additional AC3 surround track for my home theater, the first is stereo for compatibility)
    The rokoding.com does have gain and DRC recommendations, so I don't normalize.

    Media

        Video Resolution SD
        Duration 1:58:29
        Bitrate 1878 kbps
        Width 720
        Height 364
        Aspect Ratio 2.35
        Container MP4
        Video Frame Rate NTSC
        Web Optimized Yes
        Video Profile high
    

    Part

        Duration 1:58:29
        File My_movie_DVDRip_x264_AC3.mp4
        Size 1.55 GB
        Container MP4
        Indexes sd
        Web Optimized Yes
        Video Profile high
    
        Codec H264
        Bitrate 1263 kbps
        Anamorphic true
        Bit Depth 8
        Chroma Location left
        Chroma Subsampling 4:2:0
        Color Primaries smpte170m
        Color Range tv
        Color Space smpte170m
        Color Trc bt709
        Frame Rate 29.97 fps
        Height 364
        Level 3.1
        Pixel Aspect Ratio 32:27
        Profile high
        Ref Frames 5
        Stream Identifier 1
        Width 720
    
        Codec AAC
        Channels Stereo
        Bitrate 167 kbps
        Language English
        Audio Channel Layout stereo
        Profile lc
        Sampling Rate 48000 Hz
        Stream Identifier 2
    
        Codec AC3
        Channels 5.1
        Bitrate 448 kbps
        Language English
        Audio Channel Layout 5.1(side)
        Sampling Rate 48000 Hz
        Stream Identifier 3
    
    Server - HW: I7-4790K(Haswell), 16GB - SW: Win10 Pro + PMS v1.13.0.5003
    Misc. HW: HDHR Extend + 2TB RAID1(Intel Z87) + 4x4TB RAID5(QNAP TS-653Pro)
    Shares - From: 2  - To: 18(5) - Potential lifetime PlexPass data generating product customer!
    ISP: ~20mbps up/1TB monthly "cap" - (Monthly avg. xfer ~450gb)
    Search the Plex WIKI before asking silly questions.
    Plex stuff I favor - Tautulli - UASv3 - PlexEmail - FMoviesPlus
  • JamminRJamminR Posts: 3,492Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    @Ottokerner - I was thinking same, checked last night and though 'no that's ok', and now that I doublecheck, realized I was wrong yesterday and mis-read.
    Roku SDK for audio states 256 is highest.
    https://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc/Audio+and+Video+Support#AudioandVideoSupport-SupportedAudioFormats

    I've edited my original post.

    Server - HW: I7-4790K(Haswell), 16GB - SW: Win10 Pro + PMS v1.13.0.5003
    Misc. HW: HDHR Extend + 2TB RAID1(Intel Z87) + 4x4TB RAID5(QNAP TS-653Pro)
    Shares - From: 2  - To: 18(5) - Potential lifetime PlexPass data generating product customer!
    ISP: ~20mbps up/1TB monthly "cap" - (Monthly avg. xfer ~450gb)
    Search the Plex WIKI before asking silly questions.
    Plex stuff I favor - Tautulli - UASv3 - PlexEmail - FMoviesPlus
  • auroraparadoxauroraparadox Posts: 7Members ✭✭

    Thank you both for responding.

    I test played a few files and Ottokerner was correct. It starts transcoding as soon as I activate subtitles. I'm guessing there is no way to stop this short of burning them in which I would rather not do.

    I also checked the audio bit rates of some of my other files. They must have increeased the maximum bit rate, because I have files with bit rates higher than 256 that aren't transcoding.

    Thankfully, the hit on the processor is light so its not a huge deal.

    At least that clears of the mystery of why Plex was transcoding.

    I do have an unrelated question.

    When I load up files in Handbrake (latest version) sometimes automatically detects a size smaller than the source file.

    For example, if the source file is 720 x 480, Handbrake selects 710 x 480. The difference is not consistent.

    I used to manually adjust it but I noticed something odd on an encode of one of my movies. Manually adjusting the parameters seemed to move the sub titles up a bit.

    I haven't done a side by side comparison so it could have been my imagination.

    Should I be manually adjust the size or is there not harm in leaving it as is?

    EDIT: I'm using a Roku Premiere +.

  • OttoKernerOttoKerner Posts: 30,296Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited May 13

    Handbrake tries to detect and crop black borders around the image. The resulting image size is of course smaller then. Plex likes it that way. It will adapt.

    You can see how much Handbrake wants to crop on the 'picture' tab. Use the Preview feature to verify the decision.

    Got help? Help others too - by reporting back with your results!
    Have you checked the Documentation before posting a question in the forums?
    Use the SEARCH function before starting a new thread!
    No PMs unless requested, please! Do not use 'verbose' logging
  • auroraparadoxauroraparadox Posts: 7Members ✭✭

    @OttoKerner said:
    Handbrake tries to detect and crop black borders around the image. The resulting image size is of course smaller then. Plex likes it that way. It will adapt.

    You can see how much Handbrake wants to crop on the 'picture' tab. Use the Preview feature to verify the decision.

    Good to know. Thanks again.

Sign In or Register to comment.