Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

HDHomeRun V2 Plug-in

cal1cal1 Posts: 15Members
edited November 2012 in Channel Development
Discuss some hurdles with PMS and HDHomerun
Everyone,
As it is posted, at least for Windows, HDHomeRun Plug-in no longer works with PMS.
I am attempted to rectify that and upgrade the plug-in to V2 API and make it work with HDHomeRun Prime
I am new to Plex and python and have run into many hurdles.
Mainly, lack of documentation of V1 API and many API development examples are based on V1.
I have overcome most of them and now I am stuck on the last hurdle.
It seems that HDHOMERUN:// stream type is no longer available in PMS after PLEX9.
There is a chance this problem can be overcome in the plug-in.

There are a very specific steps that need to happen to watch a stream from a HDHomeRun device.
Note: Silicondust has created a command line control program (hdhomerun_config) for most OSs.

The following came from here:
http://www.silicondu...development.pdf

Here is an example of streaming to VLC.
Example: Streaming to VLC:
Run VLC: File, Open Network Stream. Select UDP/RTP. Specify port 5000.
Discover the HDHomeRun:
hdhomerun_config discover
Run a channel scan:
hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF scan /tuner0 scan0.log
Set the physical channel:
hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/channel auto:651000000
Check sub-programs:
hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF get /tuner0/streaminfo
Select a sub-program:
hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/program 3
Set the target:
hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/target <ip address of pc>:5000
Note: there is an option to pipe the stream to a program.
eg: hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF save /tuner0 - | vlc -
When done streaming the HDHomeRun channel needs to set to none.