Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Disable transcoding

RockStarRockStar Posts: 2,025Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
is it possible?
Is there any way of disabeling transcoding on the server? My server sounds like a boing taking off when someone starts to watch something thats being transcoded. Id like to just shut the feature off. Preferably still allowing Direct streaming or whatever its called when you remux for ios without actually transcoding anything.
«1

Comments

  • TrudgeTrudge Gone off to greener pastures.... Posts: 9,360Members ✭✭✭
    RockStar wrote:

    Is there any way of disabeling transcoding on the server? My server sounds like a boing taking off when someone starts to watch something thats being transcoded. Id like to just shut the feature off. Preferably still allowing Direct streaming or whatever its called when you remux for ios without actually transcoding anything.

    You can delete the transcoder.

    Transcoding is lazy, it will only be doing it if it needs to. If you disable it, the people causing it will simply not be able to watching media instead.
  • RockStarRockStar Posts: 2,025Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Where I live, getting fast enough internet speeds should be no sweat. Its accessible and affordable. They will manage.

    So how do I delete the transcoder?
    And will that remux stuff for iOS still work?
  • TrudgeTrudge Gone off to greener pastures.... Posts: 9,360Members ✭✭✭
    RockStar wrote:

    And will that remux stuff for iOS still work?

    No. Nothing will work but native formats for each device.

    You're not quite getting it. Transcoding is last resort, if your/their bandwidth was enough now, it would not be transcoding - it only transcodes if it *has* to.


    *BIG FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS HERE*

    Unless you really know what you are trying to do (which honestly, right now, it sounds like you don't quite), this is a BAD idea.

    Transcoder lives here -> /Applications/Plex\ Media\ Server.app/Contents/Resources/Plex Transcoder
  • RockStarRockStar Posts: 2,025Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    I get it. Ive got friends who wanna be on my server, and thats fine, as long as my box keeps quiet.
    Ive got 100 mbps upstream so my internet is fast enough. If they still wanna stream my stuff, they will need to upgrade their internet.

    I was kinda hoping for a better sollution than deleting the transcoder though. Like some regedit solution just to disable it. Something that could be undone.
  • TrudgeTrudge Gone off to greener pastures.... Posts: 9,360Members ✭✭✭
    edited November 2012
    RockStar wrote:

    I was kinda hoping for a better sollution than deleting the transcoder though. Like some regedit solution just to disable it. Something that could be undone.

    rename it


    Ive got 100 mbps upstream so my internet is fast enough. If they still wanna stream my stuff, they will need to upgrade their internet.

    It is about a lot more than bandwidth is my point.
  • RockStarRockStar Posts: 2,025Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited November 2012
    renaming it back will make it work again? Thx alot for the help! much appreciated!

    Trudge wrote:

    It is about a lot more than bandwidth is my point.

    I get that alot of formats wont play on ios etc. Which is why I asked about the remuxing stuff. All my content is mkvs with 99.9% of it containing h264 video. remuxing it would likely work. I get that killing the transcoder will stop these devices from working.

    Will still work using PCs, Macs and Samsung TVs though. Ideally, I would be able to pick and choose who gets to use the transcoder and who don't.
  • TrudgeTrudge Gone off to greener pastures.... Posts: 9,360Members ✭✭✭
  • RockStarRockStar Posts: 2,025Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    thx!
  • jemenakejemenake Posts: 15Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    You're not quite getting it. Transcoding is last resort, if your/their bandwidth was enough now, it would not be transcoding - it only transcodes if it *has* to

    I don't think this is accurate, which makes your "You're not quite getting it" comment all that more unfortunate to see. I just tried, from *work*, to watch a movie on my *home* Plex server, and Plex transcoded it and squashed the hell out of it (video was all muddy, and the audio was all swishy). Then, I immediate switched to a web browser, and opened that *same* movie file, directly, through HTTP, and it played, in its native format, without any hiccups. I've always been able to this (watch my movies directly via HTTP through my home's upstream connection), yet Plex has transcoded it into horrible mush both times I've tried using that.

    The movie was 500MB and had a running time of about 100 minutes. By my calculations, that's about 666kbps needed to stream it, which is way below my 1.5Mbps upstream bandwidth from my home (which is backed up by the fact that I could stream the in-transcoded movie via HTTP).

    So, the fact of the matter seems to be that Plex is *not* making a very good assessment of when it needs to transcode the movie or not, and it would be nice if we could manually tell Plex what our bandwidth is, or to prevent it from transcoding below a certain bitrate.
  • TrudgeTrudge Gone off to greener pastures.... Posts: 9,360Members ✭✭✭
    jemenake wrote on March 8 2013, 3:41 PM: »

    I don't think this is accurate, which makes your "You're not quite getting it" comment all that more unfortunate to see. I just tried, from *work*, to watch a movie on my *home* Plex server, and Plex transcoded it and squashed the hell out of it (video was all muddy, and the audio was all swishy). Then, I immediate switched to a web browser, and opened that *same* movie file, directly, through HTTP, and it played, in its native format, without any hiccups. I've always been able to this (watch my movies directly via HTTP through my home's upstream connection), yet Plex has transcoded it into horrible mush both times I've tried using that.

    The movie was 500MB and had a running time of about 100 minutes. By my calculations, that's about 666kbps needed to stream it, which is way below my 1.5Mbps upstream bandwidth from my home (which is backed up by the fact that I could stream the in-transcoded movie via HTTP).

    So, the fact of the matter seems to be that Plex is *not* making a very good assessment of when it needs to transcode the movie or not, and it would be nice if we could manually tell Plex what our bandwidth is, or to prevent it from transcoding below a certain bitrate.

    Plex doesn't make any assessment on bandwidth, the bandwidth options are set on the client side, so if it was all squishy and you have the bandwidth adjust the quality up.  If the bandwidth settings are low, it will transcode the media down to meet that bit-rate even if the client can direct play the media.  Check out the server logs, they will tell you why it is transcoding, but transcoding is always last resort.

  • Plexflow.tvPlexflow.tv Posts: 151Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    This solution is the best, if you have ALL the supported files BUT someone on client side decides to not put on the right settings.

  • slipstreamsslipstreams Posts: 1,874Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited June 2014
    Absolutely agree that transcoding has "low priority" in the sense that it steps in only when required.
    Basically the clients are giving PMS the informations needed to decide if transcoding is needed. If you don't have full control on the clients-side you also cannot control if the transcoder is needed or not.
    Taking away the transcoder will eventually end up breaking your systems funktionality on too many sides, even on you local side. Probably not the best idea...
  • jemenakejemenake Posts: 15Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    slipstreams wrote on June 25 2014, 3:39 AM: »

    If you don't have full control on the clients-side you also cannot control if the transcoder is needed or not.

    Okay. Now I'm confused. I thought that the Plex app for iOS, the Plex app for Roku, and the Plex web-app were all closed source. Where is this "full control on the clients-side" supposed to happen?

  • slipstreamsslipstreams Posts: 1,874Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    The clients have very different capabilities (playable formats, resolutions etc.) and can be set to different quality levels. Depending on the file requested by the clients and the mentioned factors the client will trigger PMS to start a transcoding job or not.

    For example if the client is set to a very low quality probably every file will be transcoded even if it's otherwise perfectly playable.

    The user of the client can therefore control the behaviour of the server no matter what the owner of the server does. He could take it offline or turn off but can not control the single streams. It's kind of an all or nothing situation.
  • Plexflow.tvPlexflow.tv Posts: 151Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited June 2014
    slipstreams wrote on June 25 2014, 3:39 AM: »

    Taking away the transcoder will eventually end up breaking your systems funktionality on too many sides, even on you local side. Probably not the best idea...

    If you got the supported formats and you know what your doing.
    Then this is proberly the best solution in a network of a couple of peeps. That HAS to setup their phone correctly to playback.(Direct play)

  • eRadicanteRadicant Posts: 16Members ✭✭

    Yeah it'd be sweet if there was a straight up "Disable transcoding" option in Plex server settings. All of the devices accessing my Plex server are capable of direct play/streaming everything. I just want to disable the ability for clients to request a transcode through their client settings when I know it's not necessary.

  • himenhimen Posts: 16Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited August 2014

    [Attachment = 35073: never.jpg]

    Can you bring a soft update with " Transcode + Never?
     

  • net23net23 Posts: 27Members ✭✭

    I agree, Plex should provide an option to completely disable transcoding.  I do not want to degrade the quality of any streamed media under any circumstances.  If the bandwidth is not available to support the native codec & resolution, I can wait to watch the content at home.  If a Plex client device cannot support the media's native format, I want to replace the defective client with something else (not overload the server with transcoding tasks).  In any case, many people will be happy to hear that you can purchase a NAS device which runs a version of Plex Media Server that does not support transcoding:

    "Note: ARM and PPC models do not support transcoding at all." :D
    https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/articles/201373793

  • hartjeshartjes Posts: 1Members

    This is the only thing I am really missing in the Plex server right now. 

    I'm running a Plex server on a Intel Celeron G1820 2,7Ghz, which is more than enough for a simple server, but not enough for transcoding a single high quality stream. Al my players with Plex can play all my files anyway, why would I even want to transcode it?

    Is there a way to put in a formal feature request? I'm can't spend money on software I can't use properly  :rolleyes: 

  • Elijah_BaleyElijah_Baley Posts: 2,579Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I think this should be more of a client feature than a server one. Some clients (one at least, the Roku) can already be set so as to choose things like automatic, direct play, direct stream, direct play/with fallback and so on. 

    If it can be implemented on the Roku then it "should" be possible on the other clients.

    As the needs differ by client I do not think that this is an issue that should be implemented in the server.

«1
Sign In or Register to comment.