Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Plex Media Server for Debian

1246744

Comments

  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    asgardcfr wrote:

    Hi,
    I installed the latest version (0.9.7.11.386-d353989) of plex on debian squeeze and the installation work well.
    I want to authorize an ip without authentication XXXX/255.255.255.255 but it dont work.
    if i put a mask of 255.255.255.0 it works.
    Is it I who am wrong in the mask 255.255.255.255 to allow that ip ?
    of course I let 127.0.0.1/255.255.255.255


    Thank you in advance for your answers :)


    I have no idea of how the allowing things work =) but I am reptty sure you have right netmask http://unixwiz.net/techtips/netmask-ref.html
    Maybe a ninja can give some insight =)
  • xreyukxreyuk Members Posts: 12 ✭✭
    edited January 2013
    So guys...

    Any idea why the repo is trying to install packages that depend on something debian squeeze doesn't already have?

    I have been having problems installing another package, and after getting support on the freenode #debian channel, I've been told that libtag1-vanilla depends on something that Debian Squeeze doesn't have.

    According to what I was show, the dependancy, libstdc++6 is only on 4.4.5-8 on Squeeze, whilst being on 4.7.2-5 on Wheezy, and ranging from 4.6.0-2 to 4.7.2-5 on sid. Plex is trying to install version 4.6 or higher.

    Here's the link to the package information. http://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=libstdc++6
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    What are you trying to install ? Plex Media Server does not depend on libtag?
    Plex Home theater does depend on it however and it is not released for squeeze yet.
  • xreyukxreyuk Members Posts: 12 ✭✭
    I was trying to install forked-daapd, however it wouldn't install correctly because of libtag1-vanilla dependancy on the repository. Commenting out the plex repository fixed the installation problem I was having, but the guys in the freenode #debian IRC channel said it was the plex source trying to install the higher version of libtag1-vanilla.
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    xreyuk wrote:

    I was trying to install forked-daapd, however it wouldn't install correctly because of libtag1-vanilla dependancy on the repository. Commenting out the plex repository fixed the installation problem I was having, but the guys in the freenode #debian IRC channel said it was the plex source trying to install the higher version of libtag1-vanilla.


    Sorry about that I have played around some with alot of packages and by misstake added some packages to the squeeze repo.
    They are gone now and should not bother you or anyone else again =)
  • jordanvanbergenjordanvanbergen Members Posts: 1
    I installed PLEX media server on a DEBIAN squeeze box today. It's colocated at a colocation provider. So PMS is running:

    /etc/init.d/plexmediaserver status
    Plex Media Server process running.

    I can get to the server but it needs a myplex user to login. If I use a myplex account I get this message:

    Deze server is niet beschikbaar voor u. Log uit
    This server is not available to you. Log out.

    How to setup PMS so I can login and maintain the settings etc?
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    edited January 2013
    Make a ssh port tunnel to your machine set up everything and see so it is connected to myplex and has a working port configuration.
    ssh -L32400 internalipnumberofplexmachine:32400 username@host
    Open up a browser and typ http://localhost:32400/web
    I think this is how you to a tunnelport. May be wrong on some details but google ahould provide a good help if my instructions are wrong.

    Here is the correct way of accessing it remote
    ssh -L 32400:127.0.0.1:32400 username@host
    open browser surf to http://localhost:32400/web
  • xreyukxreyuk Members Posts: 12 ✭✭
    MoxZ wrote:

    Sorry about that I have played around some with alot of packages and by misstake added some packages to the squeeze repo.
    They are gone now and should not bother you or anyone else again =)


    Thanks mate :)
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    Repo updated with 0.9.7.12.407
  • GrimnarGrimnar Members Posts: 59
    Is it a common problem with the thumbnails on the plex web admin pages? I got nothing. Sometimes they are showing for like 1/100 second and then dissapears again. (upon refreshing)

    Same goes for the plex client for ipad.


    Running the latest version on Debian squeeze with a 16gb i5 system.
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    edited February 2013
    I am not really sure what you are saying here =)
    But I have no trouble with my thumbnails on my Debian PMS.

    2013-02-11-121317_1280x720_scrot.png

    screenshot
  • GrimnarGrimnar Members Posts: 59
    edited February 2013
    Yeah, well you are viewing from your localhost. Im running a headless server and need to see the webpage via 192.168.0.30. The server is on 192.168.0.1
    If I hook it up with a monitor, spin up a desktop enviroment I can see the thumbnails/images on the localhost as well.

    1389546.jpeg

    1389547.jpeg

    1389548.jpeg
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
    I will test from another lan computer when I get home. What happens if you access it over myplex?
    I just tried that and I get the thumbnails in that mode to.
    Oh and what OS and webbrowser are you using?
  • GrimnarGrimnar Members Posts: 59
    edited February 2013
    myplex?:P

    Im using Firefox latest beta on OSX 10.8.2. I have turned off adblocker and everything.
    Lets try with a stable Safari:

    Safari to the right :

    1390221.jpeg
    1390222.jpeg
    1390224.jpeg


    Edit: I have now completely reinstalled Firefox beta (remove profiles etc) and everything is working as normal again! :)
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja
  • BillK01BillK01 Members, Plex Pass Posts: 5
    edited February 2013
    Just found myself unable to edit my library from another machine. Can edit movie titles, etc. from localhost, but if I log in via 192.168.1.133:32400/manage, it drops me into what seems to just be a browsing/viewing version of the web client, with no ability to edit library metadata. Was able to no more than 2 hrs ago, haven't changed anything that I'm aware of...just suddenly started dropping me into the "browse" client.

    Re: my setup...PMS running on Ubuntu w/Chromium as local browser. Connecting via Win7 box w/Chrome & Firefox attempted as browsers. Browse/view behavior exhibited in both remote browsers. URL instantly switches to http://192.168.1.133:32400/web/index.html... from the /manage path, if that's noteworthy.
  • yakumoyakumo Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 1,095 Plex Ninja

    Just found myself unable to edit my library from another machine. Can edit movie titles, etc. from localhost, but if I log in via 192.168.1.133:32400/manage, it drops me into what seems to just be a browsing/viewing version of the web client, with no ability to edit library metadata. Was able to no more than 2 hrs ago, haven't changed anything that I'm aware of...just suddenly started dropping me into the "browse" client.

    Re: my setup...PMS running on Ubuntu w/Chromium as local browser. Connecting via Win7 box w/Chrome & Firefox attempted as browsers. Browse/view behavior exhibited in both remote browsers. URL instantly switches to http://192.168.1.133:32400/web/index.html... from the /manage path, if that's noteworthy.


    You are aware that you just posted an post in the Debian specifik thread now?
    But to try to be of some help to your question. The first thing is that /manage is not the correct path the /web is and there is where you do all manage of your library.
    manage.jpg
    You have five buttons to the right where you handle your sections and settings.
  • BillK01BillK01 Members, Plex Pass Posts: 5
    Thanks for the forum feedback. Common sense fail. Would appreciate guidance on the forum you'd recommend instead, as it's not obvious to me based on the forum headers (other than to go generic).

    I got the /manage URL from here

    The images I'm attaching describe the problem I'm seeing. I have My Library there with the buttons you mention.

    However, when I I'm on my laptop (same subnet, but not on the Ubuntu PMS), I have the following issues. When I click to edit the library, I get nothing but a "Done" button. When I drill down into any individual movie, I have nothing but an "(I)" Info button. It's as if I'm in some king of read-only Browse/View mode on the remote machine.

    The weird thing is that, about 2 hrs prior to me posting my original message, I had access to the full Media Management functionality on the same laptop via the same Chrome instance. I dug through the various settings, and there's nothing that's popping out as an obvious "Allow media management from remote computers" setting that might have inadvertently gotten changed.

    Really appreciate your help.
  • ericmatthysericmatthys Plex Employee Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Posts: 3,193 Plex Employee
    What version of the media server are you running? Could you go to http://local.ip.address:32400/library/sections (where local.ip.address is the local ip of the machine PMS is running on) and paste what you see in here?
  • BillK01BillK01 Members, Plex Pass Posts: 5
    edited February 2013

    What version of the media server are you running? Could you go to http://local.ip.address:32400/library/sections (where local.ip.address is the local ip of the machine PMS is running on) and paste what you see in here?


    EDIT: I just figured it out. I'd found the link to access Media Manager somewhere (maybe the install instructions on the Plex site, to be http://IP-ADDRESS:32400/manage. That URL would immediate re-route to http://IP-ADDRESS:32400/web/index.html. The latter is the end-user app. I just saw a link on a page (I'm a dumbass for not trying this before), where the link http://IP-ADDRESS:32400/manage/index.html was referenced. The explicit reference to the index page puts me in Media Manager mode. I don't know if this is a bug or by design, but my intuition tells me that if you put a path like /manage, the server should grab the default HTML page from that path vs re-route to a different path like /web.

    Version 0.9.7.3 btw.

    /library/sections clip attached.

    thanks
Sign In or Register to comment.