Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Get an error playing any movie

jaysshethjayssheth Posts: 4Members
Just installed PLEX
Hey Guys,
Im a noob to PLEX. I just got a new san - Synology DS213, i was able to set it up fine, got PLEX installed and uploaded some movies to test. Movies shows up just fine on my plex web link with all the info it grabbed from the internet - ie movie name, description, etc. But when i try to play it, i get this error message:

"There was an error attempting to play this video."

I am trying to play a MKV and an AVI file. Please help, i really need to get this working, since my main reason to get a NAS was to have a good media server.

Thx,
JS

Comments

• Chip "Mini" MoonChip "Mini" Moon Posts: 384Plex Pass, Plex Ninja
    jayssheth wrote:

Hey Guys,
    Im a noob to PLEX. I just got a new san - Synology DS213, i was able to set it up fine, got PLEX installed and uploaded some movies to test. Movies shows up just fine on my plex web link with all the info it grabbed from the internet - ie movie name, description, etc. But when i try to play it, i get this error message:

"There was an error attempting to play this video."

I am trying to play a MKV and an AVI file. Please help, i really need to get this working, since my main reason to get a NAS was to have a good media server.

Thx,
    JS

What are you trying to play the file on??

See here, theres some serious restrictions with NAS running PMS http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/FAQ:_Plex_Media_Server_and_NAS
  • jaysshethjayssheth Posts: 4Members

What are you trying to play the file on??

See here, theres some serious restrictions with NAS running PMS http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/FAQ:_Plex_Media_Server_and_NAS