Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Asus RT-AC66U router compatable with plex?

EpicVegasEpicVegas Posts: 10Members, Plex Pass
I've been having a problem with my current router not being able to publish my plex server & I'm thinking about upgrading to the Asus RT-AC66U router. Any special settings or configurations to publish my server on this router? I have a Motorola surfboard SB6121 modem.
«1

Comments

  • moralesmikemoralesmike Posts: 72Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Yes and it as a darn good route too! Do you have and AC adapters on your machines? I was deciding between this router and the RT-N66U and in the end I did not see any reason to go with the AC version and spend the extra money for a protocol in its infancy that I would not use for a long time. I did that with Draft N and by the time I went to use N adapters my router was antiquated.
  • aaronharstineaaronharstine Posts: 103Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    i really suggest the Netgear R6300 AC router ive used and set up many routers for tons of people. i can tell you the asus routers tend to freeze up, cisco/linksys tend to break after a year, dlink gets low signal strength. Nothing i have seen touches the ease of use and performance i've been getting from the r6300, my parents and my brother both own them too and all connection issues they had before just dissappeared. just make sure you download netgears genie software its helpful for many different things
  • iankenianken Posts: 139Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    i really suggest the Netgear R6300 AC router ive used and set up many routers for tons of people. i can tell you the asus routers tend to freeze up, cisco/linksys tend to break after a year, dlink gets low signal strength. Nothing i have seen touches the ease of use and performance i've been getting from the r6300, my parents and my brother both own them too and all connection issues they had before just dissappeared. just make sure you download netgears genie software its helpful for many different things


    LOL. I've got two AC66us. One is a bridge. The other a router/AP.

    Both are on UPSes. Both were up for six months before I flashed an update yesterday. They are rock solid.
  • EpicVegasEpicVegas Posts: 10Members, Plex Pass
    Did you have to do any port forwording or any special config with the AC66U settings? I'm just worried I might run into the same issue with not being able to publish my server.
  • adrenaline7879adrenaline7879 Posts: 3Members
    ianken wrote:

    LOL. I've got two AC66us. One is a bridge. The other a router/AP.

    Both are on UPSes. Both were up for six months before I flashed an update yesterday. They are rock solid.


    What are your router settings? I am having trouble with this also and same setup.
  • adrenaline7879adrenaline7879 Posts: 3Members
    Noone else with this router that can help? ;(
  • jdb264cjdb264c Posts: 2Members, Plex Pass

    I can't get it to work either, but I'm really a newbie at this...

  • moralesmikemoralesmike Posts: 72Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    adrenaline7879 wrote on February 14 2013, 8:17 PM: »

    Noone else with this router that can help? ;(

    Like I said, I have the RT-N66U but from what I know about the AC it is the same more or less. So my comments have that caveat.

    My router has been rock solid with no dropputs or need for reset. My server published nicely the first time with my plex and did not require me to forward any ports for my PS. I have other services that are being forwarded through the router with no issue at all.

    I made the switch from my Dlink DIR-655 which I had to manually publish my PS through and also had dropouts constantly. I dont think it was a bad router, just old and seen a lot of use. Also I had a Belkin that had a lot of issues also. So I must say I am happy with ASUS.

  • elvatofeoelvatofeo Posts: 5Members

    I just posted a request for help but I see that Moralesmike is using a RT-N66U which is what I just installed. This is my first try to get Plex and I just can't seem to get it to connect to the server. I have a Mac desk top and a Time Warner modem. I am able to create the media server but when I try to connect MyPlex to get my Roku in the network I keep getting an error message: myplex could not connect to your server.

    I have tried opening up the firewalls in the mac and on the router but still no success. I also went into the router WAN port forwarding and set up 32400 but no success. 

    Mike do yo have any suggestions?

    Thanks

  • sdjmesdjme Posts: 650Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    There seem to be a couple different questions from different posters going on in this thread.

    First off, for the OP, the Asus has uPnP activated by default, so you will not need to make any changes to it in order for MyPlex to publish your server.

    To the last poster, MyPlex is primarily used for remote viewing.  If you have PMS up and running, any other client on your local network should be able to immediately access it, even without MyPlex.  I use the N66U, which is very similar, and it does not require any manual setup whatsoever.  However, your MyPlex still should be able to see your server if your PMS is set up properly.  As stated before, this router has uPnP enabled by default, so when you go into PMS settings (http://your.server.ip.address:32400/web) and publish the server, it should automatically open up any necessary port on the router.

  • elvatofeoelvatofeo Posts: 5Members

    Kaiguy,

    Thank you for reply. I am able to sign into my PlexMediaServer but when I tried to go through the route you suggested (http://myserverip etc) to publish the server  I get a message that I am not authorized to access this media server.

  • elvatofeoelvatofeo Posts: 5Members

    Kaiguy,

    Please disregard my last post.

    Thanks

  • gojira35gojira35 Posts: 8Members
    kaiguy wrote on March 27 2013, 7:01 PM: »

    There seem to be a couple different questions from different posters going on in this thread.

    First off, for the OP, the Asus has uPnP activated by default, so you will not need to make any changes to it in order for MyPlex to publish your server.

    To the last poster, MyPlex is primarily used for remote viewing.  If you have PMS up and running, any other client on your local network should be able to immediately access it, even without MyPlex.  I use the N66U, which is very similar, and it does not require any manual setup whatsoever.  However, your MyPlex still should be able to see your server if your PMS is set up properly.  As stated before, this router has uPnP enabled by default, so when you go into PMS settings (http://your.server.ip.address:32400/web) and publish the server, it should automatically open up any necessary port on the router.

    im having problems too. i went to my WAN and portforwarding section of my asus router. what should i type? sorry im quite a newbie thanks

  • hthighwayhthighway Posts: 4,277Members, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Ninja
    edited September 2013

    im having problems too. i went to my WAN and portforwarding section of my asus router. what should i type? sorry im quite a newbie thanks

    Once on the port forwarding screen scroll down to the bottom and in the boxes there enter the following:

    For "Service Name" you can enter any descriptive name you want

    For "Port Range" enter 32400 (assuming that you left the default value in plex this)

    For "Local IP" enter the IP address of your plex server, usually something like 192.168.1.xxx  where xxx is what ever your plex server is

    For "Local Port" enter the same value you entered for "Port Range" 32400

    For "Protocol" leave it to the default which is TCP

    Once this is done click on the plus sign to add this to your port forwarding list and then click the apply button below the list.

    f you don't know what your IP address is for you plex server go to that machine and open up a command prompt and type ipconfig.

    This will give you the IP address of your server

  • gojira35gojira35 Posts: 8Members
    edited September 2013
    still doesnt work :(  i cant find my library on my android phone or galaxy note. how many times i refresh its still black/blank/empty :(
     
     
    [attachment=19759:1 plex server page.png]
     
    [attachment=19760:2 router.png]
  • iankenianken Posts: 139Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Don't know what to say guys. I've used both uPnP and manually set the external port and both worked. I can stream from the Samsung TV at work, and from the web browser without problems.

  • axehomelessaxehomeless Posts: 8Members

    Just wanted to say that I have the same problem. Maybe it's because of that Modem/Router fuckery I read somewhere in the FAQ or troubleshooting guide?

  • BSOD2600BSOD2600 Posts: 31Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I have this router and no problems with getting plex port forwarded.  Although to be safe I forward both TCP and UDP.  Otherwise same as the screenshots a few posts above.

    gojira35:

    Sure your internal IP  / plex server is 192.168.1.244?  should configure the router to assign you the same IP all the time (lan -> dhcp server tab).

    Any errors in the router's System Log? 

  • sa2000sa2000 Posts: 24,054Members, Plex Pass, Forum Moderator, International Forum Moderator Forum Mod

    gojira35:

    lets see the screenshot of 

    ipconfig /all

    and check the WAN IP Address of the router is not showing an IP Address of 10.0.x.x or 192.168.0.x 

    Is the router directly connected to cable/phone line or is there an ISP Modem before it

    Other thing to try is to sign out and re-sign in within Plex Media Server Settings page for myPlex

  • axehomelessaxehomeless Posts: 8Members

    Sa2000,

    I have an ISP modem before it, the IP adress is 192.168.1.xxx and not 10.0.xx. Can you help me?

«1
Sign In or Register to comment.