Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Can't play this video

swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass
I just completed setting up my nexus 4 and downloaded plex for plex pass.  Am able to connect to my server, view my files, however,  most of my video files would not play except a few. I get error message 'can't play this video ' . I was able to watch the channel for Jon Stewart though but that was about it.  As far as the other channels,  neither fox news nor cnn would work.
It's worth mentioning that I also have an iPhone and plex downloaded on it and am able to play all my files comfortably.

I read through the forums and found an option that says to try turning off the direct stream and play,  which I did but it still didn't work for me,  I was hoping that you could please maybe suggest something else that am missing. 

I tried files in different formats but non has worked so far.
«1

Comments

  • IanDBirdIanDBird Plex Employee Posts: 2,302Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    Can you please double check that you're using the latest version of PMS? What number does it report?

    Thanks, Ian

  • swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass
    I have version 2.9.25 (3f82bc28).
  • IanDBirdIanDBird Plex Employee Posts: 2,302Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    swartz13 wrote on March 13 2013, 2:12 PM: »

    I have version 2.9.25 (3f82bc28).

    Sorry but this is the version of Kepler, not PMS. If you're using Plex/Web, you can find this number under 'Settings'

    Ian

  • swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass
    I have the plex for plex pass on android.
    And the number I provided is the only one available under settings in the app for version.
    Sorry this might be a dumb question, but which is the difference between Kepler and pms.??
  • IanDBirdIanDBird Plex Employee Posts: 2,302Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    I'm sorry, PMS is Plex Media Server, as in the software running on your Windows/Linux/OSX machine. It's that piece of software that i'd need to confirm which version you are running.

    Thanks, Ian

  • swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass
    Oh got you. Sorry, currently not home and can't give you the version number right this moment. However, I use a synology 412+ server (which I believe updates itself automatically) , with plex loaded on it as an app.
    I'll put the version number here later on today.
  • IanDBirdIanDBird Plex Employee Posts: 2,302Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee

    We just release Version 0.9.7.17.469 today which is available here: http://www.plexapp.com/getplex/ It might be worth upgrading to that version and checking if the issue is still reproducible.

    Ian 

  • kielbykielby Posts: 16Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    I am still having this issue with latest PMS and all my Nexus devices(Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 4 and 10) running Android 4.2.2.
    I cleared the data for Plex app and tried to sync a 2.3 GB rip at various settings. All resulted in the can't play error.
  • IanDBirdIanDBird Plex Employee Posts: 2,302Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    kielby wrote on March 14 2013, 12:44 AM: »

    I am still having this issue with latest PMS and all my Nexus devices(Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 4 and 10) running Android 4.2.2.
    I cleared the data for Plex app and tried to sync a 2.3 GB rip at various settings. All resulted in the can't play error.

    I'm sorry you're having issues. If you drop by Plex Chat and shout my name, maybe we could do some debugging to try to get to the bottom of the issue...

    Ian

  • kielbykielby Posts: 16Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 2013
    IanB! wrote on March 14 2013, 9:15 AM: »

    I'm sorry you're having issues. If you drop by Plex Chat and shout my name, maybe we could do some debugging to try to get to the bottom of the issue...

    Ian

    Thanks for the quick response. I'm traveling soon and I don't have much time right now to do a lot of troubleshooting (I ended up copying the raw media to the devices over USB), but let me know what information I can collect that might be helpful.

    EDIT: I will note that some movies sync and work fine.

  • RadimusRadimus Posts: 50Validating, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 2013

    I'm having similar issues... (I just joined PlexPass today)

    I pulled the plex pass Plex App from Play Store (Samsung Note 2, Vanilla RootBox Rom 4.2.2) as well as upgraded the Win Media server to version 0.9.7.17-1f0b170

    Over cellular, I can seldom get into any library, it will not show titles or thumbnails, just the page header info with the refresh button

    If I look at on Deck or Recently Added, I can click a title and sometimes it will show the background image, but video will never play.

    On Wifi, I can see the library items and and usually select a title to play, but none will start.

    Using the old Plex Android client items will display and play as expected on both Wifi and Cellular

    ygepumyh.jpg

    zydajamu.jpg

    Regular plex client

    5e3ene7e.jpg

  • swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass
    IanB! wrote on March 13 2013, 5:58 PM: »

    We just release Version 0.9.7.17.469 today which is available here: http://www.plexapp.com/getplex/ It might be worth upgrading to that version and checking if the issue is still reproducible.

    Ian 

    Thank you so much for responding to the thread IanB!, i checked and the version of plex media server that i have right now is Version - 0.9.7.9.375-d056f10, i checked for update on my synology server and no update is currently available.

  • elanelan Sheriff of Plexville MauiPosts: 9,000Members, Plex Employee, Plex Pass, Plex Ninja Plex Employee
    swartz13 wrote on March 14 2013, 11:51 PM: »

    Thank you so much for responding to the thread IanB!, i checked and the version of plex media server that i have right now is Version - 0.9.7.9.375-d056f10, i checked for update on my synology server and no update is currently available.

    You'll want to update to the latest version on the http://www.plexapp.com/getplex page for Synology.

  • I am having a similar issue on my Asus TF700, I downloaded the plex pass version from the Play store today and tried to sync a view videos and when i go into offline mode I get the cannot play this video message.

    I am able to play the same videos when connected to my WiFi without issue. Am I doing something wrong in the syncing process?

    Thanks in advance

  • swartz13swartz13 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass

    updated software but still having same issue, not sure what else to do, will leave it as is for now..

  • Just a note i synced the same video to my Iphone and it worked perfectly

  • lrevxl@gmail.comlrevxl@gmail.com Posts: 10Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    edited March 2013

    I'm seeing a similar issue. I'm on the latest kepler and pms build. When I sync a video to my phone (Galaxy S3) the sync completes and I see the video when I put the app into offline mode, but when I go to play it I get the 'Can't play this video." error dialog. If I hit "Play with..." and select a third party player like BS Player, the synced video will play just fine.

  • ThinkOfANumberThinkOfANumber Posts: 27Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Just to say I have the same issue on my Nexus10.

    H264 MKV's with ac3 sound. Audio transcoded to AAC.

    Last version I didn't have the problem with was .13 on the server side.

  • oc3lotoc3lot Posts: 3Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    I'm trying using Kepler on my Sony 2nd Gen GTV, and getting the same issue. Running the latest version of PMS 0.97.17-1f0b170 and 2.9.28 of Plex. The video runs fine in Plex for GoogleTV, but if I try to run it in Plex for Plexpass, it won't play.

  • arehmarehm Posts: 26Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

    Same thing here on a Sprint Samsung Galaxy S2 with JB rom on it. 

«1
Sign In or Register to comment.