Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Mini Series naming

freefallfreefall Posts: 4Members
edited June 2009 in Unsupported Versions
Trying to do away with the Season 1 link
Hi all, I've been googling this problem a bit too long now and can't seem to find the answer.

What I was wondering is whether it is possible for mini series (like Planet Earth or Band of Brothers), filed as a TV show, to do away with the Season 1 button once you click the series name and go to the episodes straight away?

Much appreciated

Comments

  • JoshJosh Posts: 21Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    Yes, it is.

    Plex > Advanced Settings… > Library > Flatten TV Shows

    If you set this option to "If only one season", you should get the result you're looking for.

    To get to the advanced settings you need to change to windowed mode if you normally use Plex in full screen.


    Off-topic: I just finished Planet Earth recently. It's great, isn't it?
  • freefallfreefall Posts: 4Members
    Josh wrote on Jun 20 2009, 05:06 AM:
    Yes, it is.

    Plex > Advanced Settings… > Library > Flatten TV Shows

    If you set this option to "If only one season", you should get the result you're looking for.

    To get to the advanced settings you need to change to windowed mode if you normally use Plex in full screen.


    Off-topic: I just finished Planet Earth recently. It's great, isn't it?


    Thanks so much :) I never knew about the Advanced Settings, good to know.

    And I absolutely love Planet Earth, its so stunningly beautiful. I think it's my favorite documentary, it's my personal quest to show it to everyone I know who hasn't seen it yet :)
  • metawopsmetawops Posts: 37Members
    freefall wrote on Jun 20 2009, 07:31 AM:
    Thanks so much :) I never knew about the Advanced Settings, good to know.

    And I absolutely love Planet Earth, its so stunningly beautiful. I think it's my favorite documentary, it's my personal quest to show it to everyone I know who hasn't seen it yet :)


    Excellent hint, "Advanced Settings..."! Works fine -- but still you have to name the files with the "S01E01" scheme -- despite the fact that there is no season 2, 3, ..., right?

    In other words: naming them just "Planet Earth EP01.mkv" or sim. won't work, right?

    Thanks,
    Stefan.
  • poofyhairguypoofyhairguy Posts: 912Members
    metawops wrote on Jul 22 2009, 07:09 PM:
    Excellent hint, "Advanced Settings..."! Works fine -- but still you have to name the files with the "S01E01" scheme -- despite the fact that there is no season 2, 3, ..., right?

    In other words: naming them just "Planet Earth EP01.mkv" or sim. won't work, right?

    Thanks,
    Stefan.


    Yeah, you still have to name them like how TVDB has them named. This is true for everything you want in the TV show section.
  • robetzelrobetzel Posts: 1Members
    edited July 2010
    poofyhairguy wrote on 22 July 2009 - 06:15 PM:

    Yeah, you still have to name them like how TVDB has them named. This is true for everything you want in the TV show section.


    I'm having the darndest time trying to figure out the naming scheme for ANY TV show, but in particular Band of Brothers.

    Can someone just flat out show me the directory structure and character-for-character file names? I've read a dozen threads here, plus re-read the Getting Started, and a couple other sources and frankly it all doesn't make sense AT ALL. Every time I add the source and update the library I end up with 10 entries in the Movies library in some foreign language for each of the episodes! Whaaaa?

    And while I'm at it, how the heck does Plex know it's a TV show vs. Movies. I mean, it's in TV Shows->Band of Brothers->(10 named files) yet it shoves them in the Movies library?
  • raindancingraindancing Posts: 1,532Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass
    You have to have TV Shows set up as a different source. Under Videos, press c to bring up the contextual menu and then select Set Content. Use the tiny arrow at the top to cycle through the options, until you get TV Shows.
Sign In or Register to comment.