Jump to content


Photo

Plex Client for Apple TV (2G)


  • Please log in to reply
1768 replies to this topic

#1 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:02 PM

I have been playing around with Jailbreak for the new ATV and put together a Tech-Demo that brings the first Plex Client to the new Apple TV. You can get a rough Idea by watching this video.

For detailed (and up-to-date) install instructions please have a look at PLEX-Wiki or Ultimate Guide to Plex9 on AppleTV 2G with 4.2.1.




Known Issues
The Software so far is nothing more than a proof of concept, which isn't tested at all. However there are some known issues:
  • "Local Servers" screen does only update when you press the up or down button on your remote
  • Larger Sections timeout while they are loaded and do never show up
  • Only Video playback / Music (thanks to b0been) is working (no images, no App-Management)

The following explains how you can install (and later on update) the plugin on your (Jailbroken) ATV. Use the software at your own risk and don't blame anyone except yourself if your ATV blows up in the process. Consider this the last warning!!!

Prepare the Media Server
Before you install the actual plugin you need to prepare the Plex Media Server (it needed some tweaks before it would talk to the ATV). Since those changes are considered 'beta', you need to tell your PMS to download beta plug-ins, by enetering the following URL in a Safari running on the same machine as the media server: (URL removed)

After that start Plex and check for updates in the PlexOnline section.


Enable a higher Quality (optional)
This part is optional, but if you feel like experimenting a lot, you might want to install a testing built of ffmpeg, that enables higher bitrates for the (currently) highest available quality (which is the only quality your ATV will use). This will also increase the image quality on other iOS devices, however you will need a potent Mac for the encoding! So If you still feel like installing use the following two commands in a Terminal on the Mac running your Media Server:

curl http://ambertation.de/downloads/PLEX/ffmpeg > ~/Downloads/ffmpeg
cp ~/Downloads/ffmpeg ~/Library/Application\ Support/Plex/Plex\ Media\ Server.app/Contents/Resources/

If you not use this, the plugin will still work, but the image-quality might not be on par with what you expect.



Install the Plugin
First off: you need to Jailbreak your Apple TV. A nice little instruction can be found on awkwardtv.org. I suggest you use the Pawnage method. For the sake of the following instruction I assume thet the IP-Address of your ATV is 169.10.11.12 (instead of the IP you can also use apple-tv.local), and that you can log in using ssh.

  • Start your ATV and log in to your ATV using ssh
    ssh root@169.10.11.12
    It will ask you for your password, which (if you did not change the default) is alpine. (I strongly suggest you change the password using the passwd command!!!)
  • In that ssh session, you need to add new cydia sources using
    echo "deb http://www.ambertation.de ./downloads/PLEX/" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/plex.list
    echo "deb http://awkwardtv.dyndns.tv/ stable main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/awkwardtv.list
  • Now update your cydia database using
    apt-get update
  • Install the plugins (and its dependencies like beigelist by DHowett) with
    apt-get install com.plex.client-plugin
  • The install script restarts the GUI for you, if it did not, you can do it manually and hope that it comes back
    killall Lowtide
    or (if you are on 4.2 or later)
    killall AppleTV
    If the UI does not come up again, you probably have to restore your ATV!

That is it. You should see the PLEX menu item now. If you experience any problems (which you almost certainly will :) ) just report back here. But remember the ATV is just a hobby :D


Updating the Plugin
Once in a while I might release an updated version for the plugin, so once in a while you might want to check for updates and install them. Here is how that will work:
  • Start your ATV and log in to your ATV using ssh
    ssh root@169.10.11.12
  • In that ssh session enter
    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade




Have fun and many thanks to the people (DHowett, awkwardtv.org and the iPhone Dev Team) who enabled us to create such wonderful plugins in the first place.

Edited by quiqueck, 15 January 2011 - 12:47 AM.
Removed "beta mode" step, as this is no longer necessary.

Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#2 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:09 PM

WOW!

This is amazing stuff.

I'll get onto this right away. I'll let you know how I get on.

Quick question about Enabling higher quality, you say that a potent Mac is required. Just how powerful are we talking? I've got a Quad core 2.8 GHz i7 with 8GB Memory. Is that enough for high quality or should I skip that step?

Really appreciate your hard work btw...

Many Thanks!!

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#3 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:13 PM

Quick question about Enabling higher quality, you say that a potent Mac is required. Just how powerful are we talking? I've got a Quad core 2.8 GHz i7 with 8GB Memory. Is that enough for high quality or should I skip that step?


With the above ffmpeg version my 2.4GHz C2D is at its limits
However, everything with an i7 should be able to handle it.
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#4 realitymonkey

realitymonkey

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:14 PM

On my way to buy an Apple TV right now just one question by only video playback no audio working do you mean that if I play a TV show I will get the video with audio or will I just see the pictures ?

#5 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:17 PM

You get video (including audio) but music will not play.

And keep in mind, that this is a tech demo. So before you get yourself an ATV you might want to wait until others were able to use it :D
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#6 dirRtyjoe

dirRtyjoe

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:19 PM

Sweet!!! You just made my day!
Kyler W

#7 realitymonkey

realitymonkey

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:20 PM

Cool happy with that and the tech demo fact. I have been wanting to get one for a while so this is a good excuse is there any chance that plugins will work as well ?

#8 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:24 PM

Everything that sends a video (including plugins) should work.
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#9 realitymonkey

realitymonkey

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:39 PM

Even better give me two hours ( need to finish a budget) and I will report back

#10 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:01 PM

Could someone post a link to some instructions on SSH once the AppleTV is jailbroken? How do I find the IP address of my device? I've managed everything up until this point...

Thanks in advance for any help...

EDIT: Nevermind...just found the following link: Guide for SSH into AppleTV 2G

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#11 dirRtyjoe

dirRtyjoe

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:02 PM

apple-tv.local should work (if you haven't changed the name, sub in your name if you have) but you can find the IP in the settings.
Kyler W

#12 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:03 PM

Go to the settings menu on your Apple TV and select Network. The screen that opens should list the IP-Address of the device.

Then you open a Terminal on your mac and enter ssh root@IP.
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#13 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:23 PM

OK.... Jailbroken firmware being loaded onto the Apple TV now.

Btw, when I did 'Check for Updates' in the Plex Online menu, it said that there were no updates to install. Is this whats supposed to happen? I'm running .9.2.2

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#14 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:26 PM

Please check your history (in plex online). A new system.bundle should have been installed.
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#15 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:31 PM

It says I've got Version: 191.1178

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#16 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:44 PM

It says I've got Version: 191.1178


Sorry, I did install it by other means. So I don't know which version it's supposed to be. If videos do not start to play, it might not be the correct version.


EDIT:
Just checked on another machine, and it just installed an 191.1178 update for System. So I'd say that is the correct version.

Edited by quiqueck, 03 November 2010 - 09:48 PM.

Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#17 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:47 PM

So how do I get the correct version? The method above doesn't seem to be working for me...

Edit: Just saw your edit. OK just waiting for jailbreak & then I'll post results. Seems like the restore has frozen. Hasn't moved for ages...Is this normal?

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#18 quiqueck

quiqueck

    Plex Dev Team

  • Castle Keeper
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Location: Germany

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:49 PM

Seems like the restore has frozen. Hasn't moved for ages...Is this normal?


I guess it is. I remember reading that it might appear to stop...
Creator of KLEXi HD • InfoSupportKnown IssuesTwitter

#19 SkuiD87

SkuiD87

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 03 November 2010 - 09:55 PM

Well...all I can do is wait then...

Anyone else have any progress?

Hardware:
iMac 27" 3.5GHz i7 (Quad-core) 16GB RAM
Storage:
6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800

6TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
2TB External HDD (WD MyBook) Firewire 800
Network:
Time Capsule (Airport) Wireless N network (802.11ac)

Virgin Media UK - 120Mbps Down, 12Mbps Up


#20 realitymonkey

realitymonkey

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 03 November 2010 - 10:22 PM

My restore has kicked me out twice trying for a third time now (fingers crossed)

Just worked will plug it all up now




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users