Jump to content


Photo

Folders view not Saving


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 13 March 2011 - 03:20 PM

Plex will not save the List view on Movies folder anymore> Select View mode...exit and re-enter...going back to regular list view.

* I'm trying to keep it saved in Coverflow view in movies.

*This just happened after adding 500 artists in my Music Library.

#2 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8547 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 13 March 2011 - 04:23 PM

I've heard a few people have had issues with the ~/Library/Application Support/Plex/guisettings.xml file getting corrupted or otherwise "messed up" before. Close the Plex client, nuke that file (or, better yet, back it up and remove), and see if things work after that.

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Provide Log Files when reporting issues // Name and Organize your content correctly for best results
 
(please, no private messages unless requested)


#3 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 13 March 2011 - 05:45 PM

Removed Plex XML gui file> and placed it on the desktop.

* It still will not save any of the View settings for any Home folders.

Any other suggestions?

#4 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 09:49 PM

Ok

So anyone else know why Plex doesn't save movie folders views?

None of the folders will save the view anymore> removed the GUI.xml file and another one showed up in it's place?

Does this mean I should just trash plex and restart again?

It's shouldn't be that difficult to resolve this?

#5 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8547 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 14 March 2011 - 11:26 PM

As far as I know, the "view" setting info is stored in that guisettings.xml file. My install works fine and changes I make to the view are saved for me.

Are you using the default skin (MediaStream)? That one works fine for me, as do Blur and PlexAeon on my install. Did you close the client as well as stop/quit the PMS before you removed the guisettings.xml file previously? If not, try doing that.

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Provide Log Files when reporting issues // Name and Organize your content correctly for best results
 
(please, no private messages unless requested)


#6 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 12:23 AM

As far as I know, the "view" setting info is stored in that guisettings.xml file. My install works fine and changes I make to the view are saved for me.

Are you using the default skin (MediaStream)? That one works fine for me, as do Blur and PlexAeon on my install. Did you close the client as well as stop/quit the PMS before you removed the guisettings.xml file previously? If not, try doing that.


I quite Plex> I run it full screen mode, I assume it's stops, when you enter back to the desktop> Default skin is enabled.

What do you mean by close the client? Is that media manager?> I close plex when I removed the file> but it re-appeared after logging back into plex? Doing this resets my resolutions settings, and that is all it does.

Please quantify on client?

#7 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8547 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 15 March 2011 - 06:02 AM

By "client", I meant the app you use to browse through and watch your content.

It appears I was at least partially incorrect before regarding the "view" options all being in the guisettings.xml file. I found out this evening that there are at least some view settings stored in the database, too. If you're feeling brave, you can try running the following command in a Terminal window, which should clear out stored view settings on the PMS:

sqlite3 ~/Library/Application\ Support/Plex\ Media\ Server/Plug-in\ Support/Databases/com.plexapp.plugins.library.db "delete from view_settings"

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Provide Log Files when reporting issues // Name and Organize your content correctly for best results
 
(please, no private messages unless requested)


#8 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 10:27 AM

So I'll just cut and paste the above command.

#9 Atrus

Atrus

    Plex Star

  • Plex Ninja
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7660 posts
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 15 March 2011 - 11:12 AM

Yes, run it in your Terminal.

 Mac mini 2,3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 (With Fusion drive)  Panasonic VT50 (55 inch)  Pioneer VSX-2021 Receiver  Norco 24-bay NAS 
New to Plex/Nine? Watch my screencast video (slightly out-dated nowadays, but still informative for new users)
Want to know how to handle subtitles? Watch my subtitle screencast video (out-dated, but still informative), and this One Minute Subtitle Addendum screencast
Always attach log files if you are reporting an issue: Log file info & location
Get Plex guides here: Howto name your files  NAS guide  Troubleshooting  Plex Support Page
 
Personal websites that I work with daytime: Vinnarum Casino


#10 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 08:40 PM

Ok, I ran the command in Terminal> First issue was " database was locked?"

I stopped running Plex Media manager> Re-prompted the command> this time nothing came up ( I assume it ran the command)

* Checked in Plex to see if folders where being saved> No-Go.

* What else?

#11 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 16 March 2011 - 09:02 PM

I'm thinking of just nuking plex altogether, and re-scaning all my files with a new install of it> hopefully without the view display bug.

* Any more suggestions?

#12 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8547 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 16 March 2011 - 10:57 PM

I'm afraid we seem to be out of ideas on this one. Apparently, there is a bug regarding the "view" settings for sections in the current version (that should be fixed in the next one) and you might have somehow hit it. However, Elan mentioned that typically running the database command mentioned before should clear it up.

Anyway, if you're up for it, then completely clearing out your current Plex install and starting over ought to get things working again. In addition to the regular Plex.app file, you'll also want to remove these two directories if you choose to go this route:

~/Library/Application Support/Plex/
~/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Provide Log Files when reporting issues // Name and Organize your content correctly for best results
 
(please, no private messages unless requested)


#13 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 08:11 PM

I'm afraid we seem to be out of ideas on this one. Apparently, there is a bug regarding the "view" settings for sections in the current version (that should be fixed in the next one) and you might have somehow hit it. However, Elan mentioned that typically running the database command mentioned before should clear it up.

Anyway, if you're up for it, then completely clearing out your current Plex install and starting over ought to get things working again. In addition to the regular Plex.app file, you'll also want to remove these two directories if you choose to go this route:

~/Library/Application Support/Plex/
~/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/


Hmm, I'll give the command another try> I don't know what it does if it works though? Does it state the command was enabled or something?, sorry I don't know how command prompts are dictated.

* I just ran the command, and it went to the next prompt (computer name etc) Are spaces critical as well?

* What should it say if the command was succesfully executed?

#14 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8547 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 17 March 2011 - 08:49 PM

I haven't really messed with command-line SQL queries, I'm afraid. I'd not be surprised if there's no feedback returned after running the command (unless there's a problem). If it's successful then it probably just returns you to the command prompt like you're seeing. Spaces would be important in it so that you get the correct path and such.

Have you updated to 0.9.2.3 yet? That one should (to my knowledge) have the fixes in for the view state saving, so it might all be fixed for you.

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Provide Log Files when reporting issues // Name and Organize your content correctly for best results
 
(please, no private messages unless requested)


#15 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 09:20 PM

I haven't really messed with command-line SQL queries, I'm afraid. I'd not be surprised if there's no feedback returned after running the command (unless there's a problem). If it's successful then it probably just returns you to the command prompt like you're seeing. Spaces would be important in it so that you get the correct path and such.

Have you updated to 0.9.2.3 yet? That one should (to my knowledge) have the fixes in for the view state saving, so it might all be fixed for you.


I assumed I had the latest Plex 9 version since I only downloaded it 4 weeks ago etc.

#16 nerpissad

nerpissad

    Plex Ninja

  • Plex Ninja
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1511 posts
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Posted 17 March 2011 - 09:42 PM

if you execute the command in terminal it doesn't return anything after you press enter. it'll just show you the prompt like it did for you before:
Screen shot 2011-03-17 at 22.39.11.png


don't trash your folders just yet. I'd try the latest release from here and see if that fixes your issue.

What to do if you're new to Plex?
First you should have a look at the Plex Wiki, its full of all sorts of useful information. For all initial set-up questions, the screencasts are an invaluable source of answers.
If you still can't solve your problem, your
Plex log files are very useful source of information. Zip them up and attach them to your post.



#17 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 10:20 PM

if you execute the command in terminal it doesn't return anything after you press enter. it'll just show you the prompt like it did for you before:
Screen shot 2011-03-17 at 22.39.11.png


don't trash your folders just yet. I'd try the latest release from here and see if that fixes your issue.



The glitch happened> * after scanning a few hundred music files or adding 20 music and video-apps including netflix etc. Or I could have been in media manager and something was changed while in there as well.

#18 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 10:56 PM

Ok, I tried the command again with exact spacing, and it didn't work.

* I just got an update message from Plex today (that was fast) installed the latest update> and it didn't fix the issue of saving the view in folder view settings etc. :angry:

#19 theatrdaz

theatrdaz

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 11:11 PM

If Plex is constantly updating the media server> then I might just wait to erase it for now.


But I hope it's fixed before I get my new set.

#20 farpumpe

farpumpe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 March 2011 - 08:35 PM

I'm having the same problem using v.0.9.2.5.

I change the view option under 'Movies', go one step back to the filter page, and upon entering again, it will go back to the info list view option.

Tried to run the command, but it didn't help. :unsure:

Also, I'm having a problem with posters not showing up -> http://forums.plexap...post__p__157139
Don't know if it has anything to do with this problem?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users