• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 rip-addict

rip-addict

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 05:08 AM

I am very new to this whole media center thing. I just discovered Plex last month and shortly after, I found XBMC. I am using the Aeon skin on both so they both look the same but I was wondering if anyone had preferences over one or the other.

Just after using both for about a month, I can say that Plex seems a little more user friendly and intuitive. I am also on a mac so the media manager is a HUGE help.

I am mainly using them for watching movies. Plex seems to have more trouble with the audio codecs (True HD) than XBMC does but that might be fixed in the future.

Transferring libraries to another mac seems to be easy on Plex and no so easy with XBMC (although I'm sure the fault lies with me on that one).

I realize this forum might be a little biased but I'm sure there are XBMC users who have switched over or users that use both. I would like to hear your stories.

Thanks.

#2 Smithcraft

Smithcraft

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 327 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 08:50 AM

As much as I love Plex, with the current A/V sync issue, it's worthless to me.

For now, this pretty much pushes me into XBMC. I've been spending time trying to get XBMC to be more like Plex, but I'm not sure I'll ever get that to happen.

A new beta for Squire just came out so I'll give that a try and see how that goes.

SC
2.33 GHz Core i5 2011 mini with 8 GB
OS X 10.7.5
Loving Plex since 0.7.8

#3 dkcp

dkcp

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 08:53 AM

Haven't used XBMC since the Xbox days. What I like about Plex though is the centralized media server and the possibility to view my media on mobile devices.

There's still lots of things I can envision in Plex but it works well for my needs.

#4 boots2x

boots2x

IP Challenged Ninja

• Plex Ninja
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1194 posts