Jump to content


Photo

myplex was unable to connect to my server


  • Please log in to reply
209 replies to this topic

#141 Mr_Je11yman

Mr_Je11yman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 March 2012 - 05:07 AM

I too am afflicted with the dreaded "MyFlex was unable connect to server" issue. I have tried to use the info from this (and other) threads, but to no avail. Please help! Here is my log file.

EDIT: Scratch all that. I re-checked my Windows firewall settings, and I had typed 34200 instead of 32400. Doh! All is well now. I highly recommend that you check your Windows Firewall settings to insure that the port is open on your computer.

#142 Luxferro

Luxferro

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 12:10 PM

I'm having this problem to, but only when I want to manually use a specific port. I am forwarding the port I want to use to the server, but it doesn't connect, no matter what manual port I try to use. It will work fine if I let it automatically pick it's own port (and I guess use uPNP). But I need to use specific ports in order to have access from work.

edit: it seems to me with all the connection issues in this forum that manual port selection is broken.

#143 Cinderella

Cinderella

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:41 AM

@Cinderella

What sort of internet connection do you have (DSL, cable, etc.)? Do you use a DSL modem, cable modem, etc. and if so, what model?

Getting a log could be useful here, too:

1. Restart your Plex Media Server

2. Open the Preferences, go to the myPlex tab, and let it try to connect

3. Zip up and attach the "Plex Media Server.log" file to a reply here (see link in my signature for log info)



Did you get a chance to look at my logs etc Chris?

#144 denzo

denzo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:19 PM

Well after (literally) staying up all night I got past my "unable to connect..." problem. I am on a "Comcast Business Gateway" on a SMC router/cable modem and apparently it was doing the double NAT thing, finally I went to it's settings and activated "Enable DMZ Host" and clicked on the "add computer" button and added my Linksys E4200 Router (the only thing that showed up) and viola it works now! Hope that might help someone else...good luck!

#145 MadHocus

MadHocus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:00 AM

not sure it helps anyone but I had the issue and found Kaspersky was my problem. Just shut it off and then connected fine.

#146 sherrybess

sherrybess

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 01:50 AM

I don't seem to be able to connect or put the code in so so is going wrong

#147 Cinderella

Cinderella

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 11 May 2012 - 05:33 AM

I am still having issues getting my Airport extreme to recognize it.

Still not working.

Im thrilled that it now feeds to my xbox, but I bought the iPad app so I could remotely access and still can't :(

#148 Trudge

Trudge

    Gone off to greener pastures....

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9403 posts

Posted 11 May 2012 - 07:06 AM

I am still having issues getting my Airport extreme to recognize it.

Still not working.

Im thrilled that it now feeds to my xbox, but I bought the iPad app so I could remotely access and still can't :(

HI,

Not sure if anyone has gotten back to you yet, but there is some really weird stuff going on in your log

Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Finding public address from NAT-PMP.
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Finished NAT-PMP request, result was: SUCCESS
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Found public address (success=1): 0.0.0.0
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Unmapping port via NAT-PMP
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Finished NAT-PMP request, result was: SUCCESS
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Unmapped port via NAT-PMP (success=1).
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Mapping port via NAT-PMP
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Finished NAT-PMP request, result was: SUCCESS
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] DEBUG - NAT: Mapped ports (success=1) private: 32400 public 18755
Mar 15, 2012 14:47:27 [0xb176c000] INFO - NAT: Mapping changed 0.0.0.0:18755 -> 127.0.0.1:32400

For some reason it thinks your external IP address is 0.0.0.0 and internally is it binding the port mapping to the loopback address of you router (127.0.0.1) - which is seriously odd :(

Just ouf of interest, have you tried the latest .9.6.1 PMS version which was released in the last few days? The good peice of news (although it small compared with "it works" is that your airport seems to be doing what it should be correctly, it's just being told to do the wrong thing.

If upgrading to .9.6.1 doesn't/hasn't fixed it - it would be cool if you could upload the Plex Media Server.log again produced by the .9.6.1 version running
Primary PMS: Ubuntu 13.10, i7-4771, 16GB Ram, Samsung 840 Pro 512GB
Media Storage: 2 x ReadyNas Pro Business 18TB mounted by NFS to Plex Server
Desktop Clients: 1 x Windows 7 27", 1 x 15.4 Retina MBP, 2 x17" MBP, 1 x 13" MB, 1 x13" MBA
Mobile Clients: 2 x iPhone 5s, 3 x iPhone 5, 3 x iPhone 4s, 3 x iPhone 4, 2 x iPad 3, 2 x iPad 2
Airplay & PlexConnect Targets: 4 x ATV3

#149 Trudge

Trudge

    Gone off to greener pastures....

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9403 posts

Posted 11 May 2012 - 07:08 AM

I don't seem to be able to connect or put the code in so so is going wrong

Hi,

Start here for Roku instructions -> http://www.plexapp.com/roku/
and more specific and detailed information on MyPlex is here -> http://wiki.plexapp....ndex.php/MyPlex
Primary PMS: Ubuntu 13.10, i7-4771, 16GB Ram, Samsung 840 Pro 512GB
Media Storage: 2 x ReadyNas Pro Business 18TB mounted by NFS to Plex Server
Desktop Clients: 1 x Windows 7 27", 1 x 15.4 Retina MBP, 2 x17" MBP, 1 x 13" MB, 1 x13" MBA
Mobile Clients: 2 x iPhone 5s, 3 x iPhone 5, 3 x iPhone 4s, 3 x iPhone 4, 2 x iPad 3, 2 x iPad 2
Airplay & PlexConnect Targets: 4 x ATV3

#150 pmcd

pmcd

    Rock Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location: Everywhere

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:52 PM

MyPlex was working great until i upgraded to the release version of .9.6.1 . It can't map to my router automatically. odd as previous beta versions worked great.

philip

#151 Horse

Horse

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Location: California. U.S.A.

Posted 13 May 2012 - 05:09 AM

I had the same issue after upgrading from 9.5 to 9.6.1
Checking the server it was reporting a dynamic TCP port to myPlex and I did not have that forwarded on the router. I have a static port forward on TCP 32400)
I found in preferences > myPlex there is a "manually specify port" which was unchecked and pretty sure was not an option before.
Enabled the manual setting and left the default port at 32400 and it started working again. (need to log out of plexapp and sign in to get a fresh update or wait I guess)

Checking my Netgear, UPnP is enabled and I could see the dynamic entry for the dynamic port, but it was not working.

Manual port mapping, static port forwarding on the router I'm functional again.

PMS - Windows 2012 R2 on custom i7 4770S, 8GB RAM, MSI Q87 motherboard. RAID 1 100GB SSD and 20TB RAID 6 media volume.

PHT - Mac Mini with 10.9 and Night skin

PHT - RasPlex Model B overclocked with Night Skin

PHT - RasPlex Pi 2 no overclock with Night Skin

iOS Plex  - iPad, iPhone, iTouch

Android Plex - Nexus 7

Roku 2 XS and Roku 3 - Plex and RarPlex

RoomieRemote on iPad Mini Retina for custom control of entire AV system and house audio.

HD HomeRun with HDSurfer and NextPVR plugins. NextPVR TV Backend


#152 chriscleal

chriscleal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 May 2012 - 04:45 PM

I seemed to solve the issue by just not mapping to 32400 and only having the 'publish to myPlex' selected.

Also I had a wireless access point set up on my home network and all other software was fine but it Plex started working once I removed this and ethernet straight to hub.
UPnp needs to be turned on with all restrictions off.

#153 dcherry88

dcherry88

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 May 2012 - 05:56 PM

I have been having the same issue to, through multiple versions of PMS and even now on .9.6.2. I get Server is mapped to port xxxx(ip). I did an IP lookup and it does correspond with my ISP. I do however, have a unique internet setup. Being in rural area, I do not have access to DSL or Cable. Someone has instead setup a bridge from the town 7 miles away and is broadcasting, over a wireless network, to me and surrounding area for internet. Setup goes along this line

ISP (Charter in this case)
|
Town Wireless
|
My encore router (DHCP and NAT enabled
|
network switch (all physical connections, PMS included, plug in here)
|
second encore router (DHCP and NAT disabled, in AP mode.Nothing is plugged into this accept the cable to feed it internet/network)

I have tried letting UPnP do it's thing and nothing happens. I've tried manually mapping port and setting port forward. and I have even set the server itself in DMZ just for grins but no luck. Attaching log from this morning, edited out personal info. This is what sticks out to me the most.

May 21, 2012 12:30:33:086 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Initialized UPnP, result: SUCCESS
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:093 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Requested public address via UPnP (success=0)
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:321 [5112] DEBUG - HTTP request to: http://my.plexapp.com/pms/:/ip
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:321 [5112] DEBUG - MyPlex: Got public IP from http://my.plexapp.com: 97.87.128.52
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:321 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Obtained public address of 97.87.128.52 (failed: 0 myPlex: 1).
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:321 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Checking for change in address: old was 97.87.128.52 and new is 97.87.128.52.
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:343 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Unmapped port via UPnP.
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:377 [5112] DEBUG - NAT: Added mapping via UPnP, Public Side => 97.87.128.52:10041 (TCP), Private Side => 192.168.0.112:32400
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:377 [5112] INFO - NAT: Mapping changed 97.87.128.52:10041 -> 192.168.0.112:32400
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:379 [5112] DEBUG - It took 0.001000 sec to serialize a list with 5 elements.
May 21, 2012 12:30:33:379 [5112] DEBUG - MyPlex: Sending Server Info to myPlex (user=myemail@email.com, ip=, port=10041)

Attached Files



#154 chief42

chief42

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location: Camarillo, CA

Posted 24 May 2012 - 06:05 PM

Same issue...When I updated to 6.1 myPlex stopped connecting.

#155 ThomasK

ThomasK

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:32 PM

Had the same issues, but all resolved just by restarting the server software. So far everything works again

// Thomas Kaarup
 


#156 alexep

alexep

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 May 2012 - 03:40 PM

After a very frustrating day around this problem, I managed to solve it by completely disabling my firewall and port-forward port 32400 in my router configuration. Then I manually specified myplex to be mapped to port 32400 and it worked.

#157 Will2524

Will2524

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 June 2012 - 09:43 PM

I've been having playing around with Plex for a couple days now and nothing I do seems to get that red light that says "myPlex was unable to connect to your server" to go away. I have messed with the firewall, disabled anti-virus,toyed with port-forwarding, rebooted the router, restarted Plex, all with no luck. I am on a Linksys E1000 which does have uPnP.I would be so grateful if anyone could help me out here! Thanks in advance!

Attached Files



#158 Chris C

Chris C

    Plex Employee

  • Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11280 posts
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 30 June 2012 - 03:30 AM

I've been having playing around with Plex for a couple days now and nothing I do seems to get that red light that says "myPlex was unable to connect to your server" to go away. I have messed with the firewall, disabled anti-virus,toyed with port-forwarding, rebooted the router, restarted Plex, all with no luck. I am on a Linksys E1000 which does have uPnP.I would be so grateful if anyone could help me out here! Thanks in advance!

The log indicates that uPnP is working correctly and the Plex Media Server (PMS) is able to successfully map the port itself. However, something else (either on your local network or, more likely, on the computer with the PMS) is interfering with the network activity/connections. That's blocking the traffic coming from myPlex (or elsewhere) and causing your problems.

Firewalls, proxies, ad-blocking software, some virus scanners, etc. have been known in the past to cause issues with things. Glimmerblocker, PeerGuardian, and VirusBarrier are three in particular I've seen be troublemakers.

Need help? Having trouble?
» Visit our Support Site for documentation, guides, and more - including the Getting Started section!
» Attach Log Files when reporting issues // See how to attach files in the forums
» Name and Organize your content correctly for best results

(no private messages for support unless requested, please)


#159 mknabster@verizon.net

mknabster@verizon.net

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 June 2012 - 03:40 PM

You know what i ended up doing, I just turned my router's firewall to minimum security, and now it works perfectly for an automatic port forwarding. Even with this minimum security, and i try to do manual, it still doesn't work, no matter what port i use. So i think this might be a problem with my Verizon router. I know at school when i use Plex, the manual port forwarding works just fine, so i think there;s something with Verizon routers.

#160 Will2524

Will2524

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 11:11 PM

The log indicates that uPnP is working correctly and the Plex Media Server (PMS) is able to successfully map the port itself. However, something else (either on your local network or, more likely, on the computer with the PMS) is interfering with the network activity/connections. That's blocking the traffic coming from myPlex (or elsewhere) and causing your problems.

Firewalls, proxies, ad-blocking software, some virus scanners, etc. have been known in the past to cause issues with things. Glimmerblocker, PeerGuardian, and VirusBarrier are three in particular I've seen be troublemakers.


I was afraid of that. I have been playing around with firewall settings and anti-virus controls for a while and can't find what is blocking it. At least now I know what to look for. Thanks for the help!