3 replies to this topic

#1 commonperson@gmail.com

commonperson@gmail.com

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 March 2012 - 06:50 PM

Hi,
I'm just learning how to setup Plex and have a question. Is there a way to add a program to your library manually? I can't seem to find a way to select a file that is not detected by scanning the folder. I've several TV shows that are not detected and was hoping I'd be able to manually add these to my library.

Any help or suggestions would be uesful (oh and if you can explain how I can add web based content so it's visible on my Samsung blu-ray using the plex client that'd be awesome too!) Thanks for the help. :-)
Matt Ardill

I'm a professional cynic,
But my heart's not in it.
~Blur
Country House

#2 jgodfrey

jgodfrey

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 11 March 2012 - 08:18 PM

I don't know of a way to add files "manually" (at least, not as a TV show). However, I'd be surprised if you can't get the scanner to pick them up properly. First, do the shows exist on the "theTVDB"? If yes, I'd guess you have a folder or file naming issue. Look over the guidelines here:

http://wiki.plexapp...._Guide#TV_Shows

Jeff

#3 commonperson@gmail.com

commonperson@gmail.com

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 March 2012 - 08:57 PM

I don't know of a way to add files "manually" (at least, not as a TV show). However, I'd be surprised if you can't get the scanner to pick them up properly. First, do the shows exist on the "theTVDB"? If yes, I'd guess you have a folder or file naming issue. Look over the guidelines here:

http://wiki.plexapp...._Guide#TV_Shows

Jeff

No it doesn't unfortunately. It's a pretty obscure TV show from the 60s (my grandfather composed the score and got it as a gift a couple years back.) Ah well it's pretty close so far. I noticed an option for Personal Media Shows but didn't see how to set that up. I'll fiddle but thanks for the response!
Matt Ardill