christmaslover

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 02:07 PM

Good Sunday Morning all
I am still a newbie to plex and have a question
I do realize my pc is not really up to specs when it comes
to using plex or playon (I do hope it is okay to post about playon in this forum)

I have an older emachines it is just
a intel celeron 440@ 2.00ghz with 1gb of ram
I have everything that I can on an external drive and also use
a jump drive, so I have 92 gs of 138gs free on my c drive

and we have a roku lt (the 49 dollar one was a christmas gift to us from our daughter)

I also close any apps that do not need to run when using either of these
programs (plex or playon)

here is my question, why why why can I not get Hulu to work with plex?
I have played with the prefrences turning it down to 1.5mbs from the standard
3 I have it set to transcode automatically and it still just wont play
well It will load, the skip and load, it is jumpy and the audio will be great
but the video will be like a slideshow (IF it even plays)

on the playon which I only have the two week free trial as of now
it warns that you need to have a dual processor, and a MUCH faster pc
then I have to even use it but WOW Hulu is amazing on there, NOO problem
whatsoever to play,

I have to say thank you soooo much for plex though as I use it continuously to
watch movies and tv shows off of my external and my jump drives, and it is flawless
we also watch the history channel alot through plex,
have not had alot of luck with other channels though, but I will always keep
this program to use!

thank you anyone that may be able to help
smiles
christy

#2 hozedhead

hozedhead

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 05:00 PM

You didn't specify what OS you have on your computer and since you said it's an older machine, it's possible that Windows XP is your OS and it's not compatible with the Hulu plugin.

PMS 0.9.6.9 Windows XP SP3