Hi there,

I'm new to this so I hope I posted this right,

I want to integrate the plex system in my house, I have the following stuff:

Synology NAS with 4TB of storage (not suited for the plex server) DS 212j
Gigabit Ethernet
Samsung ue46es6800 with the possibility for a plex client
2 x iPad
2x iPhone

But there is a server missing, and I want to build that. It has to be low on energy use and capable of streaming 1080p to at least my tv. It will get the data from the NAS.
I was looking for the following hardware:

Intel i3 3220 or 3225, or the intel i5 3450 or 3450s
My concern about the processor is that I am not sure if it will do the transcoding of 1080p perfect.. And it still has to be as energy saving as possible

4 gb DDR 3 1333 MHz or something similar, does it matter if this is a Kingston value ram?

Small hdd like 500gb was thinking of a WD caviar green sata 600 64mb ? But I don't know of this is important at all? It will be for the energy usage

A micro itx motherboard with gigabit Ethernet, from around 50€. I have found lots of them

A small housing for everything

Oh and windows 7? Or windows 7 lite, or will Ubuntu or something similar do better? ( don't need to buy the software, have them already)

The goal is to keep it as cheap and low on energy as possible but still fast enough for a great media experience!

Hope you guys can help me with some choices

Thnx René

#2 Trudge

Trudge

Gone off to greener pastures....

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9403 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 11:36 AM

Hi there,

I'm new to this so I hope I posted this right,

I want to integrate the plex system in my house, I have the following stuff:

Synology NAS with 4TB of storage (not suited for the plex server) DS 212j
Gigabit Ethernet
Samsung ue46es6800 with the possibility for a plex client
2 x iPad
2x iPhone