Jump to content


Photo

WD TV Live issue with Plex


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 AstroCat

AstroCat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 12:47 AM

.mkv 1080p movie, using a WD TV Live.

Plays fine when I connect the WD TV Live directly to the shared folder.
Plays fine when I enable my old Twonky server on my WHS v1.
Stutters and constant buffering when connecting to the Plex Media Server.

So there seems to be something up with the Plex DLNA server.
Any way to get the PMS DLNA to work the same as the direct share or the old Twonky server?

What's interesting is that I also get stuttering with 1080p .mkv using PMS with my PS3 and xbox 360, wonder if this related to a larger PMS DLNA problem?

Thanks for the help!

#2 AstroCat

AstroCat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:13 PM

I wanted to add that if I use a Roku 2xs Plex client it works fine as well. So the only thing that doesn't work is connecting the WD TV Live to the Plex DLNA server, why would this cause problems? Thanks.

#3 wechap

wechap

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:43 AM

Just a thought, Have you tried updating the firmware on your WDTV?

Mine stopped playing all movies from the Plex server, would list them, just not play at all. Prior to this it was fine, nothing changed on the server to cause the issue.

Did a firmware upgrade and all good now

#4 AstroCat

AstroCat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:07 AM

I think I'm at the latest version, I'll double check. I still think it is some kind of DLNA issue though.

#5 AstroCat

AstroCat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 20 November 2012 - 07:35 PM

Yep latest firmware on the WD TV Live and latest PMS (windows client).

1. If I browse to the file it plays fine using the WD TV Live.
2. If I play the file on my Roku 2 xs, iPad or Windows client it works fine.
3. If I let my old Twonky DLNA server share the file with the WD TV Live it plays fine.

It only stutters and eventually stops when I use the PMS DLNA with WD TV Live. Why would this be happening and any way to fix it?

#6 wechap

wechap

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:18 PM

Maybe PMS is trying to transcode instead of direct play. Have a look at the PMS log files and see what is happening.

From memory WD TV Live can play MKV files natively and shouldn't require transcoding.

I can't think of anything else that might cause the issue. Your network must be OK if Twonky serves up the files OK.

If you post the logs, a Dev might be able to give you some more idea's.

#7 AstroCat

AstroCat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 01:01 AM

Yeah the transcoder is not running, but it will keep rebuffering every few minutes. If I play the file straight without PMS this doesn't happen, it's totally stable. I really think it is something with Plex's DLNA server. I've attached the last section of the log file.

Actually I was just testing it and it kind of stutters and then fast forwards a little then resumes.

I just tested the old Twonky WHS v1 DLNA server again and no problems on the same file, so I really think it's with Plex's DLNA server.

I just tried a dvd rip with stereo only and it worked solid, so it must be something with either DTS, or higher bandwidth .mkv files that Plex can not handle.

In the Plex DLNA Server Neptune.log file I did see this, not sure if it helps.

..\..\..\..\Source\Core\PltStateVariable.cpp(203): [platinum.core.statevariable] 2012-11-20T19:11:55.423000000-06:00 [PLT_StateVariable::ValidateValue] (3888) WARNING: Invalid value of PREBUFFING for state variable TransportStatus
..\..\..\..\Source\Core\PltStateVariable.cpp(203): [platinum.core.statevariable] 2012-11-20T19:13:07.292000000-06:00 [PLT_StateVariable::ValidateValue] (3868) WARNING: Invalid value of Network for state variable PlaybackStorageMedium
..\..\..\..\Source\Core\PltStateVariable.cpp(203): [platinum.core.statevariable] 2012-11-20T19:14:53.965000000-06:00 [PLT_StateVariable::ValidateValue] (3896) WARNING: Invalid value of Network for state variable PlaybackStorageMedium

Attached Files

  • Attached File  test.txt   110.36KB   4 downloads


#8 _SDK_

_SDK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Location: NYC, NY

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:19 PM

Same problem, Same log report... Have tried everything I can to make it stop. No luck...

#9 jbishop129

jbishop129

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:32 PM

Hey guys, I cant get my WD TV Live, latest firmware, to play .mkv's at all via DLNA. I can play them just fine if i browse to my server from the WD TV, but when I try to "Push" content to it hosted on PMS, mkv's dont play. MP4's are fine. Do I need a specific WD TV profile?

EDIT: I get the same "WARNING: Invalid value of Network for state variable PlaybackStorageMedium" in my Plex DLNA Server Neptune.log. I have re-encoded the same .MKV's over to .MP4 and they play fine.

#10 lionsnz

lionsnz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:10 AM

they have upgraded the wdlive with Release 1.06.43 (1/17/2013).

fixed my issues with DLNA and mountain lion

#11 _SDK_

_SDK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Location: NYC, NY

Posted 18 January 2013 - 02:54 PM

Just upgraded my WDTV Live. The update did not fix my issues with viewing video on WDTV via Plex DLNA streaming. My "torture test" hi-bit rate Blu-Ray rip played for a few seconds longer before stopping. The last few Plex updates have actually made the problem worse. Sometimes I could get it to play for 20-30 minutes before a crash. Now it consistently stops during opening credits. I'll also say again, this rip plays flawlessly via ANY other DLNA server over the same network. I have tried every one I could get my hands on and if they work at all they play all of my rips without stopping. I am concurrently using Serviio 1.1 on my Mac and ReadyDLNA via an old READYNAS 1100. I have enjoyed hours of trouble free viewing with this setup and never an abrupt stop or crash. My latest network installation for a client exhibits the exact same behavior. QNAP NAS to 5 WDTV live working perfectly w/ Serviio 1.1

#12 jbishop129

jbishop129

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 06:23 AM

My WD TV Live has been at 1.12.xx since it came out of the box back in November 2012. No newer updates are available, and still cannot stream .mkv via DLNA from PMS (can stream when accessed directly from the WD TV as others have reported).

#13 prizrak

prizrak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 07:58 PM

Same issue, anything mkv plays about 10 seconds and crashes anything else plays just fine, also plays fine from PS3 MS which does not use DLNA. Other Plex clients work just fine though. Looking through the DLNA profiles on the PMS it looks like they only tested it with gen 1 or 2 WDTV but never gen 3. 



#14 _SDK_

_SDK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Location: NYC, NY

Posted 30 March 2013 - 03:00 AM

The silence from those that are supposed to know about these things here is deafening.

The WDTV stopping play problem is well documented all over this forum.

I've seen many people with the same log files all showing the same time out stopping problem.

If it only happened to me once with any other server, I'd stop complaining but, it hasn't, only Plex.

Something is wrong with the way Plex connects to WDTV and no one here seems to want to fix it.

I hate to have to warn people off Plex for this stupid reason but,

I would never want to see anyone going through the stress I've went through trying to find out what "I" did wrong to make it not work.



#15 _SDK_

_SDK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Location: NYC, NY

Posted 04 April 2013 - 02:11 PM

New Problem: Apr 04, 2013 08:48:49 [0xb0bad000] INFO - 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968) - audio.channels limitation applies: 6 > 2

With the new server update, I see the above item in the log. All of my .mp4 multi-channel videos now lock up the WDTV to the point of a reboot. These videos have always played via PLEX.

I am now totally convinced that I'm barking up the wrong tree here.

PLEX development is not concerned about good DLNA compatibility.

Sony used to do the same thing: Their standard was the standard and; be gone all others !

PLEX is still a great program and I have a terrific DLNA server for my networks so I will just give up the dream that PLEX will be a complete solution.

Still a fan :-)

Update: Deleted everything PLEX from my computer, installed without touching anything, and tried to play an .mp4 w/multichannel sound....

Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - HEAD for http://192.168.1.50:...c955e9/file.avi
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Mapped client to profile WD TV Live HD Media Player using header INTEL_NMPR/2.1 DLNADOC/1.50 dma/3.0 alphanetworks
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Sending capabilities: protocols=http-streaming-video;videoDecoders=h264{profile:high&resolution:1080&level:41};audioDecoders=aac{channels:2},ac3,dca,mp2,mp3,pcm
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Proxied HEAD to http://192.168.1.50:...264&width=1280: HTTP/1.1 200
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - GET for http://192.168.1.50:...c955e9/file.avi
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Mapped client to profile WD TV Live HD Media Player using header INTEL_NMPR/2.1 DLNADOC/1.50 dma/3.0 alphanetworks
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Sending capabilities: protocols=http-streaming-video;videoDecoders=h264{profile:high&resolution:1080&level:41};audioDecoders=aac{channels:2},ac3,dca,mp2,mp3,pcm
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Downloading document http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Caching document http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Proxied GET to http://192.168.1.50:...264&width=1280: HTTP/1.1 200
Apr 06, 2013 07:19:45 [0xb09a5000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://127.0.0.1:324...uffering&time=0
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0081000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://127.0.0.1:324...=stopped&time=0
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - GET for http://192.168.1.50:...c955e9/file.avi
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Mapped client to profile WD TV Live HD Media Player using header INTEL_NMPR/2.1 DLNADOC/1.50 dma/3.0 alphanetworks
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Sending capabilities: protocols=http-streaming-video;videoDecoders=h264{profile:high&resolution:1080&level:41};audioDecoders=aac{channels:2},ac3,dca,mp2,mp3,pcm
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Downloading document http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Cache hit for document http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://192.168.1.50:...rary/metadata/8
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb0185000] DEBUG - Proxied GET to http://192.168.1.50:...264&width=1280: HTTP/1.1 206
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:15 [0xb09a5000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://127.0.0.1:324...uffering&time=0
Apr 06, 2013 07:20:45 [0xb0081000] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://127.0.0.1:324...=stopped&time=0

 
I still got the "audio.channels limitation applies: 6 > 2" report and my WDTV screen is black.

I am however, able to back out and play another video without rebooting.

This new bug is affecting 64 videos in my collection and all have played many times, without problem, on this same system.

And, all still play (as they always have) via any other server software... I'm watching one right now :-)



#16 prizrak

prizrak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 04 April 2013 - 10:36 PM

The silence from those that are supposed to know about these things here is deafening.

The WDTV stopping play problem is well documented all over this forum.

I've seen many people with the same log files all showing the same time out stopping problem.

If it only happened to me once with any other server, I'd stop complaining but, it hasn't, only Plex.

Something is wrong with the way Plex connects to WDTV and no one here seems to want to fix it.

I hate to have to warn people off Plex for this stupid reason but,

I would never want to see anyone going through the stress I've went through trying to find out what "I" did wrong to make it not work.

I have been trying to figure it out for a while myself, not sure why Plex team have yet to at least respond.

 

 

Forgot to mention that I been screwing around with the DLNA profiles and even if tell it to transcode I get the same time out, at the same time playing to the 360 over the same network from same server works fine, transcoding runs as it should. Same thing playing to my mobiles.

 

Additionally I saw some people mention it could be the OS, so my next step will be testing this with a Windows machine.  



#17 _SDK_

_SDK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Location: NYC, NY

Posted 05 April 2013 - 11:33 PM

Prizrak, Save yourself time & stress. I first had these problems running PLEX from a QNAP NAS on a brand new SOTA home network I installed for one of my clients.

Imagine my panic after I told him PLEX is the greatest thing since sliced bread and I could not get HQ video to play in any room without a crash.

I looked like a freakin' idiot.

If PLEX and WDTV are involved it is the same thing no matter what system or network you run them on.

Regards



#18 prizrak

prizrak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 12:26 AM

Prizrak, Save yourself time & stress. I first had these problems running PLEX from a QNAP NAS on a brand new SOTA home network I installed for one of my clients.

Imagine my panic after I told him PLEX is the greatest thing since sliced bread and I could not get HQ video to play in any room without a crash.

I looked like a freakin' idiot.

If PLEX and WDTV are involved it is the same thing no matter what system or network you run them on.

Regards

Thanks, it actually saved me having to install a Windows machine. This is very unfortunate and annoying :( 



#19 loop 7

loop 7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 04:05 AM

OS has to be a factor. The playback issues began when I migrated from 10.6 to 10.8.

However, I have an older laptop with 10.6 so I installed current PMS and from the WDTV I select this older server but sort of use it as a proxy and stream from the 10.8 machine. 1080p DTS and DD rips stream without transcoding flawlessly.

Considering downgrading OS but would really love a solution for 10.8.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users