Photo

How do you get Hulu (free version) on Roku?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 yama454

yama454

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 12:45 AM

I am new to Plex (free version) and I am trying to get Hulu (the free version) on my Roku. I have searched the "Channel Directory" and the "All Available Plug-ins" and the "Foreign (Region-Restricted) Plug-ins" areas but I did not see a Plug-in or App for Hulu. I have searched all over the web for help but everybody says different things, mostly to search the channel directory and all the spots I said earlier, or to use the "Hulu Desktop" on your computer to add it to Plex somehow? I have no idea how to do that, and none of the sites I found gave any step by step instructions, they all seem to assume you semi-know what you are doing and I don't! if anybody can give me simple step by step instructions I would greatly appreciate it, Thanks!

#2 JamminR

JamminR

Plex Star

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1065 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 07:11 AM

yama, welcome to Plex.
To be honest, I'm not sure Roku client has a Channel Directory. At least, I never saw one.
For me, I only remember Plex channels showing up on my Roku after I added them using the Windows plex client (aka Plex media center).
So, here's my recommended steps.
Your mileage may vary.

The below presumes you already have Plex SERVER running and detected by your Roku Plex channel. If not, this forum area really isn't where you should post your question. You should see the wiki.
It also presumes you live in the USA...if you don't, Hulu MIGHT not work.
1) Download/install on the same machine you used to post your question the "Plex Media Center (not the server, its different)" for your operating system.
2) Run the Plex Media Center. Once run, it should detect your server (even if on same machine). It should show a menu item "Channel Directory".