8 replies to this topic

#1 delpr1

delpr1

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:14 PM

Hi,
I've been using Plex for about 6 months now and love it. I've recently encountered an issue with Chrome that I can't solve. On my PMS, which is a Dell XPS 8500 w/ Windows 7, I cannot view some of my own videos in Chrome when Direct Play is turned on. I've confirmed, using MediaInfo, that the videos (Blu Ray rips from my own collection) are MP4 / H264 / AAC encoded. I don't receive any error and the Plex Logs do not show any errors either.

The Browser just shows the frame (black screen with a play button that cannot be pressed and the timer says 0:00) and it does not play. The same video works fine on IOS devices and my Roku. If I turn off Direct Play in the Plex/Web browser, it runs fine (but I assume it is transcoding it as there is a slight delay before the video starts).

Any ideas? I have another Dell PC in my daughter's room, and confirmed that the same issue happens in Chrome there as well.

Thanks!

#2 ericmatthys

ericmatthys

Plex Employee

• Plex Employee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2397 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:35 PM

Hi,
I've been using Plex for about 6 months now and love it. I've recently encountered an issue with Chrome that I can't solve. On my PMS, which is a Dell XPS 8500 w/ Windows 7, I cannot view some of my own videos in Chrome when Direct Play is turned on. I've confirmed, using MediaInfo, that the videos (Blu Ray rips from my own collection) are MP4 / H264 / AAC encoded. I don't receive any error and the Plex Logs do not show any errors either.

The Browser just shows the frame (black screen with a play button that cannot be pressed and the timer says 0:00) and it does not play. The same video works fine on IOS devices and my Roku. If I turn off Direct Play in the Plex/Web browser, it runs fine (but I assume it is transcoding it as there is a slight delay before the video starts).