• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 agp1979

agp1979

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:56 PM

I apologize if this has been covered already but I did try and do some searches prior to this. I'm new to my Plex setup and its all been fantastic so far. My question is in regards to the publishing feature to myPlex. I realize the great benefits of publishing so you can access your collection from anywhere but what would be the benefits (if any) of NOT publishing your server?

In my situation I have media server setup on a mac mini in my basement and really am only interested in accessing my collection from inside my home network via a roku box, ps3 and android tablet. In this situation would just leaving my server unpublished be a smart option? and along with that will I have any issues streaming locally on my network to these devices if i unpublish?

I will preface this with that I do realize that if i unpublish, i probably will need to remote onto that mac mini that holds the media server to make any changes which i'm ok with

thank you for your help!

#2 phroenips

phroenips

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 04:47 AM

I apologize if this has been covered already but I did try and do some searches prior to this. I'm new to my Plex setup and its all been fantastic so far. My question is in regards to the publishing feature to myPlex. I realize the great benefits of publishing so you can access your collection from anywhere but what would be the benefits (if any) of NOT publishing your server?

In my situation I have media server setup on a mac mini in my basement and really am only interested in accessing my collection from inside my home network via a roku box, ps3 and android tablet. In this situation would just leaving my server unpublished be a smart option? and along with that will I have any issues streaming locally on my network to these devices if i unpublish?