7 replies to this topic

#1 jayssheth

jayssheth

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:05 PM

Hey Guys,
Im a noob to PLEX. I just got a new san - Synology DS213, i was able to set it up fine, got PLEX installed and uploaded some movies to test. Movies shows up just fine on my plex web link with all the info it grabbed from the internet - ie movie name, description, etc. But when i try to play it, i get this error message:

"There was an error attempting to play this video."

I am trying to play a MKV and an AVI file. Please help, i really need to get this working, since my main reason to get a NAS was to have a good media server.

Thx,
JS

#2 Chip "Mini" Moon

Chip "Mini" Moon

Dedicated Member

• Plex Ninja
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:09 PM

Hey Guys,
Im a noob to PLEX. I just got a new san - Synology DS213, i was able to set it up fine, got PLEX installed and uploaded some movies to test. Movies shows up just fine on my plex web link with all the info it grabbed from the internet - ie movie name, description, etc. But when i try to play it, i get this error message:

"There was an error attempting to play this video."

I am trying to play a MKV and an AVI file. Please help, i really need to get this working, since my main reason to get a NAS was to have a good media server.

Thx,
JS

What are you trying to play the file on??

See here, theres some serious restrictions with NAS running PMS http://wiki.plexapp...._Server_and_NAS
-miniMoon

Media Server
OS - OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.4
Samsung 830 Series 64GB SSD
ASUS - P8Z68-V LX
Intel i7 2600 3.4 Ghz - Sandy Bridge Overclocked to 4.3 Ghz
GT-430 2GB DDR3
3x - 2TB WD Caviar Black SATA HDD (ZFS Filesystem)
16GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3

Clients
5 - Roku 2 XS
3 - Blackberry Playbook
1 - PS3 / Xbox360
1 - iPad Mini
2 - iPad
4 - iPhone 4S
1 - MK802 II
1 - Vizio Co-Star

#3 jayssheth

jayssheth

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:11 PM